When was last time he won a match for India batting 2nd under pressure.
No, the one in Sharjah doesnt count? I was not born then.
It was again ‘poor old dependable Rahul’ who saved India’s ass.
When was last time he won a match for India batting 2nd under pressure.
No, the one in Sharjah doesnt count? I was not born then.
It was again ‘poor old dependable Rahul’ who saved India’s ass.
Re: Sachin Tendulkar
^ hmmm... March 1, 2003
dravid is a match winner, sachin is not simple as that!
app abhi tak woh match nahi bhole..
Lekin wahan bhi,It was Yuraj and Dravid which finished it off. When he left match was still not won and pakistan has hopes of getting back into the game
You gotta be kidding me! You really think chasing 276 on a South African pitch in a World Cup super eight phase match was not pressure? Do you honestly think Dravid and Yuvraj won you that match?
I can understand where you are coming from by questioning Sachin's game under pressure but you can't deny the fact that he has set up the platform in many of India's chases. Sure, he rarely hits the winning runs but he takes the team to be able to hit the winning stroke!
He almost did in that match against Pakistan in 1999. As soon as he got out, the rest of the side folded with victory within sniffing distance.
When I talked about chasing under pressue then it means that ability to finish it off. Take it all the way. He is played many innings but always leaves unfisnished job for someone else. Sometime they do it and some time they dont. Case in example is one by Brahamchari above and many others.
Absolutely unforgiving thread..
India reached last worldcup final due to one player. Sachin Tendulkar. India was so much out of confidence and shape that even winning against Holland was looking tough. He played innings after innings. ..
Now he was down with injury and coming back in form slowly and we have this thread and that's also by somebody.. who has nick name... Fair & Balance
Cricket is a team game, with different players playing different parts. Sachin comes in early in the innings. He is more likely to set up a stage for victory rather than take the team all the way. Dravid, (like Inzamam,) comes later in the innings (lower down the order). At that point, he is likely to take the team all the way, and many fans will end up thinking the whole victory is due to Dravid (or Inzi's) sole efforts.
Having said that, if you look at it over a number of years, most likely Tendu didn't really play all that many "match-winning" innings as Dravid did. But that shouldn't take away the credit that Tendu has participated in a lot of victories and did his part up in the order.
I totally agree Faisal bhai. This is not to take away anything from Sachin. But even if coming as openor I have seen much more innings of that type from Ganguly.
People here know how big a Sachnin Fan I am. What you said is 2nd paragraph is what I am refering too.
Rahul, being supporter is good thing. But worshipping a player is bad. In ODI sachin did play some match winning innings early in his career but lately he always underperforms when batting 2nd and we have some crucial match. For Test matches if nothing is said then it is better. He is yet to do a Laxman( Kolkatta), Rahul(Kolkata,Adelaide) or Inzi( Many occassions) in his career. This is one thing that his distractors will always have against him and rigjhtly so.He doesn have a single inning which can be counted as TOP 100 innings of test cricket. This is a big question mark on a player who has played for 16 years and will probably retire as the guy with most centuries and most runs in test career. There has to be one. I hope he does it soon.
One good way to get pakistanis to appreciate Sachin Tendulkar... get an indian to write garbage about him. ;)
Sincerely,
Captain Lota
I never expected any positive posts about sachin from pakistanis but this is something really surprized me … ![]()
i dont think Pakistanis have any personal vandeta with sachin, i think Pakistanis are very knowledgable about their cricket, all pakistanis unanimously would rate dravid better than sachin, and lara is loved by all pakistanis he would be selected in a heart beat over sachin!!
Infact there are many … and for me his best test inng is against pakistan, chennai test. He had back pain, one could feel his pain aftar his shots, then he got out on 136 (something like that ) with india needing @ 20 runs to win , and he was termed biggest looser … pathetic ppl are there all arround…
one thing i fail to understad, why we need to abuse one person to appreciate other.
Yes, they did win India the match by staying calm and focussed. Tendulkar the choker had left yet again with the job halfway done. I wouldn’t blame him though, the delivery by Shoaib was a beauty.
Doing it against pie bowling attacks of Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, and New Zealand doesn’t count Faisal bhai.
you forgot to include pakistan in that list …
You are hilarious. Anyway, look the records up. I’m too tired from proving time and again how big of a choker Sachin is.
Thats exactly my point. He never managed to finish one.
Yep..that was his best inning which ended up for a losing cause.Says a lot.
I have to agree with “the game” on this one.
Unlike Lara, who has played some innings that would rate as top 5 in test history. No, I am not talking abt his 375, 400, 501. I mean his 153 not out that took Windies home and his 213 in previous game, not to mention his 277 at Sydney, and all against the greatest bowling attack in the world.