Saeed astonished over his omission from Test serie

LAHORE: Pakistan’s most experienced opener and arguably best batsman, Saeed Anwar, expressed astonishment over the decision of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) for not considering him for the entire home series against New Zealand , starting with the first One-Day International at Karachi from April 21. Talking to journalists Friday, Saeed said that he was fit for the two Test match series against the Kiwis but not available for the One-Day series as he lacked the match practice.

Saeed got his wrist injured in October last during the Sharjah Cup. When asked as to how he would prove his fitness, Saeed said that he had played some matches for the P and T Gymkhana and was having daily practice sessions at the PCB Academy ground.

Saeed confirmed that he had also informed the PCB about his availability for the Test matches. He said that now it was upto the board to consider him for the Test series or not. However, he said that the PCB had not informed him the decision about his omission from the entire series, officially.

The PCB chairman Lt. Gen Tauqir Zia Wednesday ruled out Saeed for the entire series against New Zealand citing fitness problems.

Saeed hoped that he would be invited to attend the training camp which would be set up for the Pakistan tour of Australia in June. He said that he had been in contact with the PCB panel of doctors about his fitness.

سكورپین کنگ
§©ö®Þïoñ_kîñg
Back In GupShup

We definitely need a fit Saeed back ASAP.

Originally posted by ehsan:
We definitely need a fit Saeed back ASAP.

u re right ehsan .. cause he is our world record holder batsman .. and i love to see him in non-stop action .

سكورپین کنگ
§©ö®Þïoñ_kîñg
Back In GupShup

I thought he quit cricket.
And what about his "daari"?

WatCh youR tHoughtS; they become words.
WatCh youR wOrdS; they become actions.
WatCh youR aCtiOns; they become habits.
WatCh youR hAbiTs; they become character.
WatCh youR chaRactEr; it becomes your dEsTinY."

Originally posted by Ali_R:
**I thought he quit cricket.
And what about his "daari"?

He never quit cricket.
About his dari, he had a daughter who passed away and due to that he grew up dari. He had only 1 daughter.

Oh I see...Is this some ritual?
Never heard of that before.
Then I must say he should be part of the team leaving for Australia.
Only if he passes the fitness test.

WatCh youR tHoughtS; they become words.
WatCh youR wOrdS; they become actions.
WatCh youR aCtiOns; they become habits.
WatCh youR hAbiTs; they become character.
WatCh youR chaRactEr; it becomes your dEsTinY."

[This message has been edited by Ali_R (edited April 21, 2002).]

I don’t think its ritual, but since he had only one daughter no other children he was dishearted and was really hurt so in order to get peace or be peacefull he turned to Allah Subhana Talah more deeply. Thats the only way you can feel peaceful cuz Allah is the one who gives or take life.

So Saed Anwar after his daughter passed away threw away all the CD’s, Stereo’s, Hi Fi’s anything not related to Islam out of his house and turned to Allah Subhana Talah more deeply to find peace.

He also said I won’t quit cricket cuz cricket has nothing to do with this and Islam does not say you can’t play cricket or anything, he said he love cricket so much that he would not quit till the day he can’t play anymore. I’ve seen his house in Lahore, he’s orignally from Karachi but moved to Lahore, he has a name plate on the gate of his house saying Saed Anwar Cricketer. This man just can’t get enough of cricket. I think cricket is his “dukhti rug”

http://www.gupistan.com/gallery/1/team19.jpg

[This message has been edited by Question (edited April 21, 2002).]

I want to see him back ASAP. He is the best player in pak team and one of my favs.

Imran Nazir and Saeed as openers? Kick ass combination but nothing will bring back joy of having Amir Suhail and Saeed bat together...oh well.

I can't believe people are discussing Saeed's 'Daari'. On another forum some pakistani friends started a thread like 'Saeed Anwar turns Fundamentalist' I was shocked to see this reaction. Religion is a very personal thing and no one has a right to decide about what Saeed is doing like growing his beard or trimming..People discuss his omission from Team, write a letter to ZIA saheb.

AK

Originally posted by Asif_k:
**I can't believe people are discussing Saeed's 'Daari'. On another forum some pakistani friends started a thread like 'Saeed Anwar turns Fundamentalist' I was shocked to see this reaction. Religion is a very personal thing and no one has a right to decide about what Saeed is doing like growing his beard or trimming..People discuss his omission from Team, write a letter to ZIA saheb.

First of all no one here in this forum is saying that Saed is fundametalist or anything. I just gave some info to Ali_r the reason behind Saed's dari.

That sucks! Pakistan should include Saeed Anwar Dammit!

Take Your Best Shot At Me

Saeed Anwar is a classy batsman and still have alot of cricket in him , Its not a good idea ommitting such a great player. We know that he is lacking match pratice but quality player like him can adgust anytime.Look at inzi he has been given numerous chances and is failing consistently still everyone is in support of his inclusion and believe in his capability and same goes with Anwar even though he is not even given a chance..

The great question arises on whose expense Anwar is gonna fit in the current hot squad?
My guess will be shahid Afridi cuz he is the only player whose not very consistent!but dropping him can be a tough decision nobody wants to drop afridi considering he is the most exciting player and can destroy any bowler.

They should not hurry to bring him back... no matter what he says or does, we want him 200% fit for the world cup... anything could happen from now to the World cup and losing him would be a gr8 asset...

They shouldnt care bout the test matches and other series but get him practice and ready for the world cup... thats it...

Originally posted by sherrybaba:
The great question arises on whose expense Anwar is gonna fit in the current hot squad?
My guess will be shahid Afridi cuz he is the only player whose not very consistent!but dropping him can be a tough decision nobody wants to drop afridi considering he is the most exciting player and can destroy any bowler.

I would drop Afridi in favour of Saeed Anwar anyday. There is no contest, one is a world class batsmen the other hardly qualifies as an international player. Afridi can every now and then destroy a bowler, Saeed does it consistently.

Ditto

Take Your Best Shot At Me

Typical of some Pakistanis to turn their back on a great cricketer and a great person like Saeed Anwar.

Saeed and Lubna had to suffer through a big tragedy when they lost their little girl. Saeed does not need to play for Pakistan - he has enough money to live the rest of his life comfortably but the reason why he wants to come back is because most of all, he loves playing for Pakistan.

Tauqir Zia is a fool and so is Wasim Bari.

Saeed Anwar is Pakistan's best batsman and the classiest indvidual in a team full of low lifes and back stabbers like Waqar Younis and Inzamam Ul Haq.

Saeed will not give up and will make his comeback and prove all these so called experts wrong. After which, I hope he turns around and gives all his doubters the finger and walks away from cricket.

Pakistan does not deserve a player and a person like Saeed Anwar.

he is a best person/cricket... no contest about it but they want him healthy for the world cup... these games dont matter as much as the world cup, they want him to give his usall 200% in the world cup...

**I can't believe people are discussing Saeed's 'Daari'. On another forum some pakistani friends started a thread like 'Saeed Anwar turns Fundamentalist' I was shocked to see this reaction. Religion is a very personal thing and no one has a right to decide about what Saeed is doing like growing his beard or trimming..People discuss his omission from Team, write a letter to ZIA saheb.

[This message has been edited by ehsan (edited April 22, 2002).]

Well, to be honest, the dari does have a bit of say in his cricketing life now...

A few weeks back he came to LUMS (lahore univ of management sciences) and we were all surprised that the only questions he answered were religious ones...

It would be a little unwise to break up the afridi/nazir opening pair just when its maturing.

u better not ask my opinion on this fundamentalist coz mera unko har buri gaaali dene ko dil chaahta hai...y da hell ppl call it extremest n **** ....if our prophet was today they would've called him same just for west....ahh man!!! this is ridiculous

~~Hum aah bhi karte hein to ho jaate hein badnaam~~
~~Woh qatal bhi karte hein to charchaa nahi hotaa~~