Saeed Anwar's Record gone! First double century in ODI

dah! cricket kon nahi dekhta :stuck_out_tongue:

you are right it was ganguly. jadeja was the one who congratz saeed. so that is why i remembered him.

lol, nahi i was a lil shocked key aapko players aur matches yaad hain :D

no its 194 out, Coventry 194*

Records | One-Day Internationals | Batting records | Most runs in an innings | Cricinfo.com

re: Saeed Anwar's Record gone! First double century in ODI

guys, pls. don't compare Tendulkar to Saeed. Even though the latter held the record, not in same class.

Query

Now will his 200 will be counted as 2 centuries or will that come under a different segment ?

Do you even read what you write. It helps sometimes.

Sachin scored his double century in 147 balls. He did not take 300 balls to complete his double century. His double century definitely helped India to win the game.

If Sachin is playing as well as he is now, why should he leave his place for a new comer. In the same vein I might as well ask why isnt Raina leaving his place for a new comer...

It would be counted as one century and one double century....

if any1 could've done it, it was him. him and ricky pointing came very close to the record a few times.

it will add only One century in his 100s count.. :)

tendolkar ny saeed anwar ka record toor dia tu kya howa faraz
apnay ghar ma tu kutta b sher hota ha...............

I got this sms last night from my friend and I was LOL..

in ODI no one hasv ever came close to his record but i tests ponting as near but still he needs 7 centuries i think to equal most hundreds in tests
s

excuseme !!!

bud might I add, Saeed Anwar was a gr8 batsman, no offence to Sachin but there was a time they both had a competition as to who was better thus they were considered to be in da same class, Saeed`s career got shortened due to a tragedy, so plz before u pass a judgement or say somin like dis get ur facts right :k:

re: Saeed Anwar’s Record gone! First double century in ODI

Guys, lets not compare conditions when Saeed Anwar did it and now, since these are different times and game and conditions are a lot different, however no matter what ppl say, it was a gr8 innings and whereever it was played no one can blame him for it, it was a gr8 innings and I guess if n e one deserved to break this record it was SACHIN :k:

If thats the case then all 100s should also be counted as 50s. Don't you think :p

:k: I watched the highlights, it indeed was a great inning by little master.

As far as crap of “if any one could have done this he is the guy”, I dont buy it. There was a time when even reaching to 125 in ODI was a milestone (250 was a safe and secure score). With bowlers being strangled in many ways and pitches in ODI becoming batting paradise (most of the time), we have seen batsmen crossing 150 mark time and time again. It was just the matter of time. It was just he matter of "when"and not “if”.

SACHIN TENDULKAR’S UNBEATEN 200 is a testimony to his fitness and commitment even as he heads for his 37th birthday. He is looking as fit, as focused and as formidable as he ever has, and his timing remains untouched by the passing years. Having played till the age of 39, I know that discipline, good, healthy living and focus can add years to one’s career. What I lost in pace and stamina, I gained in control and guile. In Tendulkar’s case, too, he has smartly sorted out his game. He might not have the eye he had in his late 20s, or the speed — those are the peak years of every batsman. However, Tendulkar has compensated for those areas with excellent shot selection and placement.
I always maintain that Test cricket and oneday cricket are two different areas, one cannot be connected to the other. However, Tendulkar’s rich vein of form in the longer version seems to have relaxed him and given him the freedom to play in an unburdened manner. Though I did not see the knock, the statistics I have got are staggering. The fact that he got the score in 147 balls itself is a huge achievement and by reaching 200 he bettered one of the best one-day knocks I have seen, by Saeed Anwar. The latter was one of the sweetest timers of the ball, and that knock in Chennai was when he was at the peak of his form. To have bettered that Tendulkar must have really turned on the magic with some scintillating shots.

Article - Imran Khan

Exactly. Times have changed, now cricket is totally batsman friendly. If a player like Coventry can score 194 runs, I’m sure someone will come along and break this record. Just a matter of time now.

There is no concept of double, triple or quadruple century in official ICC scores. All scores are counted as half century or century. After that its century only. Double and triple words are used for analysis purposes only.

Tendulkar does not need a feat like this to be declared a Legend but it is an amazing achievement looking at his age and the strokes that he played in that inngs.

Having said that with so many teams nowadays scoring 350+ and other chasing and coming close to it, I personally do not see this record standing for long. Today Cricket is for batsmen only, they have so many rules working in their favor plus most of wickets and ground suit them, which is why we see more teams scoring big runs.