saag

i have been craving this for sooooooooo many months now..

i cant find fresh mustard leaves anywhere… i am goign crazy cus im just dying to have some

a relative reckons i can get the can saag and bhoonify it in a way that it’ll taste just the same… but i dunno. Im a bit reluctant to do that.. but if i dont get any in the next 2-3 weeks, i think im just gonna have to do that

Re: saag

So you get frozen saag? That's pretty awesome.

it comes in those tins.. i dont think its frozen.. just premade..

You can find frozen and canned spinach at your grocer's.

The fresh ones are the best...Sadzzz...do you have a Farmer's market or something in your area?

The next best choice is frozen and last resort would be canned.

I hope you find saag soon...I know how you feel...I love saag and have cravings for it too...lol

hehe… i know.. im like craving it as if im pregnant.. which clearly im not.

Ive tried several fresh fruit and veggies places… and even most of the desi shops around my area. I think im gonna have to get mum to find it and make it for me..

i sooo love it with parratte and makhan… :yummy:

Grow your own, it's easy. Get some mustard seeds from the supermarket, sprinkle in a little plastic tray filled with compost, water, keep in a dark cupboard for 2 days then on a sunny windowsill and water.

They grow really quickly.

U can also get the ready planted mustard leave pots in supermarkets with the salads, but they r tiny. Put them on the window sill and allow the leaves to overgrow.

Broccoli gives more or less the same taste as mustard leaves in saag. my mother uses that. the saag is usually fine

You can find fresh mustard leaves in Chinese super markets.

^ ive tried them too fara... thats what mum says

RpuayHalwa.. thanks! as soon as i move into my more permanent home, I shall do that :) perfect idea

^ hope you manage to get some. I absolutely LOVE saag!

Sadzz, if you can find "Ahmed" saag (canned), you HAVE to try it. I remember we used to get it from this desi store on Sydney Road, and it was to-die-for! I used to heat it up on the stove, and then fry some ginger and paprika flakes in oil, and garnish over it. Once they ran out of them, we never got to have it again. To this day, I look for "Ahmed" saag, even here in Canada.

I know it's not the same thing, but if you make spinach with broccoli, it gives a similar kinda taste. Just make it plain (and the consistency of saag), without any meat. Do the tarkha thing with that as well, and it's prett yummy.

What if u put a bit of mustard paste in normal spinach, would it taste similar?

broccoli wala saag kaisay banatay haiN? kissi ke paas hai recipe?

^ broccoli ko saag main dal daitay hain aur normally sag ki tarah banatay hain.

sadzzz, in the little pind that i live in, i found saag in the local farmer's market. Maybe try those if youhave them in your area? No where else have I ever seen it before.

I like palak better than saag.

Sadzzz, spinach is easy to find in the grocery store. We use the frozen packet. But "saag" contains a mixture of spinach and mustard greens. And it's the mustard greens you're looking for, I think. If they don't have mustard greens at the local supermarket, then try a fresh farm produce store......or local desi market.

I once heard that adding broccoli raab to the regular spinach gives it the taste most closest to 'saag'....
Anyone ever tried it...??...How do you cook it,I mean what are the proportions of both...??

This thread could have been started by me i feel the same lol
I tried fresh saag but it just doesn't taste the same as the on my in laws make in lahore, i have been given fresh saag by people yhat grow it too and went to soooo much trouble to wash chop n cook but it tasted bitter nothing like sarson ka saag. I was also thinking to try the canned variety. Saddz did you try it then, oops i just noticed this thread is from 2009!!!

eeeeeyuck!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I don't like saag. I prefer palak.

*And I just scrolled up and noticed that I'd already posted this. LOL...oh well...at least I've remained constant.

My mom uses rapini and it tastes very similar to mustard greens.

in my home three kids of saag were favourite...the best that i liked the most was chane kaa saag with new baajre kii roTii...the least favourite was bathuvaa kaa saag and somewhere in between the most favourite and the least favourite was chaulaaii kaa saag with makke kii roTii...

...i had chane kaa saag with baajre kii rotii during my visit to India this year in March after roughly 15 years. it tasted so yummy! :)