Sabeel e Hussain

How many of you have contributed / participated setting up Sabeel during Muharram.

It was a custom in all sects even (some Hindus did contributed in it) in our home-town.

Re: Sabeel e Hussain

I have never participated in this, but I have heard about the same from my parents. In the 90's due to the increasing sectarianism in Punjab, the roads leading to the Imam Bargahs used to be closed from both sides to ensure safety of people. Most of the routes of Zuljinnah are in interior Lahore, not in those areas where we used to live.

yes most of the sabeels are on routes of Jaloos, but some people do arrange that on other routes as well. distributing milk, milk-rose, rooh-afza with lemon, was an attraction of Muharram days in our childhood.

I remember, it was common in our town as well, I am not sure about now though. A few years back the tolerance was much more than today.

I remember it was common during our childhood, but some people used to avoid drinking from sabeel with strange ideas, like they got something mixed in it. Nowadays, as Muharram comes in winter, didn't see that activity to full bloom.

Have you heard about chai ki sabeel?

never heard of chai ki sabeel, usually sharbat, lassi and cold water etc.

check out from your friends living on route of Jaloos in Andron e Shehr Lahore. :chai:

ok, where is the jaloos in karachi?

In Karachi, traditional route is from Numaish Chorangi (Mazar e Quaid) to Kharadar Via Sadar / MA Jinah Road. But Sabeels are also seen in Shia majority areas like Ancholi.

It looks like, you read my idea... khair... I think, once or twice in childhood.... I think, you forgot other two things which commonly happen in Muharram.

1. Kalay Kapray pehnan
  2. Haleem banana raat ko

Konday is in Rajab not in Muharram.

Yes black in quite in now adays. I also got a black kurta..... nikalta hoon kal.

In different areas niyaz contain different items. Haleem is not popular in rural Sindh. They give niaz of 'channa-pulao'.

Kuch log 10 Muharram ko niyaz kay silsaly main biryani bhi bhejtay hai...
Ancholi main to scene hi alag hota hia... sheermal, taftan, sharbat, biryani, bat raha hota hai....

But they do faqa on 8th to 10th Muharram. On 10th, they break this faqa after Asr.

han.. aur matam, zanjeer zani, koyla par chalna bhi to hia....

I have never participated in this

never drank water/lassi/chai/ sharbat from a sabeel?

yes these are parts of Muharram.. but its not a common practice among all sects. We are talking about common things (where people from different sects participate)

I know those all routes each and every place from where this all starts and ends and the haveli too their main haveli been there many times as well

I think once drank water from sabeel near Data Darbar

Is there a chai ki sabeel during winter?