Salan, Shorba, Korma

What’s the difference?

Re: Salan, Shorba, Korma

Spices :)

I thought salan was just a general word referring for handi/meal....but is not used for rice. And korma is particular kind of salan....just like chicken karahi is a specific type of salan. And then shorbha is just a synonym for curry....a more thinner curry as opposed to a creamy/thicker one.

Salan = general name for dish, like curry, which can include korma/curry/shorba/etc.

Korma/qorma = the spices used, also utilizes more yogurt than other salans.

shorba = very thin gravy, watery, as opposed to a masalaydaar salan that has a thicker gravy base.

I wonder what I make. :hmmm:

I had the feeling korma was something different. But when I refer to salan (and I think when the moms refer to it), it’s the liquidy/gravy part of the meat dish. Same thing as shorba, right?

But maybe I’m wrong. Like in chipsy’s thread, I didn’t understand what “keema salan” was, as keema is usually dry, no liquidy portion. I would never call it salan.

Salan is a general term for a non-rice dish. Karelay and bhindi and keema don't have any shorba....but they're all still a salan (that's how my family uses the term). Like eagle is more specific but bird (like salan) is a general/broad category.

Shorbah is a thinner curry. And in cuisines of other cultures...shorbah refers to a broth or soup...a liquid of thinner consistency.

That's interesting. Now I'm going to ask Ammi and MIL too and see what they say. But I've only heard "salan" used when referring to "shorbas."

Salam Sahar, these three terms have different meanings with different people. As salan is concern so it simply means (koi khana jo hm dinner or lunch me khate han, some people also eat in breakfast and in Sehri). aur Shorba means simply k usi salan ka shorba (ya ager aap ne sirf shorba banaya hua hua he, jese k hotels me chicken pieces alag se pakte han aur jab guest to serve kya jata he to chicken piece ko aik plate me dal ker, us plate me shorba dal dete han aur use as a khana (salan). server kerte han.

As for as Qorma is concern, to Qorma jo he channe ki dal aur gosht, ya Mattar Gosht k lye zyada ter use hota he. And as a matter of fact you have heard this word in wedding ceremonies. jab ap chawal pe Qorma dalti han, mostly channe ki dal Gosht. so thats Qorma.

Wooo But meri ami jo Qorma banati han na Sahar, us ko khane k sath sath aap apni finger pe bhi kaati ker sakti han....... :):):)

**saalan can be anything that has gravy [masaalah] in it...it may have veggies like aaloo, egg, banda, gosht etc while shorbaa is a watery masaalah...put it this way...all shorbaa are saalans but NOT all saalans are shorbaa...shorbaa goes well with meat dishes...anDa, aaloo, banDaa can also have shorbaa :)

Qorma is made from either goat/lamb meat or beef...even chicken...:)

is Urdu NOT your first language?**

^I've grown up in the US. My parents are Urdu-speaking. I speak Urdu pretty well, but I've never had a formal education in it.

Okay, so salan does refer to the liquidy part for you too.

Now I’m more confused. :mudhosh:

Which spices?

From what I understand, qorma usually uses more elaichi than other dishes...

cant think of any other spices right now :p

I guess I just add spices like those to vary the dish. Didn’t realize it becomes another dish. :hmmm:

From what I've learned, there's four basic spices to desi cooking--lal mirch, coriander powder, cumin seed powder, and haldi. oh and salt (ok make that 5 :p) and other things like elaichi (black and green) and cinnamon clove etc...all depend on the dish...

Salan is a general term for liquidy curries. Korma is a particular type of salan-richer and heavier--with the really brown onions that are crushed. Shorba refers to very liquidy salans. Hope this makes sense. Im from the US too and understand--even when we think we know something--there's always more to it

sara's explanation helps:):)

I guess you are from Lahore. Are you ?

Salan and Shorba is the same thing. I have seen that Shorba is commonly used among Punjabi families and Salan by everyone. It simply means the curry.

Korma is a name of a special type of dish which again has salan and cooked with either mutton / beef or chicken. The main ingredients in Korma are fried onions and yoghurt whith many spice. Korma is the one you get in shaadi like Korma and Biryani.

glad to hear that you speak urdu fluently and that ur parents are urdu-speaking. you are one of the lucky ones who are truly bilingual. My bros kids understand basic urdu but do NOT speak one word. it's sad though that they grew up in an urdu environment but can't speak the language.well, it's NOT their fault i suppose.