Re: Sachin V/s Inzi : Who is better?
Tendulkar jaisay batsmen to hamaree galee mai mil jayen gai :p
Captain1 bhai,
I do hope you are not Miandad in disguise!!
or under cover:D
Oh yaar kya tendulkar tendulkar lagaaee huee hay...he only plays good straight drives and that's all. Anybody can play those. I enjoy watching Gilchrist and Sehwag more than I enjoy Tendia. Over-rated batsman. Jab zarooret nahee hoti tau khelta hay aur jab runs chaahyay hoN tau sight screen kaa masla, idher khaarish oodher khaarish.
Thats my whole post summarised in a para.
I have no problems when you put him on par with Gilchrist, Sehwag, Inzi, Jayasurya. but please for Gods sake not Afridi.
Most of the girl fans would put Afridi on pahaaR with Sachin, no?
Enffff!!!! said about 10dulkar and Inzi, please both are great and outstanding players for their country, Yes Sachin is going through a bad patch which came around a bad time (Pakistan tour), and Inzi was on a roll, dont forget guys what happened to INzi in WC03.
No one can argue this fact that Inzi has won many matches as a backbone of Pakistani cricket team but then again who was left with him to support YoYo? ( yes he is supporting as much as he can) apart from him look at the team experience its close to nothing.
Sachin was tagged as Mr. Rescue but now he is just a player and that tag moved to Shewag, problem lies in the support its cruel and when Pakistan was visiting India all you expect is thrashing of your opponent and nothing less. well bottom line is Sachin was all out of sorts and Inzi was pushed to the wall with all the pressure of India tour which this time proved to his success.
As funguy mentioned, if you think hitting elegant cover drives gives one the right to be called the greatest batsman in the world, then please include me in the list as well. Tendulkar is over-rated, and that's the end of the story.
You shmuck, when I mentioned Afridi, I was reiterating my point of how consistency should be looked at. Even Mr. Inconsistent Afridi can hit a monstrous innings once in a while, so why can’t Tendulkar hit 98 off 70 odd balls against us? Brush up on your reading skills.
I think Sachin and Inzi are two different kinds of batsmen and should not be compared. If you really have to, compare Inzi to Dravid. Both have the same qualities. Dependability, humbleness, a whole variety of shots, less 100s more 50s and most of all matchwinnability.
Err...Sorry Dravid can't hit big like Inzi....
The guy needs to eat. Really. That’s one big flaw in his one day batting.
CheGuvera care to elaborate?
*What’s to elaborate? Have you not seen Dravid bat in the last ten overs of a one day game? The guy cannot slog. He finds it hard to hit fours and sixes. He finds it hard to accelerate the run rate. Really. *
Tendulkar aur Afridi pahaar per akele ![]()
Aap kiun itna pareshaan hau rahay haiN, apna banda tau Pathan hay ;)
Thank you for stating the obvious…![]()
^LOL
2 true
Here is a summary of Sachin’s recent Record:
In the 2004-2005 season, Sachin Tendulkar has been finding it difficult to accumulate runs. He has been struggling with injuries and an indifferent form. In the nine matches that the Master Blaster has played till now, Sachin has scored only 227 runs at an average of 25.22 with one century (123 that he got against Pakistan at Ahmedabad). It is a downward slope for the Indian batting genius who otherwise averages a very healthy 44.43 in the 348 one-dayers that he has played with 38 tons and 69 half-centuries to his name! In fact in 2003-2004, Sachin had been getting runs easily. In the 19 matches that he played in, he scored 915 runs at an average of 50.83 (including three tons), double of what he has got in the current season till now! But then that is the cross that Sachin has to bear - Anything related to him gets magnified, be it the successes or the failures. It is always a treat to watch Sachin on song and even more fascinating to witness such greatness struggle!
Sachin Tendulkar had revealed that 15 years of international cricket had taken a heavy toll on his body. His injured toe, he had gone on record to say, will never heal. His performance at the World Cup in South Africa where he made 673 runs, the most ever in a single World Cup, and helped India reach the final was achieved through the pain barrier, as he struggled with a finger injury that eventually required surgery. Tendlya has already stopped playing his inside-out shot, which fetched him runs by the bucketfulls because of a weak back. In order to compensate for this, Sachin has been shuffling across his stumps to hit the ball square and opened himself to leg before decisions and the chance of the ball getting a top edge and lobbing in the air
Even the most die-hard Sachin fans will grudgingly agree that the Master Blaster has not won or saved many matches for India. Find it hard to believe? Check out the following instances. The one that sticks out most is the Chennai Test against Pakistan in 1999, when Tendulkar scored 136 but India lost to Pakistan by just 12 runs. Then against Zimbabwe, in Harare, 1998-99, India needed 235 runs to win. Sachin’s contribution to the chase was 7 and India lost by just 62 runs. Against Pakistan, Kolkata, 1998-99, India needed 279 runs for a win. A 100 plus-run opening stand was followed by a collapse, Tendulkar scored 9 after a first-ball duck in the first innings. Result: India lost by 46 runs. Most of these instances have been erased from public memory by subsequent spurts of brilliance—though not while chasing a target.
The Wisden Cricketers’ Almanac 2005 did little to encourage Tendulkar. “Apart from a glorious, nothing-to-lose 55 against Australia on a Mumbai terror track, watching Tendulkar became a colder experience… After his humbling 2003, he seemed to reject his bewitching fusion of majesty and human frailty in favour of a mechanical, robotic accumulation” This statement angered a lot of Sachin fans. The cricket’s Bible has only underlined a question that’s been hovering over Tendulkar for some time now: has the superstar been reduced to a passenger in the Indian team? In the last 11 Tests that India has played, Tendulkar’s 664 runs have contributed just 13.7 per cent of the team totaL
not that the Greatest Indian Cricketer ever needs any defence. Statistics can be tweaked. For instance Sachin has scored more than 13,000 runs in limited overs cricket. Now he had crossed the landmark of 10,000 runs in Test cricket at Eden Gardens against Pakistan. He has 38 Centuries in limited overs cricket and has already equaled the 34 Centuries record with Sunil Gavaskar. If a team is not able to win more matches with a player of such class and genius it reflects very badly on the caliber of the rest of the team!
As compared to Brian Lara, Sachin is struggling in the present season. While Sachin averages 25.22 in the 9 ODI matches, Lara is up there with an average of 51.28! Overall Sachin’s batting average in one-dayers is marginally ahead of Lara’s. While Sachin has an average of 44.43, Lara enjoys an average of 42.56. But more tellingly, while Sachin has played 348 matches, Lara has played only 251. In terms of centuries Sachin is much ahead with 38 while Lara has 19
Interestingly, Tendulkar has scored 22 tons when India has been setting the target in the one-dayers. Fifteen out of these 22 tons have resulted in a win for India while the seven ocassions on which Sachin scored a ton batting first, India lost! Moreover, when India has been chasing Sachin has truck 15 centuries, out of which 13 have resulted in wins while in two matches that Sachin scored a ton while chasing, India lost. The remaining 1 century at Chester-le-street vs England in 2002 ended with no result..due to rain.
Not related to the topic but still has ‘Inzi’ in it. His captaincy has improved in the last tour. :k:
Inzamam praised for captaincy in India
Cricinfo staff
April 20, 2005
Inzamam-ul-Haq: humility helped him succeed © Getty Images
Inzamam-ul-Haq has said that the challenges faced by Pakistan on their tour of India helped the team and his captaincy develop, and added that humility would help them succeed again. His progress was also noted by Imran Khan, among a number of ex-cricketers, who reiterated that Inzamam’s batting in the series was on a par with any other player in the world.
“I would only say this tour helped me tremendously. I have gained what I might not have learnt in 50 Tests as captain,” Inzamam said to the Nation in Pakistan, where Pervez Musharraf, the president, had announced a Rs5million bonus for the team. “We have to keep our feet on ground, stay humble and collect all praise, well-wishes and prayers because these will help us in future.”
Inzamam had spoken of the tour’s gruelling nature towards its end, and now said that finally he and his team could relax. “I admit that after nearly three months, I slept tension-free. It has been an extremely tough and tension-filled series and only those involved in it can feel those pressures. My boys have gone through tough times and now they richly deserve praise, rewards and appreciations because they have earned it through a dedicated and committed performance.”
His captaincy was a point of discussion, but a more positive discussion than two months earlier, when Imran expressed dismay at Inzamam’s leadership in Australia. “I had said that he did not lead from the front in Australia. But in India he looked more involved and captaincy seemed to have matured and improved him as a batsman as well,” Imran said to AFP. "For me the high point of the series was Inzamam’s captaincy from the front and Sourav Ganguly’s failure to do the same for India.”
In his column, Ravi Shastri also spoke glowingly of Inzamam. “After losing the first two games, they [Pakistan] played above their potential, and for this due compliments must be given to their inspirational captain Inzamam, whom I called a ‘maha smooth cheez’ [a smooth guy] at the presentation ceremony. As captain, batsman and ambassador for his country, Inzy was just superb.”