Salman sings a verse from the Quran in a Madrasssa

6398.salman

Have a listen, where he sings.

Salman plays the verse ..and sings it! (taubanazubillah)

I just want to know what u people think of it.

Guitar is an instrument not allowed in islam…

and forget all other things…SINGING QURAN is not allowed!

How can u even say it is ok? it is just out of the question.

This might have been discussed in other thread, but here i just want ppl to talk with Proof..not what i think or bla bla.

THIS IS JUST WRONG!

Salman is an idiot, if he came infront of me..i wud spit at his face so hard that he wud remember.

now i just wanna hear what u ppl think.

above quote by a user named sa-rih from another forum.

Whoa…:eek:

Astaghferullah

what an idiot!

Anything that can establish a close relation to your God is fine by me. A typical recitation of Quran is also a form of music . It is like singing to me , you or any other jahil goras.

Anyways
Whom do you prefer?
A person not reading Quran at all or a person who loves his God and recite Quran by using guitar and mind you his intentions is not to mock anything but to have this spiritual connection with HIM. I don't see anything wrong with that.

I have a suggestion.

Why not can we restrict this thread for ppl who think Music is allowed otherwise we should be expecting an obvious replies :

Music = singing =guitar = shaving = playing tetris = haram period.

sheryy..
so u say that playing the guitar while reciting the holy Quran is not its byhurmati..???

I would rather not read teh holy Quran than sing it while playing a guitar... astaghfirullah...

the question here is not about ur connection with Allah ... its about singing the quran.. with music..
and not about music being halal or haraam its about how salman used music to disrespect the holy Quran... astaghfirullah..

and if u dont have respect for the holy Quran.. how can u have a connection with Allah..

yaar sherry plz forget about junoon and what they are doing think about how he did byhurmati to the holy Quran by singing it with a guitar..

and yea the recitation of the holy Quran is nothing close to singing..or music..

didnt u read the hadith .. singing the quran is not allowed.. there is a respectful way of reciting it..

there is a diff. between reciting and singing

Salman is an idiot, if he came infront of me..i wud spit at his face so hard that he wud remember

right on bro..

i myself listen to music... but what salman did is tooo much..

i really fear for this guys life if that documentry is shown in Pakistan....

Hmmm...no offence to anyone, this is just my personal opinion as a Muslim...

I was also shocked when I read that Salman Ahmad sung a verse from the Quran..

but then I thought about it a bit more...

whether its right or wrong is for Allah to judge...

i feel that religion is really between a person and Allah and he or she can choose to communicate with Allah in any manner that he or she pleases and only Allah knows what is in his or her heart...

i was brought up in Pakistan and there often we used to wrap the Quran majeed in cloth and put it in a high place in the house and touch it only after doing complete wuzu and also some people recited the Quran their whole lives in Arabic but never read its translation...

i agree that the Quran must be given utmost respect but sometimes the Quran was made an unapproachable...

i came to the USA and saw some of my fellow Muslims put the Quran with their other books in the bookshelf and on every other issue, my friends used to just pick up the Quran and look at the index and refer straight to the ayat...they had post its on separate pages, had put book marks in several pages and some people even had notes next to some Ayats...

all this in the beginning used to appear so strange and disrespectful to me but then i realised that atleast these people are using and utlising the Quran in their daily lives and their niyat [intention] is to live by the Quran which every Muslim should...

personally, i think a balance between the above two approaches is good...

coming back to Salman Ahmed...i am not a die hard fan of junoon or anything like that and i dont know any band members personally...but isnt it upto us how we choose to communicate with our Allah? if Salman Ahmed sincerely feels that this way he is communicating with Allah and if he sincerely does have respect in his heart, then are we in a position to condemn him?

That he did this publicly does bring an angle into the whole thing that is a bit grey...but what do we know what his niyat was...maybe he thought this way he would also bring his audience closer to Allah...

You are taking this all out of context. Watch the whole documentary and understand what it is about. Think and think some more.

The way I see it, a musician wanted to know why the mullah's banned music from the NWFP province. His view point was that:

1- Music is a form of communication that appeals to people in the 21st century. Like any medium, if used positively, music can be used to bring people together and allow them to express themselves, then what is wrong with this?
2- People of the Sub-Continent have a rich tradition of poetry and music. Even our Sufi Saints used this medium to spread Islam itself.
2- Even the Prophet Muhammad enjoyed music at weddings and other special occasions.
3- No Islamic country bans music.

The mullah's were not convincing at all in response to all this. There was one mullah who called every Muslim country a kafir because they did not follow his teachings. Another said, all women should be locked up in houses. Not one could refute any of the points mentioned above.

So, how do you want to live?

First of all, there is no where in Quran which mentions guitar or any form music is haram.
And if you are that desperate, how about all the Qawalis that is being sung, should we go put those guys in jail.
ASN, verses you have provided above say nothing about Music or Guitar being labled as haraam in islam.
Exactly what type of thing is forbidden is being discussed there.
This is just another thread started to Pi$$ spock off.
Good luck! :rolleyes:

yaar phir yehi topci :( bohot bura kiya hai usnay.

Niqabi..

whether its right or wrong is for Allah to judge

I agree
but Allah has given everybody sense to judge what is good and what is wrong...I am not saying he will goto hell for what he did..that is upon Allah to judge...
i expressed my point of view... I personally have No respect for this guy

i came to the USA and saw some of my fellow Muslims put the Quran with their other books in the bookshelf and on every other issue, my friends used to just pick up the Quran and look at the index and refer straight to the ayat...they had post its on separate pages, had put book marks in several pages and some people even had notes next to some Ayats

I dont see anything wrong with that .. atleast they are using it.. reading it .. reffering and cunsulting it.. .. that means they respect it .. and know whats its value is.. they are not just putting it on a shelf and ignoring it except .. kissing it from time to time.. thats not respect ...
just like u said its the niyat...

coming back to Salman Ahmed...i am not a die hard fan of junoon or anything like that and i dont know any band members personally...but isnt it upto us how we choose to communicate with our Allah? if Salman Ahmed sincerely feels that this way he is communicating with Allah and if he sincerely does have respect in his heart, then are we in a position to condemn him?

There is a way Allah has shown us how to communicate with him... and trust me its not playing his words on a guitar...
If he has respect for the Quran and wants to establish a connection with Allah .. of all the ways possible he had to choose this one...

That he did this publicly does bring an angle into the whole thing that is a bit grey...but what do we know what his niyat was...maybe he thought this way he would also bring his audience closer to Allah...

bring his audiance closer to Allah or divert more people towards music..???
teh way i look at it was just a publicity stunt...to get exposure in the west... by blaming islam...

munda not a mullah PAKISTANI

hie pakistani munda..not mullah;)

DuFFeR :bukbuk::bukbuk::bukbuk::bukbuk::bukbuk:

*Originally posted by munda Pakistani: *
I agree
but Allah has given everybody sense to judge what is good and what is wrong...I am not saying he will goto hell for what he did..that is upon Allah to judge...
i expressed my point of view... I personally have No respect for this guy

Likewise, he has no respect for guys like you. I have come across two types of people. Firstly, those that believe music is haraam and its ok for themselves to listen to it and preach others that they will goto hell if they do. Secondly there are those that listen to it and believe there is nothing wrong with it and dont tell others whether they should listen to it or not.

Even President Pervez Musharraf clearly said these stupid things that the mollahs bring up shouldnt matter. If someone does not want to listen to music, fine, dont listen to it, or if he wants to keep a beard, a hundred blessing, but dont urge me to do the same. What was the MMA trying to do in the Punjab assembly today? They were saying all weddings (not just nikah) should take place in a mosque. They are trying to dictate what they want people to do. They wasted a precious session of the assembly on such a pathetic issue.

You said Salman disrespected the Quran by singing it. Tell me, how would singing one small verse from the Quran, bring about the ultimate disrespecting of Quran? If you think such tiny things can disrespect a mighty book like the Quran, your faith isnt as strong as it should be.

I dont see anything wrong with that .. atleast they are using it.. reading it .. reffering and cunsulting it.. .. that means they respect it .. and know whats its value is.. they are not just putting it on a shelf and ignoring it except .. kissing it from time to time.. thats not respect ...
just like u said its the niyat...

So whats wrong with reciting it in a way that you believe will let you reach out to Allah in the best way? I personally see no point in reading the Quran over and over in Arabic, and prefer to read it in Urdu each time. This is what I believe in, and alot of religious people have told me not to do so as they say translation changes Allah's words, but even if it did, its better then not understanding Allah's words. I am also a big fan of Qawalli and do not care if it has the words of the Quran being recited with the sound of a harmonium. Qawaliz connect me to the almighty in a very special way, and that holds for alot of people.

There is a way Allah has shown us how to communicate with him... and trust me its not playing his words on a guitar...
If he has respect for the Quran and wants to establish a connection with Allah .. of all the ways possible he had to choose this one...

bring his audiance closer to Allah or divert more people towards music..???
teh way i look at it was just a publicity stunt...to get exposure in the west... by blaming islam...

Arent you spreading music? Then why the hypocrisy? You can think of it as a public stunt, as you clearly didnt understand the problems Salman brought up. Pakistan has sufferred so much because of sectarian violence that these militant groups (that thrive on hatred and murder) have brought up. They even say 'Allah will grant you a place in heaven if you kill Shias'. Who here believes Mollahs when they tell Salman, 'women have no place outside the house, keep them inside'. Doesnt the Gulzar ordeal presented in the documentary ring a bell about how these Mollahs are torturing people through their abuse of power? And also, where has Salman blamed Islam? The only thing that he has blamed in the west are these senseless mollahs. He has defended Islam numerous times in the west.

mullah* PAKISTANI

Sorry to say but this thread is based on personal motives like umair31 said, and does not carry a sound argument. Allah has given us a mind to think, and everything in Islam has a rationale. Lastly, its not like Salman was only singing a verse in that long documentary, you conveniently left you other parts.

Xguru..

1- Music is a form of communication that appeals to people in the 21st century. Like any medium, if used positively, music can be used to bring people together and allow them to express themselves, then what is wrong with this?

I toTTaly agree...
what i dont agree on is that there are limits to everything...Junoon was singing songs of peace ... I was with them all the way..., they wanted to bring peace between India and Pakistan .. Junoon Zindabaad... they were singing patriotic songs... Hy jazba-e- junoon to himmat na haaar...,
Bulley shah ...na main mooman wich maseetaN na main moosa na firooon... Great work.. they were spreading.. words of wisdom and peace....
BUT
Salman crossed the limit with the documentry...

1.he gave a bad image of Islam to the west...the west is already against muslims after all what happened... and he he put jalti py teyl...
do u think he didnt even have nuff sense to think about that... all he cares about is why his music is not being sold in peshawar...

1. he showed children who are memorising te quran in madrasas .. as if they were forced to study there and... he says he respects the quran... these people who recite it .. memorise it.. those hafiz sahabs who teach ppl the holy Quran the whole day have reserved their lifes for it... like the guy from karachi in the documentry who wanted to learn more about hsi religion he made them look bad.. as if they were doing something wrong and illegal...what do u think the impact of this would have been on the west... these madrasas are birth places of evil... these hafiz sahabs are ignorant and terorist camp runners... these people who come to study about their religion here are terorists..... is that what hew wanted to tell the western media...???... he did a very good job.. by insulting his own religion amoung the western media and making more people hate islam...thuu at his face is that teh way he wants to establish a connection with Allah...

3- Even the Prophet Muhammad enjoyed music at weddings and other special occasions

yes but only the DUFF... and that too at a very few moments of happiness and joy... if i recall welll. once was when he was migrating to madina and the other at a wedding and some more which i cant recall..

but there is a difference here... prople were singing songs of happines and peace... not ayats of the holy Quran...
look at christianity.. they involved music into their churches... are we trying to copy them...???

"mann shabahahum fa hua minhum" The Holy Quran
he who tries to resemble them(the non believers) is one of them

4- No Islamic country bans music

So... ur point is... if everyone jumps into a well will you...???
here the point being discussed is not music... i myself listen to music... or which countries allow it.. its involving music into religion thats being discussed here...... astaghfirullah

The mullah's were not convincing at all in response to all this. There was one mullah who called every Muslim country a kafir because they did not follow his teachings. Another said, all women should be locked up in houses. Not one could refute any of the points mentioned above

well I say hes wrong... Islam has shown the best way of living... everything has its limits and balance...
there are mullahs who change the religion for their own good... like this guy who said he was a mullah but swore ..harami and stuff...
whatever islam teaches might seem strict and hard to follow but for whos good is it..???
Islam does not say women should be locked in houses...?? i disagree with taht mullah... but i also say that women should stay in their limits...
ISalam sys to men if ur walking down a street and u sense that a woman is comming from the opposite side "lower ur sight".. thats the respect Islam gives to women... and if the man does look at her once he is ordered not to look again... thats teh protection islam gives to women... BUT look at teh muslim women now.... jeans.. tee tops.. no dupattas... and strong perfumes ... if they dont do their part by not showing themselfs off how can islam protect them..?? and they talk about islam not giving women any respect...
Islam does not say dont wear perfume and dont dress up but there is a limit to everything...look at the western women.. do u think THEY have respect in the society...??????... wooow look at that ass maaan...?? how many times have u heard that....they are called B*tches by their men... is that teh respect our women want... dont take me wrong... but i have to say this....would you like anyone saying that to your wife, sister.. or anyone u know...... I DONT think so...because you RESPECT them...
and then they say Islam treats women wrong...

anyways i have strayed from the topic answering ur questions...

So, how do you want to live

why dont u answer that now..??

captain gulsher khan sahab

u didnt get my point

where did i say i didnt listen to music or music is haraam..
Yes i said i myself listed to music...in fact i run one of teh best pakistani music sites online...

i am promoting my countrys music...

but i am not giving a bad name to my religion in the west....

i am not a hypocryte...

the thing u said about mullahs and gen pervaiz
I am with gen pervaiz all the way... i know what he is trying to do... but look at teh way he is doing it.. he not giving a bad name to his religion .. hes poining out teh mullahs who take religion and bend it for their own profit...and i say it SHOULD be done...

So whats wrong with reciting it in a way that you believe will let you reach out to Allah in the best way? I personally see no point in reading the Quran over and over in Arabic, and prefer to read it in Urdu each time.

i did not say there areways to recite the quran
i said there are other ways to connect will Allah....go pray.. go seek help from him .. pray tahajjud .. plus lots of other ways....
but forget that.. hes giving his religion a bad name...how will taht get him close to Allah...

They even say 'Allah will grant you a place in heaven if you kill Shias'. Who here believes Mollahs when they tell Salman, 'women have no place outside the house, keep them inside'. Doesnt the Gulzar ordeal presented in the documentary ring a bell about how these Mollahs are torturing people through their abuse of power? And also, where has Salman blamed Islam? The only thing that he has blamed in the west are these senseless mollahs. He has defended Islam numerous times in the west.

yes people who said that are wrong..... like i said earlier ... abuse of power i agree on that too..

but yaar look at the effect this documentry is having on islam..
he did not say theese perticular mullahs or theese perticular madrasas...
he blamed everyone... molvis, students, Islam in perticulr... what do u think the effect of this would have been in the west... ooh islam does this islam does that .. those people with white beards a terorists children who read the quran grow up to be terorists....is that teh impression of islam that he wanted to show..

captain shab i agree with u on lots of things but yaar ur not lokint at the effect of this documentry in the west...

and the playing teh Holy Quran on the guitar thing ... its not about 1 small verse.. its about respect for the book.. infron of the whole west he played it on guitar liek he was mocking the people who he was sitting with

thats my point of view... u have the right to urs

Umair and BAYWAQOOF i am not even gona waste my time on u

munda PAKISTANI

Firstly, did you know that president himself supported the documentary? Salman even joked that in his last conversation, he asked the General to buy an electric guitar. Musharrafs campaign to void the country of extremism has a lot to do with these Mollahs. He himself is a brave man, just like Salman for doing something no other politician could dream of. Salman has faced even bigger hurdles in the past, much bigger hurdles in the form of politicians such as Nawaz Sharif, Mushahid Hussain who banned them. They bounced back by emerging a stronger and much popular band even when they were banned. You can draw out a parallel with Musharraf too.

You didnt answer my question as to how Salmans recitation would bring about an ultimate disrespect of the great book of Quran. Similarly, I have seen people who get boiled and say writing Quran as 'Koran' is disrespect, I fail to understand that.

How did he mock the people he was sitting with. He never said they were bad people or they were wrong. All he did was ask them a few questions, and to be honest, those gentlemen couldnt provide decent answers, other than, 'all I know is music is haraam'. When did he discourage them from attending a madrassah?

Tell me where he blamed Islam in particular like you said? Throughout the documentary it was said that the mainstream of the Pakistani society does not adhere to the views of these Mollahs. If you see the docuementary, Salman just proved these mollahs get back to their "preprogrammed commentry", and no where did he go against Islam like you said, if you still think he did, please do provide me with some proof.

You said the documentary harmed the image of Islam. How so? Please dont tell me these mollahs have not gained power in Pakistan and dont pose as a big threat. We have sectarian violence at its peak right now. We all know what the MMA is doing these days. Today they brought up weddings in mosque, yesterday they wanted to rename NWFP, whats next? All this documentary did was highlight these mollahs and their way of thinking (no where it was said that mollahs are what Islam is all about), 52 other islamic countries were mentioned too and if youre right, why did they have a whole section about sufism and its teachings? Isnt sufism a sect within Islam too? Why didnt Salman blame that, or why wasnt the image of Islam hurt by showing that?

I live in the west, and all this documentary did in the west was expose what these mollahs think. Now dont tell me the mollahs arent like that, infact some of the mollahs shown in the documentary were rather liberal, than our conventional mollahs.

Thank you for your views, that is all I have to add. AH

Firstly, did you know that president himself supported the documentary? Salman even joked that in his last conversation, he asked the General to buy an electric guitar. Musharrafs campaign to void the country of extremism has a lot to do with these Mollahs.

I know .... i quote myself
I am with gen pervaiz all the way... i know what he is trying to do... but look at teh way he is doing it

Salman has faced even bigger hurdles in the past, much bigger hurdles in the form of politicians such as Nawaz Sharif, Mushahid Hussain who banned them. They bounced back by emerging a stronger and much popular band even when they were banned. You can draw out a parallel with Musharraf too.

as i said earlier

what i dont agree on is that there are limits to everything...Junoon was singing songs of peace ... I was with them all the way..., they wanted to bring peace between India and Pakistan .. Junoon Zindabaad... they were singing patriotic songs... Hy jazba-e- junoon to himmat na haaar...,
Bulley shah ...na main mooman wich maseetaN na main moosa na firooon... Great work.. they were spreading.. words of wisdom and peace....
BUT
Salman crossed the limit with the documentry...

You didnt answer my question as to how Salmans recitation would bring about an ultimate disrespect of the great book of Quran.

all i am saying is that he wants to connect with god.. and this is not the way.. he is role model for people todayhe did it tomorrow everyone else will be doing it.....
*look at christianity.. they involved music into their churches... are we trying to copy them...???

"mann shabahahum fa hua minhum" The Holy Quran
he who tries to resemble them(the non believers) is one of them

I have seen people who get boiled and say writing Quran as 'Koran' is disrespect, I fail to understand that.

thats the first time I have heard that... and i agree with u on this

How did he mock the people he was sitting with. He never said they were bad people or they were wrong. All he did was ask them a few questions, and to be honest, those gentlemen couldnt provide decent answers, other than, 'all I know is music is haraam'. When did he discourage them from attending a madrassah?

it was a documentry.. and they are all edited "all have heard is that music is haraam" the kid said that... i am not saying that they edited parts in which someone might have had answered..but why was he interviewing a kid...?? and why are they focusing on that...
I am sure there is an ayat reguarding music and entertainment in quran..i cant recall it right now.. but they must have presented that..or a hadith atleast .. why wasnt that part shown...i dont believe that he asked them why is music haraam and they answer " oh we just know its haraam thats it ..."
and the discouraging part.... what do u think .. after kids in pakistan see this ..kids who have been listening to juoon and music perticularly.. what will they think about molvis and madrasas..?? yaar theese places are sacred Allahs words are thought there .. children are thought about their religion.. and he goes and mocks it like that.... he could have gathered some molvis at his place and had a debate or something...i am sure that didnt cross his mind.. or pbs wanted to show the madrasas and stuff on western media ...

Tell me where he blamed Islam in particular like you said? Throughout the documentary it was said that the mainstream of the Pakistani society does not adhere to the views of these Mollahs. If you see the docuementary, Salman just proved these mollahs get back to their "preprogrammed commentry", and no where did he go against Islam like you said, if you still think he did, please do provide me with some proof.

yaar look at it this way... ur an american sitting on ur couch watching the doc... when u see all this.. what comes to ur mind... ISLAM...u dont knwo what theese mullahs are... u dont know what madrasas are.. u dont know care what main stream pakistanis think....all you know is its ISLAM... its MUSLIMS... oh they are training terrorists in these madrasas they are terrorist bases... they force children to study the quran which makes them terorists...

personally its my view that whatever Osama did was terrible... maybe he wanted to take revenge from america for their diplomacy and all but he destroyed the image of ISLAM...ppl think we are terrorists...

now this stuff about afghanistan iraq , mujahedeen.. islam..madrasas..and all is hot ppl in the west would watch it with a lot of intrest.. and right then all u need is this karnama by salman sahab...

why did they have a whole section about sufism and its teachings? Isnt sufism a sect within Islam too? Why didnt Salman blame that, or why wasnt the image of Islam hurt by showing that?

Captain shab if u think dancing at tombs of dead buzurgs(rh) will get anyone a connection with god i pitty you...
Allah says Ask me I am ur sole provider.. i am ur creator.. ask me at anytime anywhere and i will listen to you...
you dont need to goto tombs and request on someone elses behalf from allah... allah does not like that...that is not islam yaar.. i have seen people doing sajda at tombs... I say respect those buzurgs(rh) but bowing to them and asking them thats shirk yaar... and how can u think dancing has anything to do with.. asking god for help...trust me on this .. i have done this... in the middle of teh night sit on ur jayenamaz.. and pray.. ask allah for what u want.. ask from the core of ur heart... and i am sure if allah thinks its good for you he will answer ur prayer...

you are talking about the melas that the were showing... people dancing to music and marching toward teh tombs .. what kind of a worship is that yaar.. and what do u think happens at theese melas... ganjha .. bhag.. afeem its sold and comsumed there openly.. and then ppl dance and pray to god or teh tombs.... is that the way to please allah ....

I live in the west, and all this documentary did in the west was expose what these mollahs think. Now dont tell me the mollahs arent like that, infact some of the mollahs shown in the documentary were rather liberal, than our conventional mollahs.

yaar i live in the west too...i know it exposed the mullahs but more than that it further more spoiled the image of islam...

open ur eyes brothers...look at this from ISLAMS point of view too..allah tum sab ko oor salman ko bhi hidayat dy...

wa ma alina illal balaagh...

I am out of this...
AH

Very interesting points have been raised. However, I'd like to direct a few questions to ASN:

1. You yourself promote music, especially pakistani music. It seems like something you spend a great deal of time doing, with this website and that other website you pm'd me a link to a few weeks ago.

So, why would you think music is haraam when you are partaking in this "sin" with such fervor?

1. The side of argument you support - that music is haraam - is an argument that MANY others support. However, one thing about those who support this argument is that they're always posting up hadith's that have nothing to do with banning music Islamically. My point: All of those hadith's you have posted up do not even mention the word "music" or "musical instruments". I'm not saying that you're wrong...you could be very right. But at least post up some RELEVANT ayahs and hadith's (preferably ayah's because that's the more convincing support for the argument).

Your logic in the first post of this thread seems to me like:

Conjecture: I CLAIM music is haraam.

Support: God should not be disobeyed.

Conclusion: Thus, music is haraam.

You've kind of implied that you're God, because the claim is made by you, and your justification is just that God should be obeyed and Islam should be followed. That's terribly weak support.

The support line should read something like:

Support: Ayah such and such claim that musical instruments are diverting to one's religious affinity to God

or

Support: Hadith such and such equates blah bi di blah instrument or the human singing voice with the devil.

or something along those lines.

Again, I'm not claiming that you're wrong...just encouraging you to post up some relevant proof.

Man, I just don't care. If he's gonna go to hell, it's not my place to send him there, however I might meet him there, in that case.