Saeed Anwar: What a Class Act.

20TH One Day International Hundred. After not having played cricket for over a year, he is the highest run getter for Pakistan in the World Cup. He’s had injuries, family hardhips, and has had to deal with the Selectors stupidity and bias - yet has always kept his head above the water and he has always performed on big occasions. He did it in the Q/F and S/F in 99 with back back hundreds and again in todays game, he scored a brilliant hundred.

Pakistan lost the game - but it was the bowlers who lose us this match and not the batters..because the batters were led by a great champion in Saeed Anwar.

What a brilliant player he is. Congratulations Saeed Bhai - 20 ODI Hundreds..What an achievement and what a remarkbale comeback story for Pakistan’s Best Opener Ever.

Well said…yes Saeed Bhai chaa gae mashallah :k:

match ke baare main na he poochain to acha hai..ghamgeen ho jaata hoon :frowning:

True ...Congratulations to Saeed Anwar :) too bad he cudn't be the man of the match and win that gold watch. Well atleast he did his best until that Tendu started to bat!

a great performance by Saeed Anwar. without his anchoring innings today, pak probably wouldnt have scored anything above 200.

The knock by Sachin was brilliant as well. He made minced meat of our excellent bolwling line up. It was overall an excellent match. Shame we lost.

I am flying to SA to kill those suckers. Who wants to join me?

Saeed's innings should be a lesson to those "so-called batting stars" like Inzamam,Youhana,Younis Khan and Razzaq who have all been settled in the team for years now - and still dont have what it takes to score runs when the team needs them most or to fight it out in the middle and rediscover your batting form when things arent going right for you.

Saeed is probably 70% fit but the way he fought it out and ran those singles and twos showed once again what a class act and team man he is.

This is probably Saeed Bhai's last ODI appearance against the Indians - and true to his ability - he signed off in style.

Inzimam and Youhanna have produced most of their careers too. I don't think there's any lessons that need learning, just needed to find some form or get a break.

saeed palyed a gem of an inning, chanceless and middling everything. Great knock. :k:

An awesome century.

But let us not knock Inzi. Everyone has bad runs and poor form. Even Tendulkar was batting horribly before the world cup. Let us not be so harsh on people who have delivered big all their lives and are a bit out of form.

Exactly. They have had a bad tournament but that doesn’t negate everything that they’ve done for years up till now.

well deserved century by Anwar. He played an awesome innings.
bad luck for Inzi. He was looking dangerous though. My heart was broken when he was run out and walked by Saeed and look at him and said something like “meri call thi, yaar.”:teary3:

PAKISTAN zindabaad.

as a saeed anwar fan, i admit my eyes welled up with tears when he finally hit 100...after all that he has been through, including the loss of a daughter, it was a proud moment. even though we lost the match, i felt that his century was one of my highlights as a fan of pakistani cricket...what a moment...

SAEED bhai is the best :k: :hug:

i was literally crying when he hit his century and poor guy he was so tired :hug: bhaaga bhee naheen ja rha tha end mein :frowning: phir bhee century kee :jhanda:

aur inzi ko bhee koi kuch na bolay :mad: saeed and inzi r the two ppl who r my FAVORITE on the team :hug:

*Originally posted by TUMS: *
as a saeed anwar fan, i admit my eyes welled up with tears when he finally hit 100...after all that he has been through, including the loss of a daughter, it was a proud moment. even though we lost the match, i felt that his century was one of my highlights as a fan of pakistani cricket...what a moment...

Well said.

It was one of those special moments I was hoping for. I really hoped Saeed Bhai would comeback with style and let his bat do the talking as he has throughout his career.

His innings was such a special effort...but unfortunately everyone else let him down....mainly the bowlers.

Great Job by Saeed.

Saeed Anwar played ok but only Inzimam could have taken charge like Sachin did. And Saeed bhai ran him out. After getting his hundred Saeed got out instead of going on to punish the Indians. Sachin didn't get a hundred but he punished us much more.

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
Saeed Anwar played ok but only Inzimam could have taken charge like Sachin did. And Saeed bhai ran him out. After getting his hundred Saeed got out instead of going on to punish the Indians. Sachin didn't get a hundred but he punished us much more.

Well thats the difference between two.
One is legend and other one is great. !! :)

I doubt whether Inzamam would have done much - as for the run out it happens. Everyone who bats with Inzamam doesent trust his calls and Saeed was being careful....50/50 at most I would say. Either way, he made up for it with a brilliant hundred....and make no mistake about it..it wasnt the batting that lost this game..it was the "so-called best bowling attack in the world". Even the Kiwis would have bowled better than our bowlers did out there today.

Considering his handicap of age,excessive injuries,disease,and mental fragility from loss of his daughter Saeed was the best bastman in the world today. I was glad to see the level of respect he recieved from indian players..especially sachin after the game. On the other hand the comment from the loser ravi about his beard was very lowlife and ignorant. :nook:

Thanks Saeed for always being there for us when we needed you the most. :k:

Saeed bhai showed why he is one of the best players the world has ever seen.it was a great innings and he deserved the man of the match award but like he himself said he would rather have preferred to see his hundred lead to a win.inshallah we will see saeed bhai for a long time to come because we cannot succeed without him.he is our own little master.