Re: Salman's Butt Exposed
funguy, that was exactly my concern that i did put down in the other salman butt praise thread....
What do we mean by "Give him a break" and "let him settle down". If he has a fault in his technique somewhere, should it be allowed to mature and ripen so that the opponents can use it to full advantage. Wouldn't it be good if he gets some tips from a batting coach or from Woolmer and try improving it in the nets rather than giving him a break or letting him settle down with an apparent flaw.
And someone mentioned somewhere that Inzi is the only flawless batsman in the Pakistani team. I think most of the opponents have exploited his slow feet movement to inswingers in the early part of his innings to full advantage. In the last few years, he has been LBWed on a number of occassions by various bowlers. Though he seems to have improved lately but as I see, this will become more and more threatening with his slowing reflexes. But of course, nobody is perfect and he has undoubtedly contributed a lot in Pakistan's achievements over the years.
Re: Salman’s Butt Exposed
Well, I am glad Salman didn’t play in the 70’s or we would be hearing the following line as Michael Holding of West Indies was running in to bowl… “The bowler’s Holding the batsman’s Butt”. ![]()
bohat kameena hai bhai tu ![]()
Tum say kim kameena hai
Batsman have to be made in international cricket because of our domestic set up. This is not your mighty Australia where academies package batsmen and they come fully prepared without faulty techniques. When we say “give him a break”, we usually mean “Oh God, don’t drop him”, because as soon as bowlers exploit that fault and the form starts to slip, the batsman is out of the team. Give him a chance to settle down and these faults will go away with time as from his interviews, Salman Butt sounds like he thinks about his cricket.
Faults just don’t go away with time. They tend to become instinct. First of all, you have to acknowledge that there is a fault, then you have to work to fix it through training, coaching…whatever. It, sure, won’t automatically go away with time. Most great players tend to “develop” a flaw at any time in their careers and then they work and fix it. And probably why this is one of the reasons of their greatness otherwise there is nothing much to distinguish raw talent from greatness.
Salman Butt has a good schooling and has a fair bit of exposure to school cricket and under 19 stuff etc. I am sure he has got a good cricketing mind. Don’t want to sound this like a “jazbaati” statement but I seriously believe that he can be the future captain of Pakistan team provided he continues to perform and improve with time.
^ you make a good point... I too think that we need to be more active in training, re-training and introducing change in tactics - our players, coaches, captains all too often take a passive approach and think experience will fix it which may not always be the case... evolution may be natural by why not make things happen yourself.
Yeah He is really exposed after the thrid ODI :o
WOW…Uncle Qureshi has so much extra time…how did u find this 2 month old thread…
The boy needs to work on his leg side play, no doubt about that. But he is a much, much better prospect than a lot of other openers we have introduced so far. He once again showed, just like in Calcutta last year, that he can anchor the innings. He also looked really looked comfortable against McGrath and Co. until he lost his way a little bit in the one dayers of the VB Series. That is nothing but a good sign for the team.
I did not find it.. I remember it at time when I ahd not seen him playing, but after seeing him play for the first time, I recalled this thread and just search for it to* give my two cents*. Maaf karo baba ![]()
AQ yaar why give 2 cents only, he deserves a pura ruppaya :p
Uncle AQ thinks he is proving me wrong by pulling up this thread after waiting a couple of months for his century. He shouldn’t have waited that long to make the point he is trying to make from Salmans century in the third ODI. Actually, he didn’t have to make any point. I know Salman is going to be a great batsman for Pakistan - centuries now or not doesn’t matter. What I noticed at the time of starting this thread was his weakness on on side play. I still hold on to my theory.
Who proved you wrong Ali?
read my reply to phoenixdesi tayaa jee :)