Salman Taseer and family

Re: Salman Taseer and family

Not that I am a PPP supporter but I have observed that "Some" of the guppies who vigorously defend Shoaib Akhtar for his "Harkateen" saying that its "his personal matter and we should not talk about it" are too quick to do finger pointing at Salman Taseer

Read my post completely… I said salman taseer is not the only corrupt politician. Did it never cross your mind that there are maybe 1 or 2 or maybe 3 leaders in Pakistan’s politics who are NOT corrupt. Whose agenda is being served by targetting specifically THIS guy?? That’s all I am concerned about.

Also I would have surely paid some attention if his corruption was exposed with some DIGNITY and not the way many personal but innocent pictures of his family have been made public and something to use against him.

Why not expose every corrupt leader / traitor of Pakistan abusing Pakistan’s national treasury and then execute each of them to teach a lesson to the rest of the corrrupt community? Why not? Is it not about the time?

^^ cuz i guess shoaib is not running the country and cant amend constitution nor send official recommendations to change it

Oh the fear of making Pakistan friendly to the West.

And who has that fear?

Many who actually are well-settled in the same West.

So why the West is good for the goose, but quite the opposite for the gander?

May be I didn’t criticise Shoaib Akhtar for his “personal matter” but when “governor” does that expense of tax-payer’s money then yes I do have problem. If Shoaib Akhtar was visiting clubs, drinking at the cost of PCB money then I’d have criticised him too.

PS: I condemn putting up Taseer’s family in the media, that is big :nono:

I don't see anything wrong in those pics, but I guess if you're in public life you should expect this kind of scrutiny...especially in a hypocritical society like ours.

Salman Taseer is a billionaire with legitimate business activity...he pays mor tax than any other politician in the history of Pakistan....He owns several companies which are properly audited by highest standard auditing firms....

It's disgusting to expose his and his family's photographs like this and make them a topic of discussion....most of these photograph are from LAS (Lahore American School) where his children were studying before he became the governor....

What happens in his family life and domestic life is should not be anyone's concern....

By the way he makes no secret of such activities...it's refreshing to see somebody in politics in Pakistan who is atleast no a hypocrite...

I request the mods to close this thread....as we should not be discussing someone's personal/family life...

I disagree. Thats not an excuse for criminal activity & buying, serving, importing, and using alcohol is illegal in Pakistan. That too by a public figure who just happens to be governor. As for pictures, I don't care. But like I said, if you are a public figure you should expect extra scrutiny. That is part of a job.

How many years have you spent in USA without coming to Pakistan wakeel saab...it will be difficult to find people in Pakistan to fill vacant government portfolios if your thoughts are implemented....most of the assembly members who are from rural back grounds drink in a crude manner in mujra parties....Zulfiqar Khosa who is himself very vocal at the moment against Taseer's life style, his own son the former makeshift CM, attended a mujra party in Model Town...I am personally aware of atleast one such mujra party he attended while he was the CM...

Wakeel Saab we will have government of Mullahs like Fazlu if your thoughts are implemented....free agriculture lands and diesel licences////

You will have to give this kind of ads to fill government jobs...
We desprately need Minister for non-religious affairs: We already have six ministers, one each for Ushar, Zakat, Haj, Moon-sighting, Muharram and other Religious affairs. We now need a minister who could point out what is non-religious about all these religious ministries. Candidates who have been earlier allotted free agricultural lands or diesel licenses need not apply.

also we need Minister for unofficial foreign visits: This minister will be full time responsible to create reasons, make arrangements, issue statements and plan yet more official looking unofficial visits for the president and the prime Minister. His task is to keep these two gentlemen out of the country for at least 75% of the time.

^^^ yes how do you know these pictures are actully taken when he is governor of Punjab or before, as owner of major companies in Pakistan he could have this lifestyle anyway.

though his wealth is questionable, he started making millions only when BB came to power first time in Pakistan, and he bought a Bank called Bankers Equity very cheaply almost free to its value, since then he failed in politics in Lahore but grew his business 100 folds from Retail( Pace), Cable and telco companies and real estate, media(DailyTimes)

its criminal but how many people you think dont drink in Pakistan? from poor to filthy rich its part of so called Islamic society. so look into reality its crime, illegal in wonder world of Pakistan where you can produce alcohal legally but consumption is banned :)

I dont drink but I have seen all parts of society in Pakistan do drink regularly.

Yazdi, let's not glorify his business ethics or other deeds here. I am from Lahore, and happen to know a thing or two about this guy, so let's not start quarreling over his 'legitimate' business activities or family values/life. I agree that whatever personal activities he or his family indulge into should not be a public matter. However, that argument would only give you an incomplete picture.

What we have in Pakistan is an extreme example of class segregation, where millions have trouble getting enough food on the table and Mr. Taseer his family are using Government's resources to sustain their extravagant lifestyles. The country is burning, and people are falling victims to suicide bombings every day. We are begging IMF, World bank or the so called "Friends of Pakistan' to help us exist as a country. We have no credibility in the world and among our own people. We are the only country in the world with convicted criminals as head(s) of state, who in turn are supported by alike cabinet members. So the question is, what does such a lifestyle examplify in such a condition? Are we not moving one step closer to total chaos with this? Are we begging the IMF and WB to provide necessities for the many or luxuries for the very few? My head is hurting as I am writing this, so I will probably stop here, but if you want to seek justification, seek a legitimate one.

Moreover, he should behave like a 'Governor' not some sort of 3rd rated Ghunda in Maula Jut style shouting and Barkai marna like

I will turn Lahore into Larkana !

Changa Maanga or Raiwind ki Siyasat ab nahee chalai gee

Shahbaz Sharif was standing like a lil student in front of me for oath if he will mend his ways , i have to use a stick in my hands etc etc

Constitutional Governor has nothing to do with Punjab Affairs. CM is the Chief Executive of Province and he is answerable to Punjab Assembly and people of Punjab, not Governor.

Tichcania or Teelia laganai chor dai.

yazdi bhaijan. Salman Taseer was and remains a great choice for CM of Punjab. I remember people were hailing his appointment. As far as I am aware, his private life has not affected his ability to govern.

Yazdi I thought about this and present to you some reasons because of which I think will help us decide whether this thread should stay or not, please feel free to disagree or add more

i) The topic is a present ongoing debate, not just in the Pakistani media (print, internet, tv) but is also being discussed in the Punjab Assembly.

ii) I agree the pictures of his sons and daughters (barring the one with his son posing with alochol in the governsor house) should NOT be used to defame him.

iii) The PPP has categorically shunned these allegations and said that these pictures were 'doctored' digitally. Now with such a rebuttal I think the PPP is atelast implyign that drinking in the premises of the Governor House is wrong. So we can see for ourselves and deduce whether the pictures are real or not.

iv) Such a lavish lifestyle, if experienced on state expenses is a BIG concern with the country almost hitting bankruptcy

I can only think of ii) as a reason to lock the thread, but then again, those pictures with his sons and daughters were not being flaunted in the Punjab Assembly.

Aalsi bhai, you mean Governor of Punjab. CM of Punjab is Shahbaz Sharif, and before him Dost Mohammad Khosa was appointed for a brief time.

Wasn't it mostly pro-Mushy people :D

After reading post in this thread it looks like main concern is that IF he was doing it with tax payer's money then its wrong. I believe this is a very legitimate point but hey, can anyone confirm 2 things

• Whatever he had in in "glass" is actually an alcoholic beer/wine
  • Was it served courtesy of Tax payer's money

Personally I consider alcoholic drink flatly Haram, no IFs and BUTs but ( :) ) what is a difference b/w guy drinking soda/juices/mineral water with tax payer money and guy drinking sharab with tax payer's money beside the fact that he is earning dozakh for him by drinking sharab

ehtasab bhaijan. No need to worry. Great Zardari, the President of Pakistan can always replace Salman Taseer as the Governor of Punjab if he is not happy with him. :d:

ehtasab bhaijan. No need to worry. Great Zardari, the President of Pakistan can always replace Salman Taseer as the Governor of Punjab if he is not happy with him. :D

Mashallah. Good to see Great Zardari, the President of Pakistan defending the Governor of Punjab Salman Taseer, and warning NS that relationship between PML (N) and PPP could be affected.

Zardari calls Nawaz, urges restraint -DAWN - Top Stories; November 20, 2008

**Zardari calls Nawaz, urges restraint

**LAHORE, Nov 19: President Asif Ali Zardari called PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif on Wednesday and protested against what he termed a ‘character assassination campaign’ against the Punjab governor.

Sources in the Governor’s House said Mr Zardari told Mr Sharif that the campaign could affect relations between the two parties, which are coalition partners in Punjab.

** “Mr Taseer is an appointee of the PPP and the prime minister. Therefore, the character assassination campaign against him must stop immediately,” Zardari said.**

I just wish that the poor guy drinking desi tharra for Rs 150 (of his own money) gets the same right to privacy that people are demanding for the Governor.