Considering the inflation and other economic factors in the US, what will should be the minimum %age increase in salary for the year 2005?
Re: Salary Increase
AJ, I think the Beaureau of Labor Staitistics usually puts a COLA adjustment out every year. It is an average national rate. Each state might have it's own stats.
Salary increase depends on your skill set and the industry you are in. I don't think you want to compare with union agreements, teachers or government workers who usually get COLA adjustment of 3% or something. But yeah, if you really want to know the state stats, check out the Labor deptt website for your state.
Faisal is probably right. You could check the state average and then adjust it for the industry and skillset I guess.
Simple. Roti Kapda Makhan in lowly redneck country is likely around 20k annually. Divvy up by 2k hours gives you $10 hourly.
Ofcourse if you really want minimum wages to mean something you gotta become communistic
Yesterday I heard a number of around 6%. In addition to this my company at the advice of the US state department has increased our international allowance to 45% from 25% in December. Halleluja.
Thanks for the Labor Staitistics hint Matsui Bhaijaan. I searched through the national & state websites and found a lot of interesting statistics. They had %age increase in 2004 with a job title, which matched the average of our company.
Anything for you chunmun…![]()
aj
it depends on the company performance as well, I recall back in the days of tech crash, many companies gave no raise to their workers.
^ Yep. And location of the company also matters. We have branches in other states that got more or less average raises, even though their business is pretty much the same.
^ isn't all this much simpler? if your company makes a good profit you're gonna get a good raise. Otherwise prayer is a good plan for you.
And if you don't know if your company is making a good profit or not, you don't deserve a raise.
No, it’s not that simple.
Actually how the company is doing have little effect on my salary as I work for a company that is based in nearly every continent (even in Africa). It is my division & particularly my office that makes a difference. If the place I work has a potential to make a lot of money in future or is in the process of making money for the company, I will be rewarded generously for my loyalties and work. If not that I can work my ass off and the company in general can be making billions but I won’t see an extra dime than necessary.
Where you work, i.e. the geographical surroundings also matter. Our company has four branches in 3 different countries that do pretty much the same business with little variation as the branch I work in. Productivity and profits are also more or less the same but some of us got more %age increase than others. Mainly those branches that had trouble retaining people because of other employment opportunities for employees in the area got a better %age as well than those who live in countries/states with high unemployment rates.
I was told recently that I had the biggest ever increase in the history of my company and that too before the time. No! I can't reveal how much :p but to say the least, I have been included in 5 of the very upper level staff members.
So, it's all depends on YOU and YOU alone, and how you make yourself valuable for the company and how you become the necessity than a liability :-) But then again, if company can't afford it, you aint gonna get an increase of even a dime!
^ hahaha visions of sugar plums...No one...I repeat no one is non-expendable. Tomorrow if your company gets bought out...you would be the one of the main folks to go.
and where did it say I had a problem with that? you jealous hindu:hoonh:
plus currently, there is no chance so far:p but even it happens, I am very new to the company and I already have few offers. You dun worry!
Yes I am jealous of Queens College grads whoa re 30 when they finish college.
carry on with your donald trump self playa!!
30 when they finish? ghaas khaa gayaa hai kiya? make it 23 .. yeah it was a bit late should have been 21 :-p
hahaha..23..and talking about being valuable to the company. hahahah… Oh man…stop it gadha yaar..![]()
Anwaar Bhai, :k: are you working for a small or startup company?
If the company that started in 1989 can be considered as a startup company then yeah ![]()
As for small company, well it’s a small company with only 25 number of employees :>