Salman sings a verse from the Quran in a Madrasssa

all i am saying is that he wants to connect with god.. and this is not the way.. he is role model for people todayhe did it tomorrow everyone else will be doing it.....

How come? Why is his not the way, I need an answer to that. Like I said before, how will that little singing cause 'ultimate' disrespect to a great book. Sorry to say that those that say it will cause 'disrespect' without mentioning how it will do so, they are again embarking on hollow pursuits.

*Originally posted by munda Pakistani: *
it was a documentry.. and they are all edited "all have heard is that music is haraam" the kid said that... i am not saying that they edited parts in which someone might have had answered..but why was he interviewing a kid...?? and why are they focusing on that...
I am sure there is an ayat reguarding music and entertainment in quran..i cant recall it right now.. but they must have presented that..or a hadith atleast .. why wasnt that part shown...i dont believe that he asked them why is music haraam and they answer " oh we just know its haraam thats it ..."
and the discouraging part.... what do u think .. after kids in pakistan see this ..kids who have been listening to juoon and music perticularly.. what will they think about molvis and madrasas..?? yaar theese places are sacred Allahs words are thought there .. children are thought about their religion.. and he goes and mocks it like that.... he could have gathered some molvis at his place and had a debate or something...i am sure that didnt cross his mind.. or pbs wanted to show the madrasas and stuff on western media ...

On the contrary it was a great thing to show. Remember, the Taliban were also a creation of kids in Madrassahs near Peshwar, and I dont care if sacred word is taught there or not, the only thing taught over there is bigotry, hate, and extremist elements. i too have come accress some madrassah kids, and its sad to see how they are brainwashed.

yaar look at it this way... ur an american sitting on ur couch watching the doc... when u see all this.. what comes to ur mind... ISLAM...u dont knwo what theese mullahs are... u dont know what madrasas are.. u dont know care what main stream pakistanis think....all you know is its ISLAM... its MUSLIMS... oh they are training terrorists in these madrasas they are terrorist bases... they force children to study the quran which makes them terorists...

Islam is the second largest religion in the world, and these mollahs exist only in Pakistan. The documentary is entitled 'the rockstar and the mollahs' not the rockstar and the Muslims'.

personally its my view that whatever Osama did was terrible... maybe he wanted to take revenge from america for their diplomacy and all but he destroyed the image of ISLAM...ppl think we are terrorists...

now this stuff about afghanistan iraq , mujahedeen.. islam..madrasas..and all is hot ppl in the west would watch it with a lot of intrest.. and right then all u need is this karnama by salman sahab...

Yeah, its important to know what created Osama and these extremists.

Captain shab if u think dancing at tombs of dead buzurgs(rh) will get anyone a connection with god i pitty you...
Allah says Ask me I am ur sole provider.. i am ur creator.. ask me at anytime anywhere and i will listen to you...
you dont need to goto tombs and request on someone elses behalf from allah... allah does not like that...that is not islam yaar.. i have seen people doing sajda at tombs... I say respect those buzurgs(rh) but bowing to them and asking them thats shirk yaar... and how can u think dancing has anything to do with.. asking god for help...trust me on this .. i have done this... in the middle of teh night sit on ur jayenamaz.. and pray.. ask allah for what u want.. ask from the core of ur heart... and i am sure if allah thinks its good for you he will answer ur prayer...

Well, not only have you not answered any of my questions, but you have assumed I am a sufism follower. Where have I said I offer sajidas at tombs? All I said was, Sufism was also a sect within Islam, and how come the documentary didnt target it, if according to you the documentary was meant to cause harm to Islam. This lecture is not about how sufis arent muslims as you think. Only Allah knows who is a Muslim or not, not you. Personally, I prefer sufism over wahabism.

you are talking about the melas that the were showing... people dancing to music and marching toward teh tombs .. what kind of a worship is that yaar.. and what do u think happens at theese melas... ganjha .. bhag.. afeem its sold and comsumed there openly.. and then ppl dance and pray to god or teh tombs.... is that the way to please allah ....

Again what has got to do with any of the topic? Besides, wahabis do the same things, infact in a worse manner.

yaar i live in the west too...i know it exposed the mullahs but more than that it further more spoiled the image of islam...

You must be new to the west, all the people that I know watched this documentary (thank you UPN for showing it), the documentary just opened their minds.

open ur eyes brothers...look at this from ISLAMS point of view too..allah tum sab ko oor salman ko bhi hidayat dy...

Islam is not what these mollahs and maulana bijlis say it is, you migth think that way, but I dont.

BUT
Salman crossed the limit with the documentry...

1.he gave a bad image of Islam to the west...the west is already against muslims after all what happened... and he he put jalti py teyl...
do u think he didnt even have nuff sense to think about that... all he cares about is why his music is not being sold in peshawar...

On the contrary, Salman showed to the west the progressive voice of Islam. He showed to the world that he and many other people like him are Muslims. They enjoy music and want peace and tolerance in this world. The open minded people in the west will understand that and appreciate it. The close minded in the west, well you know what I mean.

[Quote]
2. he showed children who are memorising te quran in madrasas .. as if they were forced to study there and... he says he respects the quran... these people who recite it .. memorise it.. those hafiz sahabs who teach ppl the holy Quran the whole day have reserved their lifes for it... like the guy from karachi in the documentry who wanted to learn more about hsi religion he made them look bad.. as if they were doing something wrong and illegal...what do u think the impact of this would have been on the west... these madrasas are birth places of evil... these hafiz sahabs are ignorant and terorist camp runners... these people who come to study about their religion here are terorists.....
is that what hew wanted to tell the western media...???... he did a very good job.. by insulting his own religion amoung the western media and making more people hate islam...thuu at his face is that teh way he wants to establish a connection with Allah...

If people want to go to these religious schools to memorize the Quran and learn about Islam, more power to them. Wanting to learn is not the problem here. The same guy you mention, was then out on the streets participating in political activities. He wanted to enforce what his mollah had told him in school on the general public. In NWFP, it showed these religious students destroying advertisements and participating in political rallies. That's the point, man. These are not religious schools but political training grounds for the MMA. Mostly orphans and children from poor families are being trained in these schools with a political agenda, masked around Islam.

I'm sure not all religious schools have political agendas. But the point is that many do, and that needs to be stopped. Leave politics out of schools.

Also, what kind of skills do these religious schools give students, so that they can earn a living. These schools should either teach other subjects as well, or students of these schools should attend regular schools as well so that they can learn skills that will earn them a living. Reciting the Quran does not put food in the stomach.

yes but only the DUFF... and that too at a very few moments of happiness and joy... if i recall welll. once was when he was migrating to madina and the other at a wedding and some more which i cant recall..

but there is a difference here... prople were singing songs of happines and peace... not ayats of the holy Quran...
look at christianity.. they involved music into their churches... are we trying to copy them...???

"mann shabahahum fa hua minhum" The Holy Quran
he who tries to resemble them(the non believers) is one of them

Point was the Prophet did enjoy music. Nobody wants Islam to become like Christianity. We do not need to copy the west or Christianity. We need to adapt ourselves to the 21st century where our youth can particiapte fully in this world. Extreme of anything is bad.

So... ur point is... if everyone jumps into a well will you...???
here the point being discussed is not music... i myself listen to music... or which countries allow it.. its involving music into religion thats being discussed here...... astaghfirullah

I am so sick and tired of this quote being used over and over again. The point was, the mullah should realize that he is wrong and that blaming the entire Islamic world is not going to get him very far. Every criminal says they are right and the whole world is wrong. Every thought about that?

well I say hes wrong... Islam has shown the best way of living... everything has its limits and balance...
there are mullahs who change the religion for their own good... like this guy who said he was a mullah but swore ..harami and stuff...
whatever islam teaches might seem strict and hard to follow but for whos good is it..???
Islam does not say women should be locked in houses...?? i disagree with taht mullah... but i also say that women should stay in their limits...
ISalam sys to men if ur walking down a street and u sense that a woman is comming from the opposite side "lower ur sight".. thats the respect Islam gives to women... and if the man does look at her once he is ordered not to look again... thats teh protection islam gives to women... BUT look at teh muslim women now.... jeans.. tee tops.. no dupattas... and strong perfumes ... if they dont do their part by not showing themselfs off how can islam protect them..?? and they talk about islam not giving women any respect...
Islam does not say dont wear perfume and dont dress up but there is a limit to everything...look at the western women.. do u think THEY have respect in the society...??????... wooow look at that ass maaan...?? how many times have u heard that....they are called B*tches by their men... is that teh respect our women want... dont take me wrong... but i have to say this....would you like anyone saying that to your wife, sister.. or anyone u know...... I DONT think so...because you RESPECT them...
and then they say Islam treats women wrong...

First of all I don't care if a woman wants to dress in pants, wear make-up or perfumes. They can read the Quran for themselves and figure out what Allah wants them to do. Many women decide not to wear or act in that way also. That is called freedom.

Nobody said the west has solved all the problems related to treatment of women. You listen to some rap songs and watch to many hollywood movies and lump the whole west into this category. Look, there are about 10 million Muslims in the U.S.A. alone, and most don't do things like that. It is called believing in your faith and staying true to it. Nobody in the west tells me to act a certain way. I choose to live how I want to live. There is a big difference between that and what was shown in the documentary.

As far as how do you want to live? Live your life as you want to live it. Read, listen and watch whatever you want. Follow whatever you like and stay away from anything you don't. If there are laws you would like changed, then bring them to the people. If enough people believe it is good, it will become law. But if you try to enforce it on people, wheter it is good or bad, it will not fly with people. We humans do not like things forced on us.

Live your life, and let others live theirs.

*Originally posted by xguru: *

Point was the Prophet did enjoy music. Nobody wants Islam to become like Christianity. We do not need to copy the west or Christianity. We need to adapt ourselves to the 21st century where our youth can particiapte fully in this world. Extreme of anything is bad.

Excellent post. I would also like to add that even an innocent small baby would dance to the chimes and tunes of music. Its instinctive to human nature. Melody is something we are born to appreciate, not to condemn. There is nothing wrong with it, and instead of making it an issue, the mollahs should work to solve their own problems associated with hate, bigotry, brainwashing and bloodshed; as the consequences of the latter are far more grave than someone playing a small verse on a guitar to give peace to his mind.

propoganda against salman khan listen to it carefully it ain't salman khan this is a another conspiracy against him!!!!!!

^ Idol worship?

Astaghferullah. Thats bayhurmati of Allah Ta'ala's Kalaam-e-Paak.

I just read the first post and my blood is boiling with anger. Ghussay se meri aankhoun se aansu aa rahey hain.

I can't listen to the audio you have posted because my speekers are dead but if he really did sing the holy Quran with music then may the laanat of Allah be upon him and those who support him.

Music is haram because Allah's Messenger (peace and blessings be upon him) said so FULL STOP. If the Quran or Sunnah are clear about something then there's no room for personal opinions and logical reasoning.

Trying to justify something Allah has forbidden is bad enough but showing such disrespect to Allah's sacred words by singing them with music, is going too far...

I was going to give another lecture on how if Allah and his Rasool (peace be upon him) say something we have to at least accept as being right without question but last time I tried doing that it was like talking to a brick wall so I'm going to stop right here...

*Originally posted by #let uz chat#: *
propoganda against salman khan listen to it carefully it ain't salman khan this is a another conspiracy against him!!!!!!

This is about Salman Ahmed, you know, of Junoon.

So, why would you think music is haraam when you are partaking in this "sin" with such fervor?

At least he has the balls to admit his sins unlike some people who try justifying them with personal opinions and reasoning and reject what Allah or his Rasool (peace be upon him) have said.

Comitting a sin and accepting it as wrong is one thing and that person in my opinion is not a hypocrite but a sinful Muslim and Allah may forgive him if He wants to or punish him if He wants.

But a person who gives preference to his/her own opinions over the Quran and Sunnah has inavlidated their Iman.

Nabi (peace and blessing be upon him) said something along the lines of "speak the truth even if its against your own selves"

Allah Ta'ala knows best.

Now this thread has been completely dereailed with the usual senseless argument that 'Just because I said so, music is haraam'. Please provide facts in arguments, not just your personal vendettas.

If music is indeed haraam, please do go back to your caves, do not listen to it, and hopefully we wont be able to hear your voice from inside. We do not need to be lectured by those that believe music is haraam and themselves listen to it and spread it, first of all you need to practice what you preach, only then you have the right to be heard.

Hmmm.

To me, it's a matter of respect. I am not getting into the argument of whether music is haram or not. I myself listen to music and do not think that it is haraam.

The issue is about the Quran. Singing the Quran like this Junoonie dude has ..... well, it's just disrespectful to the Quran. The Quran is a holy book. To some, the way azaan is called may sound like singing. To me, it is simply recitation. However, singing it like this just cheapens it. Quranic verses are not songs.

What's next? Quranic remixes put to Hip Hop or Britney Spears? Where does one draw the line??

Do you all remember when one of the fashion moghuls, I think it may have been Versace or some other Italian (early 90s), used Quranic scripts on his designs that were paraded down runways in the fashion world? Again, that was disrespectful. The argument 'in favour' of doing that was that Quranic writing looked like art, was beautiful, and was therefore acceptable to put on clothing.

In both instances, it's just inappropriate and disrespectful.

I can understand that he is sincerely trying to portray Islam in a positive light. But there are so many other things that he can sing about that can get across to the masses given his star power. He has genuine talent and a large fan base. I would like to see him create songs about Islam, the positive aspects about Islam and the people. I think he was sincerely trying to do the right thing (meaning his niyat was good). It seems to me he just went about it the wrong way. Oh well.

Regardless of my opinions, it is not for us to judge his character.

Well said MehnazQ :k:

this is plain patheic on salman's part. maybe his intensions were good but sadly he failed to put much thought into his actions. i mean ok you are a rock star and thats a part of your live but you simply can't look at everything from that perspective. certains are better to left as they are. his documentary too was nothing but a pre-approved-script that he just followed to gain more popularity, which means more sales. *(Edited)*controversy sells like hot cakes and thats wht junoon's been banking on ever since their initial tour of india :~)

Niqabi..

I agree
but Allah has given everybody sense to judge what is good and what is wrong...I am not saying he will goto hell for what he did..that is upon Allah to judge...
i expressed my point of view... I personally have No respect for this guy

I dont see anything wrong with that .. atleast they are using it.. reading it .. reffering and cunsulting it.. .. that means they respect it .. and know whats its value is.. they are not just putting it on a shelf and ignoring it except .. kissing it from time to time.. thats not respect ...
just like u said its the niyat...

There is a way Allah has shown us how to communicate with him... and trust me its not playing his words on a guitar...
If he has respect for the Quran and wants to establish a connection with Allah .. of all the ways possible he had to choose this one...

bring his audiance closer to Allah or divert more people towards music..???
teh way i look at it was just a publicity stunt...to get exposure in the west... by blaming islam...

munda not a mullah PAKISTANI

hey, appreciate your reply...i do understand what you are saying too...

*(Edited)

Keep Spock out of this discussion. I thought I had made it clear to all of you. Don't drag other people in your discussions when they don't appreciate it.*

*Originally posted by EntityParadigm: *
this is plain patheic on salman's part. maybe his intensions were good but sadly he failed to put much thought into his actions. i mean ok you are a rock star and thats a part of your live but you simply can't look at everything from that perspective. certains are better to left as they are. his documentary too was nothing but a pre-approved-script that he just followed to gain more popularity, which means more sales. *(Edited)*controversy sells like hot cakes and thats wht junoon's been banking on ever since their initial tour of india :~)

I seriously think that people who have no information on the documentary shouldnt reply. This was not Salman's documentary like it was mentioned above. He was just invited to be a host, by PBS and the other host was Mishal (A Pakistani), a well known part of the BBC team. So people who think that PBS in the US is producing Junoon's album made this documentary to create controversy in Pakistan (where the documentary was not even shown) so that the sales go up, please catch up. This has nothing to do with sales. Besides, the band has already proven that their popularity quadruples, even in cases where they were officially banned by Nawaz Sharif and his henchmen. And yes, there is nothing wrong with our Pakistani talent touring India. Others have done it too, and have ammassed worldwide recognition because of this.

what's with everyone..........

You guys....!!!

Whether music is haram or halal........ you are not supposed to sing Quran with music are you??? It's simple. There are rules ...... you don't ask questions !! You cannot argue with the Holy Prophet and Allah allmighty using your little noodles.... goodness me!!

And niqabi.... please don't get to the point of imagining that everything is allright as long as your intention is right. There is a verse in Quran itself... and the translation is " Nobody touches it (the Quran) apart from "mutahharoon" means paak. According to Hadith .. wazu makes you paak .. you must do it before holding Quranwith your bare hands. .... I don't argue.

One of these days some liberal minded muslim is gonna get up and say.... well more people will be attracted to say namaz if that was without wazu..... will that be justified and become right ... no.

The Holy prophet didn't use music to preach islam .... even when he knew it had a strong effect on one's senses.... why?? I am sure he had good reasons.... my noodle says Islam is to be grasped with good reason ... not as in intoxication ... and that is what music does. It simply takes you away from teh reality of certain things.

And quran is not to be sung with music. I believe that Allah has shown anger in Quran itself towards people who played whistles and clapped around the place where namaz was being said....

Oh you liberals.... get a grip!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

gooni ...you go girl

gooni well said.

i will come with my reply soon.

gooni behn :k:

Thats what I’ve been trying to tell them when Allah says something we don’t argue with it or try ‘improving’ it…

*Originally posted by Arnold Shalwaar Nicker: *
gooni well said.

i will come with my reply soon.

Please, if it is based on the same line of reasoning as your first post in this thread, please spare us.