Hello makes sense where hello is due, and salaam where salaam is due. watch

Hello e ishq meri jaan zara qubool kar lo

Or

Salaam, is it me you are looking for

:hmmm: maza nahi aaya

Re: Salaam

NM

What is a burger bacha and what type are we talking about. Like Big Mac or cheese burger?

I think if it is a child you know well or in the family. If it is an adult someone shouldn’t correct them. Just reply how you want them to say. Like you say salaam. If you be too forceful or harsh or arrogant you risk turning them away.

Some people saying why we should say thank you or shukriya instead of using Arabic. Why speak English at all. Isn’t it better to communicate in Arabic then? It also depends on context and where you are. If you are around a lot of white people who don’t understand the meaning they may feel left out. It is better to explain to them..as it is if you are speaking in another language in front of people who don’t understand.

How many people would say salaam to a gora person in hopes of doing dawa? Isn’t that a good chance to explain to them how things are done? It’s a cultural thing. Christians in middle east say salaam a lot. How do you respond to them? Can you respond to non-Muslims in same way.

Aap ne salaam nahi bola :confused:

I would like to see this happen in action..so i am playing out the scenario.

So you can’t say “You had me at Salaam” Jerry McGuire style

Don’t quit your day job :no:

I know a non desi, whenever he used to walk around people in hallway he used to say…

Hi! Hi! Hi!.

Some desi used to say,

Kia Hua? Koi ChoaT Lag Gayi Kia Inhein?

Being a muslim, its our duty to tell the right ways,

I’m so used to greeting people with “hi”, “hey” etc that when I moved to KSA, I had to make an effort to start greeting other Muslims with Assalam-u-Alaikum because that’s what they greeted me with and that’s what they expected from me perhaps. So when I turned around and said “hiya!!” it just felt really odd! I’ve never been corrected by anyone though. It’s just something I felt I needed to do. But even now I’m usually like “hey/hi/hello, Assalam-u-Alaikum!” :hehe: Old habits die hard. Not a big deal really.

^ As-salam alaykum ya habibti … zain fi ?

Wa’alaikum assalam habibti, I don’t know what you’re saying. Zain is the name of the sim card I’m using here and yes, I’ve run out of credit if that’s what you’re asking. :blush:

Oh they also greet each other with “marhaba” and “ahlan”, both of which mean hello I think. But I’m sticking with salam for now lol.

^zain fi means aap theek ho :slight_smile:
Have you tried these oman chips? if not then plzz do & buy a family pack chote waale se kuch nahi banta :frowning: … spicy yum yum

Shukran

how can you be so funny…:biggthumb:

haha it was a joke :slight_smile:

My phuppo became wahabi in recent years. So when my mom calls her now and says “assalamu alaikum”, phuppo replies with the long wassalam. And at the end of the conversation, instead of the usual Allah Hafiz, she has started saying the long salam (huh? what? why?).

After one or two times, my mom felt embarrassed and obligated to say full salam to her. So now that’s what she does.

I can see why it can make things awkward.

I wouldn’t have given him the opportunity to point out my greeting etiquette. When he said, “Salam, how are you?” I would have replied with a smile: Wa Alaikum Salam, I’m fine, how are you? And after the greeting exchange, I would have asked about the other day and what happened there.
It’s not a setting where there are non-muslims in the group and you chose to address everyone with a “hello”. He was right to expect a proper salam, however, if I were in his shoes, I wouldn’t have made it an issue in the first meeting.

It’s not that the younger person should say salam first. Whoever comes into the room/gathering should be the first to greet the others.

don’t encourage him :nono:

I know what you’re saying queen…but people here I think get used a certain way of greeting others and mean nothing by it.

Regardless…I think correcting people in such a pointed manner like the guy corrected PCG is wrong. I think har baat karne aur kehne ka tareeqa aur mauqa hota hai. Ekhlaaq is also a part of Islam and there are even examples where the actual act of correcting someone has been shown to be in actions rather than words.

If someone feels the need to correct a “hi” in “assalamu alaikum” then merely be the first to say salaam…apko javab apke jaise hi milega: walaikum assalam.

Because she has the right to. Your mom doesn’t have to get embarrassed, but there is no law that says people can’t say a long salam or a hi.