Salman Butt played really well the other day.. he was very composed and played shots very confidently compared to other few who were shaky.. I think hes a good prospect as an opener for Pakistan..
how does he respond to swing?
*Originally posted by Talha: *
how does he respond to swing?
Remember the WI/Pak match during the ICC trophy?
Still teh guy is young and put up a commendable performance during the match against Zim.
Too early to pass judgement, let him play against SL and maybe Australia.
Agreed.
butt's cover drives against zim on sunday (3/10/04) reminded me if the legendary master strokesman Saeed Anwar... :( it's way to early to pass a judgement on him as of yet, he's been brought in straight from the successsful u19's who won the world cup and needs time to play against each opponent b4 one can work out if he's above or below par.
i have heard that people say that he is a carbon copy of Saeed Anwar.
Geoffrey Boycott said so about Imran Farhat, not Salman Butt. Baakion ka nahi pata.
If Salman can be half the batsman Saeed Anwer was we are set. But unfortunatly players like Saeed don't come along every day.
The good thing for Salman is he will get his fair chances because there is a big opening at the top right now, he should get an extended run. Lets hope he can take advatage of it where so many other young openors failed for us...
Salman is a dashing player...if you watched his cover drives against Zimbabve...you are bound to be pleased. I think with a little of more patience and more exposure against better teams...he will be the next best thing after Saeed Anwar...and he is much better than Imran Farhat.
Very unfortunate time and Unfair situation for Salman Butt. His over all cricketing instincts were very positive and Classy indeed.
But to expect more of a Completed version of Saeed Anwar or Amir Sohail etc would not be fair at all. 2ndly there is an unfair comparison between Salman/Yassir/Imran farhat and few more, where the bar has been raised to highest levels of expectations from the Sel-Board, Media + crowd. Its a nightmare situation for the budding talents to perform and perform consistantly without fail or else,,,,,,bahar line lagi hai,,jaldi jaldi koi kernama dekhao,,werna agay berhoo,,aur wait keroo,,
Its so unfair,,, I thinks these players should always be kept in the squad of 13+ for maximum exposure, or face the danger of another "fade Out" of talent/s. :D
I like to see Salman+Imran+Shoaib for the # 1 /2/3 slot Younis as a keepr is a good move,,,
Just saw the Highlights of the game and his batting reminds me of another very stylish player, Alister campbel, his stance....the way he shuffels across his stumps with his initial movement...and way he drives looks alot similar to Ali Campbell.
Originally posted by Raindance: *
Very unfortunate time and Unfair situation for Salman Butt. His over all cricketing instincts were very positive and Classy indeed.
But to expect more of a *Completed version of Saeed Anwar or Amir Sohail etc would not be fair at all. 2ndly there is an unfair comparison between Salman/Yassir/Imran farhat and few more, where the bar has been raised to highest levels of expectations from the Sel-Board, Media + crowd. Its a nightmare situation for the budding talents to perform and perform consistantly without fail or else,,,,,,bahar line lagi hai,,jaldi jaldi koi kernama dekhao,,werna agay berhoo,,aur wait keroo,,
Its so unfair,,, I thinks these players should always be kept in the squad of 13+ for maximum exposure, or face the danger of another "fade Out" of talent/s. :D
I like to see Salman+Imran+Shoaib for the # 1 /2/3 slot Younis as a keepr is a good move,,,
How can a talent fade out, have we not given Imran Farhat, Toufeeq Umer and Mohd Hafeez enough chances? In most cases selection is based on over all performance. Toufeeq performance was pathetic in Kenya and Imran Farhat seems to be out of form so selectors decided to try Salman Butt. Shoaib Mlaik is perfect @3 for flat pitches in Pakistan but he put him bouncing pitches in Australia & NZ he will be lost.
for my ODI squad, will recall Saleem Elahi and bring Saeed Bin Nazir, he will be perfect for 2,3 or even 4, will try Rauf and see he has the mental toughness to be in ODI.
SQUAD
Saleem Elahi, Salman butt, Saeed Bin Nazir, Inzamam ul Haq, Yousuf Youhana, Shoaib Akhtar, Abdul Razzaq, Yasir Hameed, Shoaib Malik, Younis Khan (WK), Shabbir Ahmed, Shahid Afridi, Abdul Rauf, Mohd Sami, Moin Khan, Asim Kamal.
Reserved : Naved ul Hasan, Naveed Latif
01 Saleem Elahi
02 Salman butt
03 Shaoib Malik
04 Inzamam ul Haq
05 Youhanna
06 Abdul Razzaq
07 Younis Khan/Moin Khan
08 Shahid Afridi
09 Mohd Sami
10 Shoaib Akhtar
11 Shabbir Ahmed /Abdul Rauf /Naved ul Hasan
or
01 Saleem Elahi
02 Saeed Bin Nazir
03 Yousuf Youhana
04 Inzamam ul Haq
05 Shoaib Malik
06 Younis Khan/Moin Khan
07 Abdul Razzaq
08 Shahid Afridi
09 Mohd Sami
10 Shoaib Akhtar
11 Shabbir Ahmed
The guy has shown once again that he is good future prospect for the opening slot. He has patience and strokes.
EQ ,, your Idea sounds like Team A and Team B for 1 Country,,just because they have too much talent on hand.
Consistancy and your trust into one player is absolutley important.
e.g Saeed Anwar, Y.Yohana, and many other players were going through some bad patches in thier forms. Do you discard them as 'Tried n failed' because of that ????
Pakistan tried various pairs untill now its about time to fill the berth
on regular basis for 'player conditioning' at home and abroad. :)
Shoaib cannot play on fast wickets ? Aasumptions !!!!!,,give him a try and expose him to those conditions may he'' surprise every one,,
Saleem Elahi and Saeed Bin Nazir,,,I never heard about them,,even if they'r doing good on domestic circuit than proly they need to do more,,,,but only 11 players are allowed on the nationa side...:D
Salman Butt looks good prospect, but again, lets wait and watch, send him on abroad tours and see how he performs. Shoaib Malik didn't do much good in NZ, SA and now England (in ICCCT).
Originally posted by Nikema: *
Just saw the Highlights of the game and his batting reminds me of another very stylish player, **Alister campbel*, his stance....the way he shuffels across his stumps with his initial movement...and way he drives looks alot similar to Ali Campbell.
Nice observation. He does have similar stance to Campbell but mind you, he has more strokes than Campbell did.
He played well in todays match as well. The guy has got some technique!
*Originally posted by Raindance: *
EQ ,, your Idea sounds like Team A and Team B for 1 Country,,just because they have too much talent on hand.
Consistancy and your trust into one player is absolutley important.
e.g Saeed Anwar, Y.Yohana, and many other players were going through some bad patches in thier forms. Do you discard them as 'Tried n failed' because of that ????
Pakistan tried various pairs untill now its about time to fill the berth
on regular basis for 'player conditioning' at home and abroad. :)
Shoaib cannot play on fast wickets ? Aasumptions !!!!!,,give him a try and expose him to those conditions may he'' surprise every one,,
Saleem Elahi and Saeed Bin Nazir,,,I never heard about them,,even if they'r doing good on domestic circuit than proly they need to do more,,,,but only 11 players are allowed on the nationa side...:D
IF you haven't heard about Saleem Elahi then maybe should look him up, he is very unfortunate player, he was drop by PCB paindos, he is pure talent, score 100+ against SA in their backyard, Saeed bin Nazir is the second highest scorer in Domestic cricket, he should have been in national squad at least 2 years ago, mediocre players like Taufeeq and Hafeez were given chances, Hafeez & fasial Ather wasn't even in "A team" before he was selected for National team.
-- As far as player selection, PCB always been involve in favoritism, they don't pick players based on performance.
-- Inzi is going to retire in few years, probably end of 2005, do we have someone to came in and fill his shoes, probably not. What if Younis Khan or Youhanna got sick or injured do we have anyone who can replace these players. Just because you feel that we have perfect team doesn't mean that we can't introduce new players.
We need to introduce new players so they can get the confidence and learn the game. Cricket is different on domestic and international level, the competitiveness and pressure is much more then domestic cricket.
We need to introduce players like Naveed Latif, Qaiser Abbas, Saeed Bin Nazir, Hasan Raza, and Asim Kamal to both test and ODI; players like Aamir Basher and Misbah are too old for International cricket.
*Originally posted by saby: *
Nice observation. He does have similar stance to Campbell but mind you, he has more strokes than Campbell did.
Thanks....feels good to be right all the timez.......:D
Seriously, i dont think u saw Campbell play against Pak in 1993....He kiceked Wasim and Waqar's butt in that series...and made them look like medium pacers....he didnt score alot of runs..but as long as he was on crease...Pak didnt look like winning......He was a Big Under Achiever to me.
*Originally posted by Nikema: *
Thanks....feels good to be right all the timez.......:D
Seriously, i dont think u saw Campbell play against Pak in 1993....He kiceked Wasim and Waqar's butt in that series...and made them look like medium pacers....he didnt score alot of runs..but as long as he was on crease...Pak didnt look like winning......He was a Big Under Achiever to me.
Janab, I was in Defence stadium karachi when Campbell whacked Waqar all over the park :-p. Waqar took 13 wickets in that match but he got aw hacking through campbell.