"Rules" of tape ball cricket

If you are a true pakistani AND a dude you must have played some cricket at one point in your life. You aren’t pakistani if you don’t meet the criteria above..joking.

Anyway, I play tape ball cricket here in the states all the time. Atleast 2-3 times a week. I am obviously not the adolescent anymore, and neither are the people that I play with…BUT we ALWAYS end up bickering about goofy rules in tape ball cricket. here are a few examples…IRSHAAD HAI:

“oh its not a no ball…he ducked”

“bring the bat, i want to re-check, and re-mark the WIDE ball lines”

"guy 1: Dude you hit the ball in the back area, we OBVIOUSLY agreed that there is no run when a ball is hit in that area

guy 2: Yea but it went from INFRONT of the pole…therefore its valid"

etc…

So what do you guys remember about tape ball battles. Bring there here! These are the popular trouble starters, but I’m sure there is more as I can’t remember them all this moment.

Re: "Rules" of tape ball cricket

"Peechay ka run nahi hay"

and offcourse - "Ghar kay andar jaiey tu OUT"

Re: “Rules” of tape ball cricket

oh yesssss
did you every play the BALL - BALL ka match :faizy:
back in the school days, the ball would be bought with money collected from both teams, and the winning team got to keep the ball.

Those were the good old days, the daily allowance of Rs. 0.50 was considered respectable, guyz getting Rs. 1 or more to take to school were considered RICH

mid 70’s

late 80's and early 90's too :)

1) Tang par lagai out
2) BHAATA Bowling NO ball

we recently played tape ball, and there were 5 of us. so for one team, one half of the street was allowed for runs, the other half (where the strong player, when he hit the ball, it wouldn’t go) wasn’t allowed for runs. if it went there…you were an automatic out :phati:

oh and if you hit the ball, and it goes up in the air, it’s perfectly catchable from top of the deewar. a simple catch out

Classic thread,

Automatic wkt too. :D

Although I have not played taped ball. My high school had 2 proper cricket pitches, one for seniors and one for juniors, we would always play with a real ball on the side strip even at lunch times.

In the parks here we use eitehr a windball or more often a real ball, with the accompanying rule of only "spin" for safety reasons.

Cricket in America eh?

"t_ _ _ _n main maar, lbw nahi huaa koee baat nahi"

LBW's off is another park rule. :D

Body pay Doo times lagne ki out hai !

thatz a funny one 2 innit ?

sure is.

we never used such nonsense rules mind you.

:omg: Classic! :omg:

wait what's tape ball when they put electrical tape around a tennis ball to make it bounce like a cricket ball yea? well that's what we do here, kinda ghetto yea lol :\ is that what you all are talking about?

Houston is known for its giant parking lots. so...on most weeknights, many huge parking lots with good lighting are filled with people playing tape ball cricket.

On weekends, there are about four or five proper real cricket leagues with about 10 or so teams each...and thats just Houston, Texas.

www.houstoncricket.com

Good to know mate.

playing in tunnels is even more fun :D if it hit the wall at this point it's out...this point it's a 6er. no gujaish for a 4 :p

• no bhatta ball
  • no runs on leg side ? ??
  • count the damn steps!!!
  • no run behind wicket

black tape ball... call WIDE they say no it's BLACK BALL YAAR!!

hahah.

(where is the list of icons)

IF A LATE ARRIVING PLAYER IS TOO GOOD OF A PLAYER...THEN...
yeh banda late aya hai, isliya yeh bowling/batting nahi karay ga..sirf fielding is mach kay liyay.

and there's the everpresent confusion over the calling of no ball.

and ofcourse..the CHEATING UMPIRE! lol