Salan smell

Re: Salan smell

We don't usually cook Indian food at home because we eat Iranian foods (mantu, kebab-naan, roasts, pilaffs) but when my mom does cook a recipie she got of her other Pakistani friends I HATE the smell, I don't come out of my bedroom till it's cooked and the house aired, even when we go out to an Indian resteraunt I don't eat anything because it looks and smells like diarrhea.

Salan is pakistani, not indian well indian too but we are talking about pakistani food.

irani food tastes like cardboard.

Jamaican food smells nasty :yukh:

I love chicken :yummy: but I crave beef once in a while too :frowning:

lagta hai unkil kaleem ne kissi mod ko rishwat dai kar mere posts delete karwa diye hain.................kaise musalman hain aap log....Rishwat daina aur laina dono haraam hain....

Mahru, :rolleyes: , both of your off topic bantering going back and forth were removed. Let’s try and stick to the topic instead of making digs at one another.

^^ Thank you, MehnazQ. I was just joking around.

Same here. Rain or shine, winter or summer, the windows are open while cooking and for about 1 hour afterwards. I also light agarbathi and use scented oils (Cranberry and Starfruit). Febreeze is also good and candles are a must. I hate the salan smell in my clothes, so all closet doors and bedroom doors are closed from the minute I start cooking. Also, to prevent myself from smelling like salan, I wear an old lab overcoat over my clothes and cover my hair with a shower cap. :smiley:

~Tikhi Jalebi~

20 years from now, ur daughter would be behaving the same way u are. This is called paki culture, their houses smell of garam masala even when nothing is cooked.

Best I can advise is, move out. Get a flat or ur own place if u cannot tolerate. Although I'd suggest learn to tolerate it, because in few years time, you would be doing the same. Cooking at 11 or 11:30 with all masalay.

its not necessary to start every thing with pyaaz laal (frying onions). a little expermentation in the order really helps and doesnt compromise taste. but, god forbid we desies used expermientation......... anywhere.

but the best remedy is to have a house with a separate kitchen or with a kitchen in the back so you can trap the smell. even the professional exhaust fans dont work when it comes to desi food odors.

Are you a nurse?