Was he a Muslim Saint?
Heard that he is equally popular amongst Sikhs and Hindus of Delhi?
Was he a Muslim Saint?
Re: Sain Baba
Was he a Muslim Saint?
Sain Baba? I am not sure I have heard of him. Are U talking of the Shiridi Baba who is revered both communities or some one else ?
yes Sain Baba of Shirdi. I think Star TV also made a serial on his life
Wallahu Alam!
But I heard he was muslim!there is a big temple of him in shirdi!
His famous quote is "Sabka malik ek"
Wallahu Alam! But I heard he was muslim!there is a big temple of him in shirdi! His famous quote is "Sabka malik ek"
I read that he also passed some years of his life at you Naagpur. I read that there is a Sain Baba Mandir near Rama Mandir Delhi and it attracts more people than Rama Mandir
yes Sain Baba of Shirdi. I think Star TV also made a serial on his life
Ekta kapoor and jitendra are devotees of sain baba along with tirupati balaji.
Sorry. He is Sai Baba, not Sain so I got confused. He grew up with a fakir and his wife but as a boy was a disciple of a hindu saint Venkusha. That much is known abt his early life. but he dressed as a muslim Fakir and lived in a mosque after his arrival in Shiridi as an adult. He gave the Hindu name Dwarakamayi to the mosque. The local temple priest, recognized him as a Muslim saint and greeted him with the words 'Ya Sai!', meaning 'Welcome Sai!'. His teachings were popular and combined the essences of both religions.
What does Sai mean? Is it a Marathi word?
I read that he also passed some years of his life at you Naagpur. I read that there is a Sain Baba Mandir near Rama Mandir Delhi and it attracts more people than Rama Mandir
Might be but one of my nanas relative(his phupha)got second job after burning a match box given by sain baba..
ham to sirf aik hi saeen ko jantay hain. saeen kay dost bhi saeen. :@:
Might be but one of my nanas relative(his phupha)got second job after burning a match box given by sain baba..
Ninja do you know people in Maharashtra who attach Sain / Sai with their names (as a devotion to Sain Baba) and when they build homes, they write on it 'Sain ki Kirpa'?
He was from Maharashtra. In his case "Sai" might be "Sayi" which was persian origin word give for sufi Saints or it could have been of Sanskrit origin which loosely means divine. How he got the name is not something that is historically confirmed.
In his day, he attracted both communities. Today, I am not sure how many muslim devotees he has but the bulk of his devotees are hindu.
we call "sai" as "sain" in Pakistan...mostly used for mentally challenged people now...
Why is sain attributed to the mentally challenged ? Does it mean any thing in the local language ?
Ninja do you know people in Maharashtra who attach Sain / Sai with their names (as a devotion to Sain Baba) and when they build homes, they write on it ‘Sain ki Kirpa’?
Ji bahot saare hain!
Why is sain attributed to the mentally challenged ? Does it mean any thing in the local language ?
Sain got different meanings in different parts of Pakistan. As Ali says in some parts (upper Punjab, it refer to mentally challenged people). I think it was initially attached to those who say something beyond the understanding of common masses (as in case of Sufi / Sants) and with the passage of time it is now restricted to mentally challenged people (whose conversation is also beyond general understanding).
In Sindh, Sain refers to elders and attached with those who are most respected. Like we say, Allah Sain.. Baba Sain, Adaa Sain (for elder brother).
Maybe because the “sains” on the shrines keep their appearance as such.
It is also believed that he worked as a cook during 1857 war and used to cook mutton biryani ![]()
... I think it was initially attached to those who say something beyond the understanding of common masses (as in case of Sufi / Sants) and with the passage of time it is now restricted to mentally challenged people (whose conversation is also beyond general understanding).
Kinda makes sense.:)