SA tour/ Inzi new captain, Rashid retained, Mushtaq recalled.

I would like to see the following team to play SA in the ODI's:

1. Hafeez/Butt.
  2. Yasir Hameed.
  3. Youhanna
  4. Inzi
  5. Younis
  6. Malik/Razzaq
  7. Rashid
  8. Mushtaq
  9. Shoaib
  10. Sami
  11. Gul.

Ehsan bhai, i dont think they will play Mushtaq in onedayers and both Malik and Razzaq will participate in onedayers!!

Hafeez
Yasir Hameed
Youhana
Inzi
Younis
Malik
Rashid
Razzaq
Shoaib
Sami
Gul

My ODI team:

1. Hafeez
  2. Yasir Hameed.
  3. Youhanna
  4. Inzi
  5. Younis
  6. Razzaq
  7. Rashid
  8. Saqlain Mushtaq
  9. Shoaib
  10. Sami
  11. Gul.

and test team:

1. Faisal Iqbal
  2. Yasir Hameed.
  3. Youhanna
  4. Inzi
  5. Younis
  6. Shoaib Malik
  7. Rashid
  8. Saqlain Mushtaq/Mushtaq Ahmed
  9. Shoaib
  10. Sami
  11. Gul.

Saby it will be good to have at least one quality spinner in the team against SA in the ODI's.

^^ But Ehsan bhai wont it seriuosly shorten our batting line up?

It's a catch 22 situation, Mushtaq might get us two or three quick wickets as well

I think both Hafeez and Malik can bowl effectively in one dayers and I would keep Mushy back for the test matches. Saby is right our openers are not established enough to shorten the batting line up, if we had a more reliable top order I would agree to including Mush as he is a match winner.

I would like to have seen Salman Butt given a couple of games against BD, I doubt he'll be risked against SA. Ntini and Pollock will provide a great test for Hafeez and Yaasir, we should find out what they're made of in this series.

wohi tu, wiasay hee we have a brittle batting lineup as Xtrme pointed out, 5-6 tu forun hee out ho jaatay hain pata bhi nai chalta :hehe:

5-6 ka pata nahi chalta to 6-7 ke kia chances hayn?

Well, 6-7 main yeh hai ke aksar hee late order kuch recover ker leta hai :)

*Originally posted by saby: *
Well, 6-7 main yeh hai ke aksar hee late order kuch recover ker leta hai :)

Then why not get rid of first 5-6 players ;) .... na train ka pehla dabba hoga na accidents hon gai ;)

but Train chalni bhi tu haina :hehe: agar 5-6 players na hon tu means train ka pehla dabba hee nai, doosra dabba kharay reh ker kya karega :wink:

I think the line up should be
Salman Butt
Yasir Hameed
Yousuf Youhana
Inzimam-ul-Haq
Younis Khan
Shoiab Malik
Rashid Laitf
Abdul Razzaq
Shoaib Akhtar
Mushtaq Ahmad
Mohmmad Sami

I think its time we play a regualr batsman at the opening slot instead of Hafeez, he has failed to deliver consistently as an opener. This is a strong batting line up with batting going all the way down to Razzaq at no.8 and Shoaib is also capable of some big hits. We have 5 bowlers and Shoaib Malik has been impressive with the ball too latley. He doesnt give a lot of runs and chips in with a couple of wickets, so I think he'll be ok as the 5th bowler. Plus he goes through his overs very quickly which will be helpful with Sami and Shoaib's long run up's.

I agree with LM, Salman Butt or some other opener should get chances too. Perhaps Hafeez has taken his position for granted and unchallenged.

Overall a good choice with the exception of the new skipper, everything else sounds reasonable.
Nice to see Mushy back, What about Saqi, I think he is a better one day bowler then Mushi.
Making Shoaib Malik 5th bowler will put a huge burden on him, bowling 5 overs and chipping in with the wicket is his main priority, I highly doubt that he can bowl 10 overs and doesn't give away 50+ runs, I want Saqlain to bowl.
About having 8 batsmen, whats the point of including 8th player who can bat when the rest of your team doesn't do well.
And you never know when guys like Shoaib or Gul have a bad day, so going with 4 specialist bowlers and 2 part timers would be the wise thing to do.
South Africans have been known to be troubled by the spin, we should go with 3 spinners in one dayers, Saqlain should play in place for Razzaq.

One Day

Mohmmad Hafeez
Yasir Hameed
Yousuf Youhana
Inzimam ul Haq
Younis Khan
Shoaib Malik
Rashid Latif
Shoaib Akhtar
Saqlain Mushtaq
Muhammad Sami
Umar Gul

:k: balanced squad!

So, ladies and gentlemen... Is it the first time in the history of Khel Khilari forum, that everyone agrees that the squad selection***** is ok?
Amazing!

*****Umair's constant whining about sacking Reashid as captain, notwithstanding. :)

A decent balanced squad this one. Nice to see rashid back in the lineup. I hope this captaincy issue sorts out and Inzi can stay @ the helm for 3-4 yrs. Consistent changes in the captaincy will take our team no where, and we know all too well abt this, dont we ?!

I feel sorry for Rashid, he deserved to continue as captian, but I guess a person as upright as him cant continue that long as the leader of a pakistani team! Anywayz, @least he’s back in the team instead of that moin guy.

Squad looks pretty gd, i wonder who picked it up, coz i dont find that kind of smarts in aamir sohail! Mushi bhai is back n all eyes will be on him. Lets hope he comes back with a bang. Gd luck to Pakistan on this tough tour. Victory would be even sweeter because of all the mess the s.africans have created before the tour.

Go Pakistan Go!

:jhanda: :jhanda: :jhanda:

It agree it is a balanced squad. I think now is the time to say enough of rebuilding and lets deliver results with this squad. We dont have a very impressive record agaisnt South Africa and now is the time to start improving it. Although they didnt make any friends by pulling out of the tour at the last minute atleast they agreed to come.

I was just reading a statment from KCCA and which stated that it doesnt seem like South Africa is touring Pakistan, seems like they our touring one province. I think PCB should have given a match to Quetta or Hyderabad or some place like that. First of all I think its unfair for South Africa to demand where they would like to play as we didnt whine going to their ****ty country which has too mcuh security problems it self. Karachi is our largest city and I think it has the second largest stadium in the country.

Anyway I think its good that they are touring and that we have picked a balanced squad. Inshallah the team will produce results to make us all pround. I think Shoaib Akhtar, Shoaib Malik and Yasir Hameed will have to play a major role and step up if Pakistan is going to win. YoYo and Inzi are in fine touch and I think its time Younis Khan steps up and play a big innings. He has the potential and talent, hopefully this time he will convert those 40's 50's to 100's.

*Originally posted by LahoriMunda: *

I was just reading a statment from KCCA and which stated that it doesnt seem like South Africa is touring Pakistan, seems like they our touring one province. I think PCB should have given a match to Quetta or Hyderabad or some place like that. First of all I think its unfair for South Africa to demand where they would like to play as we didnt whine going to their ****ty country which has too mcuh security problems it self. Karachi is our largest city and I think it has the second largest stadium in the country.

Agreed! I think a match shd have gone to hyderabad. internationals used to be played there, but off late nothing's been hapening there. and ya balochistan needs more xposure as well. there shd be more grounds in sindh and balochistan. and ya what happened to gujranwala!?