Rumour: Shaukat Aziz to be sacked !!

A wrong person to be made the fall guy?

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,20867,21411588-2703,00.html

Bhutto waits in wings as axe hangs over Pakistan’s PM

• Bruce Loudon, South Asia correspondent
  • March 20, 2007
    NEW DELHI: Pakistan’s polished Prime Minister, former top Wall Street banker Shaukat Aziz, was in the crosshairs last night with reports that Pervez Musharraf will make him the fall guy, as the President tries to find a way out of the Chief Justice crisis.

In a deft piece of political footwork, the President sought to create the impression that in suspending Chief Justice Iftikhar Chaudhry and referring misconduct charges against him to the Supreme Judicial Council, he was doing what he was constitutionally required to do after receiving written advice from the Government headed by Mr Aziz. And amid speculation of renewed contacts between former prime minister Benazir Bhutto and the embattled President, who is facing his biggest challenge in seven years, there were suggestions Mr Aziz could be axed.

General Musharraf has sought publicly to create the impression that the genesis of the crisis was a reference from the Government regarding the misconduct allegations against the Chief Justice.
Since a midnight meeting between Mr Aziz and General Musharraf at the President’s Army House residence in Rawalpindi, rumours of a sacking have been rife. Yesterday, General Musharraf attended a dinner at the Prime Minister’s home, with government supporters, where he said he was “unhappy with some members of the cabinet over their mishandling of the crisis and with some others who kept aloof from the situation”.

Meanwhile Mr Aziz, confident that the Government would emerge unscathed from the crisis, has declared that “those planning to instigate the people against the Government will face ignominious defeat”.

Some analysts have suggested that Ms Bhutto, long suspected of behind-the-scenes contacts with General Musharraf, may be emerging in an even stronger position to strike a deal with him.
Ms Bhutto lives in exile in London and Dubai, but with her party commanding widespread support, she is believed to be anxious to return home to take advantage of the crisis.

C. Raja Mohan, of the Rajaratnam School of International Studies in Singapore, an astute observer of developments in Pakistan, yesterday wrote of a new dynamic unfolding in the country. “With the sense of the big moment at hand, Bhutto is making her moves fast and furious. Bhutto is seeking to inject herself right into the middle of the political storm in Pakistan,” he wrote. "Musharraf and the army have to swallow the bitter pill of conceding a lot more to Bhutto now than they would have had to a few months ago.
“Bhutto, meanwhile, has to balance the attractions of returning to power … against the dangers of sharing it with the army, on an unequal basis.”

Re: Shaukat Aziz to be sacked !!

I am skeptical that an australian newspaper can get an info whihc Pakistani or british media cannot. Therefore, i doubt Shaukat Aziz will be sacked, atleast not for the time being.

Deal between Bhutto and Musharraf seems imminent. What a team it will be. Mother of democracy-Miss Bhutto and father or Army General Musharraf.

Nisaar teri galyoon key ay watan!

khoob guzray gee jub mil bethein gey dewaanay doh.

..good choice of words

i hope that even if he is made the fall guy that he is made the finance minister because that is where he can make the most impact and has made the most impact, he should be given enough power to write the economic policies. I have the utmost respect for Shaukat Aziz, going back to the days I worked in citicorp in US and had infrequent interactions with him, but have never been convinced that he could be a good prime minister based on the nature of politics in Pakistan.

Yes. He should continue as Finance Minister. If he is not or does not, then it will point to how much Musharaf had been weakened by the current crisis.

I hope that this is just a rumour and that Shaukat Aziz remains in power as the government leader.

But if he does leave office and tries to return to the private sector... imagine the resume he has!

Interviewer: "What is your past leadership experience?"
Shaukat Aziz: "I was the head of government of a nuclear power"

Maddie. sadly he wa salwaus seen as an outsider, out of touch with Pakistanis. While this is hogwash, perceptions can be critical and to this day not many people have the warm fuzzy feelings for him, maybe because major ethnicities dont identify wth him or he did not rise through the ranks of existing politial parties.

the politics in pakistan are too much about personalities and not policies. and while he is very good in the policies front, ppl just dont connect with him, which is a real loss.

But the man is a genius, I say free him from all the other crap he has to deal with and let him focus on making Pakistan into a economic power.

There are many companies who are worth more than the country of Pakistan

but with the exception of halliburton, they are not nuclear powers :D

He did seem to be better, but the more he stayed in power, the more he seemed to adopt the ways of the corrupt govt, such as with the KArachi Steel Mills.

With colleagues like Chaudry Shujaat, no surprise.

As the saying goes 'you lie with dog's, u get fleas'

If he is sacked as Prime Minister, there is no way, and I repeat, no way at all, he will be associated with the government in any kind of role, including Finance Minister.

I don't think he should have accepted the position of PM, anyway. Being FM means you can be a technocrat, do a good job, and survive. Being PM means you have to be savy in a political circus and have some kind of support amongst the masses. People who are smart in a technical field (to rise as an investment banker in a top bank, you can't be dumb) often (not always) have trouble connecting with people of lesser intellect.

i agree, I think the impact he made as an FM was much greater than that as a PM. your last words are very telling ( I took theliberty of taking out the paranthesis)

People who are smart in a technical field often have trouble connecting with people of lesser intellect

and of course our govt and opposition is full of those ppl i.e. the lesser intellect kinds. ppl that a smart technocrat like shaukar aziz could not connect with because it inlcudes ppl like Wasi Zafar in his corner, qazi and other assorted idiots in the other corner.

Re: Rumour: Shaukat Aziz to be sacked !!

He is definitely up there with Shoaib Khan, mubashir hasan and Mehbub ul Haq as one of the most influential finance ministers in Pakistan's history. Unfortunately he will now be remembered as the Prime Minister who was in office during the third open assault against the judiciary.

According to Najam Sethi, initially Musharraf's people tried to disown responsibility fr the reference and say they did it on the instigation of the PM's office.

well lets see where this ends up :)

:smack:…let this rumour stay a rumour :bummer:

i am just having fun with the rumour. I mean there are other rumours that BB is in negotiations with the pres to get back in the country, kinda strange that she blasts him on fox news while she is busy making bckdoor deals :slight_smile: ghunni..

If Mush has any smarts left he will never make deals with BB. Can you imagine BB coming in as PM and actually OBEYING Mushi's directives? Not only will she start telling Mush what to do, she will start Bayaan baazi about how Mush is not letting her do anything. And then there is Zardari Mr. 10%... besides everything else, I wonder who he'll get into a fight with this time around.

Its true Pir. There is some behind the scene deal going on. Just today our former misinformation minister was referring to it in his usual way (On Geo with Dr. Shahid Masood..Live call in).

“wo log jo is crisis kay zariye semi final khelna chahtay hain..balkay wo log to… baat yeh hai kay..wo log tao quarter final tak bhi nahi pohanchay..ab wohi log is crisis ko bahaana bana ker semi final khelna chahtay hain or ball bhi apnay pass rakhna chahtay hain”

Dont even ask what the question was…I dont know whether to laugh or cry so i’ll just laugh :rotfl:

PCB chairman nasim ashraf resigns…good :snooty: