SAD News: 5 unmarried sisters commit suicide

Re: SAD News: 5 unmarried sisters commit suicide

People, who like to give the islam spin, should remember that shaadi is sunnat NOT farz. And I am talking about concepts that are bigger than this thread and forum.

Other than that, our society if to blame needs to get its head out of the gutter. We don’t know the whole story so it might actually be the girls’ fault 99.999999% for trying to do a favor to their parents.

Okay…so I’d like to see the evidence to support this??

you are absolutely right everyone has problems finding rishta these days…divorced, single, guy, girl…everyone…but it’s also true that your socioeconomic status seems to have an effect on the quality and quantity of proposals available to you… I maybe wrong…

But in any case i still think no one should wallow in self pity

the opinion of GS members (including you) is not the voice of the world… But shayad agar bohot se log aapse sehmat nahin hain ho sakta hai aapki soch sahi nahin…after all harr kisi ki soch harr waqt harr topic pe theek ho bhi nahin sakti. Please is baat pe at least ghar farmaye.

long to short yeh hai ke I respect that you have your own opinion, but I (along with many others) do not respect your opinion please respect that fact and keep your opinion yourself.

And yes I said opinion…to you it may be fact to me it is just an opinion, other people’s facts/experiences maybe different than yours…uss hissaab se harr opinion fact ban jaayegi…but that’s not the case.

thanks,
lexy

[mod]​ I would like to remind everyone to remain on topic and remain civil with each other …please [/mod]

Inna lillahi wa inna ilaihee raajioon.

We have ourselves to blame for this. Marriage is supposed to be done to strengthen the institution of familyhood, and for the sake of Allah. But since we adopted the curse of making it into a shrewd business transaction, it has become a task to be accomplished instead of a blessing.

Rizq and success come from Allah. I wish we could all marry with character as the prime requirement and wealth as the least of it.

Its truly very sad.

Indeed !
Its v depressing n sad . n aise waqiye societies k liye sabaq hote hain sudhaar lane k liye !

As u mentioned , marriage is supposed to b done to strengthen the institution of familyhood n for the sake of Allaah, being a Muslim I must say , sb se pehle shetaan ki koshish hi ye hoti hai k kch b ho Muslim ki shadi na ho family na ho halal ki trf na ho etc , isey jitna mushkil kia ja sakey kr do cuz isi se tou Muslims ziada hote hain aur yehi uski dushmani hai !

N definitely jahan unki suicide afsosnaak hai , un k halaat Allaah hi behter janta hai , jo guzr raa ho usey hi pta hota hai , but suicide is from shetaani waswasa n amal n is a sin jiski muafi ni hai !

inna lilahe wa inna ilahe rajaoon…

same stuff, tabsraa, nothing ells.

i would want to ask a question here. how many of us attendet a marrige were dress of the bride itself is between 100 to 300k (RS) easy, forget the other stuff. DID we all know is rakam ma 2 gharee Larkiyo ke shadi ho sakte ha… but instead of looking in to this we still spend tons of money on our family members (brother, sister, son, daughter) weeding and are not ever bothered about others. Then why are we sad when we come across this kind of news? Just to discuss it and then forget about it and move on.. NOTHING more than that AND THAT IS SAD.

Reason #343543763586798794716256346 marriage in Desi society is effed up.
Seriously, marriage is not that important, and even if you do decide to get married only make it some grand event if you can afford it, dammit.
Also, there needs to be more emphasis on family planning and safe sex practices.

Not right. Just not right. :frowning:

The thing is that girls from below poverty line families don’t have the permission or the resources to actually earn a living and support themselves. In that case they would consider themselves a bojh for life if they believed they were never going to get married. This is a really drastic step even in that case.

That too. But society has a whole needs a big time shake up. Things cannot continue the way they are. In the Islamic Republic of Pakistan, practice of Islam is seen less in spirit and more in speech. It should be the other way around, and a balance needs to be found. There’s nothing wrong with marrying for a number of reasons, wealth can be one of those reasons because it’s just human nature. But when an entire society endorses Wealth as Requirement and everything else as “Plus”, there’s something really wrong. Everyone wasn’t a rich person Made In Pakistan. They become wealthy through hard work, and supportive families.

and the witnesses just watched them? :mad:

The reason for the five girls is because they most likely wanted one boy … Who would grow up and work …

Peace KKF

On one side you say it is sad, but then you also seem to be making excuses for their decision … Are you married? Will you marry a poor girl? … That is the way to make this better … No jahez is allowed Islamically … And no need for massive shadi … When men start to become men this problem will reduce.

Good point …

I think for those who can afford to do so … Get some money find a poor young man and woman in a community and pay for their marriage … If people start to do that it gets rid of the tensions at least in a few people.

This terrible news should serve as a reminder how important it’s in even the most impoverished areas of developing countries like Pak that girls, first, go to schools get an education. And, second, there should be employment opportunities available so that women can make a living; there should be no stigma for working women. In places like rural areas where job opportunities are scarce, micro-credit loans should be given to women so that they can, for example, start small-scale businesses like doing embroidery. By doing so, they can try to become financially self-sufficient and even help support their families, possibly improving their status and self-esteem in the process.

Maybe a stupid question but if they can’t afford a wedding how will they afford married life later?

Imo the emphasis should be on work and education, rather than the wedding..

A simple nikah costs next to nothing and things like dowry shouldn’t be encouraged..

Do you have statistics to back this up? The reality of the practice you mention is something I haven’t seen in anyone I know. I know of divorced men who have married women who weren’t previously married, but I don’t know anyone who’s done the opposite. Besides, even according to deen, there wouldn’t be anything wrong with a divorced woman marrying a previously unmarried man. I would say this incident would be more related to jahez demands from a potential rishta’s family, which they would not have been able to fulfill.

Shud I say sad or do I need to utter the word plain stupidity. The later is better as they had hardly passed that age where they can’t get a rishta. The act seems out of pure fantasy where girls dreaming about come prince charming. That is why tolerance and patience is considered to be a great virtue in Islam.