Have you seen when people will correct a muslim who says “hi” and tells them they should say salaam instead? Is that appropriate for people to do, or just plain rude?
Re: Salaam
If the other is a burger bacha.. sure
Wsalam… well its good to tell…being muslims we should try to copy our PROPHET , who used SALAM , not the western ppl… you should tell them atleast once, if they start using it you will get Sawab for it aswell
Some people don’t respond to the “hi” with a lecture and just say the salam…thus placing the one who said “hi” in the position to respond with walaikum-as-salaam…and most of the time they do.
I don’t think this method is inappropriate or rude because the one saying salam is wishing you peace; what’s offensive about that? And if they say salaam rudely or to embarrass you…then it makes them look worse because your tone/attitude should be in accordance with one who wishes you well/peace. A lecture on the other hand, can be awkward and offensive depending on how it’s done and who it’s coming from.
what if you say salaam and get a shalom back? VAT THAN?
I’ve sometimes laughed this off at them by saying confidently “Walaikum-Al-Hi” or “Walaikum-Al-Hello”. They quickly figure out what I’m hinting at.
is not rude nor inappropriate.. it is much needed as our youth and even older generation have adapted this language.
when we see muslims, we should give and reply in full salam. what’s in a Hi hello? good morning? stupid parents started this trend of saying good morning at breakfast.. we never heard this crap growing up. why not start with salams!
also im guilty of this that’s why im reminding myself.. we should try our best to use jazakAllah khair instead of thank you. what’s in a thank you? thank you means nothing..!
Hello e mohabbat does not make any sense.
Aap sab ko meri taraf se salaam e mohabbat
Hello hay aap logo kay response per. Tsk tsk
I don’t think that’s rude. Why do one finds it rude when people are correcting him to follow sunnah? He’s probably telling you a good thing to do. Also, we all know that there is a huge Fazeelat on Salam in Islam. In fact, one should greet with Salam before someone points him out. I remember a woman, (probably an age of my mother), who used to drop her daughter in the college and would wait in the waiting area. One day, when I was sitting in the same space, she brought her grand daughter and (because I had a good alaik salaik with her), she introduced her to me, I found it really stupid when she actually asked her, “say aunty a hi…” and the poor kid said me a hi… after that she made me count her qualities and asked her to sing me poems and what not… after having had enough, I asked the kid if she knows the Kalima and she was quiet. She was at the age of, when a kid learns Kalima, surah ikhlaas and small ayats like Surah Kauser but the confused and complexed aunty (Yes I would name her that), taught her to say Hi, Hello, Twinkle Twinkle and Ba Ba Black sheep instead making her learn the basics of Islam. I don’t know why people do that and what to prove when they want to dress up their child in a western way, teaching them English things, working on their English communication skills and forget to first teach them about their own religion. I don’t say they do entirely wrong, but they certainly do wrong when they opt out the basics of Islam and teach them to behave in a more western style when greeting with others. I know the English skills are really important and it should be one of the learning parts of their kid but this shouldn’t be neglected that we are Muslims above all and being Muslim means, teaching your child the basics of Islam at his growing age. I would do everything and anything to make sure my child has a strong communication skills in both the languages but I wouldn’t ever want my child to stay quiet when someone asks him to recite a surah or answer a basic question like, who are we? Who is our creator? What is our religion?!!
Well why is there a need to correct people on what term they’re using to say hi/salaam? You could easily just say salaam, when someone says hi, and place the onus on the other person saying hi to say “Wa lai kum as salaam”. And then not even delve into a lecture on how they should be saying hi vs. salaam. Especially when you meet someone for the first time.
Example - happened today:
Me: Hi
Him: Salaam, how are you?
Me: I said hello the other day, but you didn’t reply, figured maybe you’re not interested.
Him: Well you could start by saying salaam.
I dunno. I found that ridiculously rude today.
I asked him if that’s why he wasn’t responding earlier, and he said no, he was just busy with work. I said ok very well. Then didn’t talk to him further.
I don’t know the person. If I don’t know the person, and my saying hello vs. salaam is usually just a casual thing. Often I say salaam, sometimes I will say hi, especially if the guy looks pretty westernized. Not deliberately, just sometimes I say hi.
Also another example. When I was in school, someone I said hi to, someone I have known for years and always say hi to.
Replies back with “You should say salaam, not hi”, then smirks like he’s got one up on me.
I think it was the way it was done that was flat out rude. I told him “Well I’m older than you, so Islamically, you should pay me respect first and say salaam first”.
I never spoke to that edited again.
It’s just rude. You can say it to someone you’re friends with I guess, if you notice they have a pattern of never saying salaam, but often times, you are in a public place, you’re around goray laug, so your knee jerk is to say hello, instead of salaam.
In fact, I rarely hear the muslim folks at work saying salaam to each other - they just nod and say hello, I never go up to them with a religious lecture. They’re not killing anyone with a hello.
When I get corrected at my hi for Salam, I just say., oh You mean assalam alaikum wa Rehmat Allah e wa barakatahu??
And they freeze .. And then I add
Janat muqam!
Dozakh haram..?
Khao badam?
Then see them shrink away wondering why they said anything to start with.
Well PCG. See, I read most of your blogs where you mention your choices, (who would you like to be your partner), almost every other day, you point out what’s wrong with the person that made you cut him off of your list. Likewise, others have their choices too. Maybe the one you were speaking to, is willing to have a more religious partner !! and to judge that, he concluded it through your greetings. He felt wrong about it and pointed you out. I know he made an immediate judgement and that’s why they say, not to judge someone in one or two conversations. Don’t mind but sometimes you do that too. This happened to you and you felt it (and you felt it right the way it happened), similarly when you pass immediate remarks towards other, won’t they feel how rude are you being? Remember the guy on dinner you said, you told him what he was suffering from?? Might he not be hurt? He must have been. So, all I want to say here is, its nature sweetie. And its preferences. You have your own preferences and so has he. I know saying Hi is a casual thing especially when one is brought up in such an environment where Hi and Hellos are kind of really usual.. but when finding a guy (formally for marriage/ arrange marriages), a lot of things are not same and people are judging you more differently than a guy who’d fall in love for you, would judge you for. Hope I made some sense ![]()
Yes, it is rude to say hi to Muslims. ![]()
Hi Diwana!!! Long time no see
Howdy X2!
…Just been here and there.
You could say that but still gives no one license tto judge. Khair queen you let me know. My jjournals cause you pain seems like - you can either not read or I’ll just put you on a block list so you can’t keep up with th. up to you.
I know it’s not teh question here… but tonight, someone said full salam to me, and like an idiot I replied “HIIIIIII”
Too much of harshness isn’t good for health. Sometimes its good to learn where one is wrong at. I am not one single person you talked about blocking off & believe me it wouldn’t make a difference to me, but you will close one more door to a person… how many people would you want to block or would want them to stay away. I am sure you’ve heard No body wants to be lonely and so wouldn’t you. I even understand you simply can’t help with your temper and there’s nothing wrong… its in your nature… but itni jaldi ghussa nahi hotay…everyone here is not attacking you dear… at least not me… so just don’t let a lot of negativity take place in you… I sometimes find you humorous and cool… and I like you more like that. Stay as much positive as you can…will help you in future ![]()