Re: Salaam need advice about moving back to pakistan
You could get a large house in many parts of the US for the price of a small apartment in NY..
Exactly. Try moving to somewhere like Dallas or Houston, you’ll not only be able to afford a large house but can also send your kids to a top private Islamic school if you choose. Your quality of life will be drastically different in various parts of the country.
move to gujranwala and all of your expectations will be met.
wish you all the best, do stop by to update us on the transition.
god speed.
I see a few hostile messages. Feel bad for homesick. His felony was asking advice here. But some of the members would have been good not showing up at all.
as far as your search for apna-pan goes, I totally understand what you mean. Whatever Pakistan is like, there is no other place in the world where a Pakistani can truly feel “at home”. Least a Pakistani like you it seems. Islamabad is a brilliant option. The kids are young, if you can secure a good job then there is nothing like it. There is a comfort in being surrounded by your “own people”. However corrupt or whatever they may be. And while you can look for decent upbringing situations in America/UK/West, you can do the same in Pakistan too (here I am not saying that Pakistan doesn’t have its vices ie gf/bf situations) but culturally it is still closer to what I sense you feel you want and need.
Yes I do believe your life/further generations would get lost in the patchwork of the West, like the irish and italians. Your kids are young. If you can secure a good job, schooling is great here and if your kids do well enough you can reconsider university options when the time comes abroad, or they can.
IF you can secure a good job, and IF you live in Lahore or Isb, then I think you won’t regret the move at all. If your wife is from here, she would feel better too.
Apna mulk apna mulk hota hay
cold fire, no hostility, I am just being supportive.
Dude its not a bad place to live.
Jitny sary karachi meen vegetation hy na jujranwala me utni one squire mile me mil jaey gi.
Jitny sary karachi me zaiqa(taste) hy na gujranwala meen meen woh ek street me mil jaey ga
Jitny sary karachi meen husan hy na(if there is any) woh gujranwala meen 4 larkion ky braber naheen..
dude duneya meen sab sy saaf peny ka pani wahan hy.
Above all my mom was from there ![]()
show some respect.
habshi whaaa?
I am being supportive because its fairly evident the OP is asking more for validation than advise
so I am giving validation and support.
as far as karachi goes, I have not been there since jan 99, thats how much it means to me.
Do you have friends and family here? Are you on good terms with them? Do you actively try to be a part of the Muslim community and do your best to lead by example? Simply taking your kids to Pakistan doesn’t mean you’ve done your job. Doesn’t matter where you live…its YOUR job to bring culture and faith to your family. I was born and bred in the US, don’t remember ever feeling like an idiot for not having a boyfriend, don’t remember having no feelings of apna-pun because my parents gave me a solid support system. The issue is not your location. I don’t think you’re happy with your life…maybe you need a change.
I went to public high school and then switched to Islamic school because my parents preferred it. I didn’t fail or flunk…went to college/uni and now own a small business. As far as living in a kafir country versus Muslim…well…that depends upon what you consider Islamic. I don’t think I’d ever be able to live in Pakistan. I grew up with a strong sense of identity and had no confusion about who I was. I was first Muslim. My parents made it a HUGE point to actually be parents…simply dropping us off at the masjid was not enough.
bechaara!!
The problem is , he has made few trips to Pakistan and all of his expectations and calculations are based on those short trips
c’mon mate - when you visit Pakistan - you get treated like a prince and the whole world revolves around you - go there and live at least for a year then you will know what fat lady sings ![]()
Actually u were not the bearer of my remark. Chill.
If you are really committed to moving back to Pakistan and your choices are Islamabad or Gujranwala, you should definitely go for Islamabad.
Most MNC have their country HQ there so finding a decent job will be less hard than in Gurjanwala. I’m using the term “less hard” instead of “easier” on purpose. It’s generally a quite cosmopolitan city and in terms of education for your kids you do have pretty good options in the capital. On the other hand it’s a relatively boring place compared to bustling cities like Lahore or Gujranwala.
You need to spend few days in Lahore & Faisalabad then. Night life, economical stability & security far out pace the capital.
at least desi food porn fantasy will be fulfilled to fullest, that’s for sure !
I don’t understand why some people are getting upset at me. I know we have all become dollar chasers here and it is difficult to get out of that cycle. I don’t understand why some people are becoming aggressive. Maybe it due to the fact that its a sensitive issue for many. I wish I was like some of you guys who are completely satisfied with being where you are; but for me, something inside me tells me that this can’t be it. This can’t be the rest of my life. I can’t just be chasing the almighty dollar all my life. These were my thoughts that I wanted to share and and ask if others experienced these emotions/fears. With everything else going in the world, we are going to be asked more and more to keep our mouths shut and compromise our deen in the west. I asked a couple of sheiks if we can stay here indefinitely, and the answer I got from all of them was a no. They said that you are partially responsible if your decedents become kafir down the line. I know at least two Pakistani guys who have become atheists due to college/philosophy. And don’t tell me we are not compromising the deen everyday. Whether its the missed namaz, or no namaz, or no namaz in jammat in years. Or the apologetic hey “I am a good liberal Muslim” not one of those other religious muslims with beards smirk some of us have to carry around. I can go on and on. We are in denial and the mighty dollar takes precedence, the rest are just excuses. I appreciate everyone’s opinions, however; but please if you don’t have something to contribute, don’t just act like a cyber-bully. What’s so wrong with Gujranwala? It is a good conservative city where women cover and family values are intact. Not good to make fun of any city. I appreciate the advice given by some of you. If someone has more insight/opinions/ experience..please share
Cold fire- I’m chillin already ![]()
Dear brother..
People are getting upset because they live in the west, fully content. When you say the lifestyle isn’t what you want, you are basically saying all those people are wrong/guilty or whatever. So they think you are dissing them n stuff…
It’s not being upset, rather we’re challenging your idea that living in Pakistan is the solution to the problems you’ve described.
*Jahan tak *you talk about apna-pan, sure living in Pakistan you will be part of a community of Urdu/Punjabi/Sindhi/Seraiki/Pashto speakers who wear shalwar kameez and are in majority Muslim.
But the temptations you’re trying to save your children from - losing their language, wearing jeans and T or other revealing clothes, dating, drinking, losing their religion, etc. - the possibility to stray exists in Pakistan as well as here.
College/University mein larki/larka West mein bhi ishq laraatein hai aur Pakistani mein bhi. Clubs, dancing, drinking - it happens everywhere. So don’t be oblivious to the tempations, deal with it.
Preserving one’s faith and way of living is a choice. I’ve made it living here and you and your children will have to make it there.
Oh and as far as living in the West making us “dollar-chasers” that’s quite a harsh accusation. Financial stability isn’t something to be mocked, not when in Pakistan bijli, petrol aur insaniyat keh mohtaaj hain log. *Jo insaan subah jo nikal tha hai, kya woh khairiyat se apnay ghar shaam ko pohunche ga, usse yeh tak nahin maaloom. *Don’t underestimate the desire for personal security.
Good luck with the move.
^ What she said ![]()