Roza ?

So in some areas in Russia roza will be 22 hrs
Denmark21 hrs
USA Egypt Germany and many other places 16-17 hrs

my question is … why cant muslims scholars define a certain limit on roza i.e 12 hrs…

it is just not practical once roza is above 12 hours…

after 12 hrs you will be hungry enuf to realize how poor people feel..so why kill yourself for 18 hours

plus after 12 hours, most of the people either sleep, watch movies to pass time, fight with each other coz of weakness and what not

more muslims will fast if roza is around 12 hrs

in past centuries, one had to rely on sun to decide what time it is…we dont have that problem any more

Re: Roza ?

Our roza is 19 hours these days and I haven't done any of the above you mentioned, let me assure you that. Didn't watch movies, didn't go to sleep after Zuhr and certainly didn't get myself killed. Thirst is the main thing I struggle with because it's roasting. Other than that, perfectly hatti katti MashaAllah. We'll survive, aap fikar nahin karein. :p

you are an exception not norm in that case...i never said you will be killed...so dont make it dramatic...but any normal person will struggle with a 19 hr roza and will not be able to perform his normal office duties (which he shd no matter what..he is getting paid to do that..in west office hrs are tough and work is taken very seriosuly)...unless you have saudi culture where everything is shut down in ramazan for all practical purposes..

and it is not abt work only...question is what are incremental benefits after 12 hrs? are you not getting all spiritual and physical benefits from 12 hr fasting? that is why we have ijma and qayas....to align our religion with realities of time....we can trace time to seconds now..so why keep following 1400 yr old tradition when they had to rely on shadow of sun

you did not watch indian movie...good for you...tell this to millions in pak who do that between 5-8PM!

and you are hatiee katiee....good for you.....so happy for you....you sure you not overweight?

aap POPE saab se darKhowast kar ke Qur'aan aur aHaadees meN taraameem karvaa leN...:D

pope aaj kal gujranwala gya howa hai! rozay rakhnay!

if it is clearly defined in Quran..then we cannot change it. I understand it but if there is some room for scholars, then i dont see anything wrong with it..after all we dont say our Salat prayers by seeing the sun physically ..

Bhai jan, if we started fasting for 12 hours, we'd be having iftar at Zurh time. o_O We're supposed to fast till sunset because Allah said so. That pretty much ends the discussion unless you're all for amending the Quran and making up your own rules. I mean why don't we pray Isha in the afternoon then to save us the hassle every night cuz we be like sleepy n stuff.

ok so looks like your math is also very weak! not sure why wud you do iftar at zuhar...5AM-5PM would be the most logical choice

anyway i already said that if it is clearly defined in Quran..then we cannot change it. I understand it but if there is some room for scholars, then i dont see anything wrong with it..after all we dont say our Salat prayers by seeing the sun physically ..

and i also know islam is religion of nature and based on logic....fasting 18-22 hours does not make any sense. the purpose of roza is not to put human beings into pain but to make them go through a spiritual journey, as i see it. thx

If you or anyone else is allowed to decide on the timings, what's wrong with me saying let's have iftar at Zuhr?

By the way, 5 PM is still Zurh time for us. Asr doesn't begin till 6:10 PM.

because then you want the whole muslim world to do sehri at 1AM!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

not sure where you are but for majoirty of the muslim world zuhar is still round 12-2

do u realize u r adding more meat to my argument?

And why on earth would I care when Zuhr is for the rest of the world?

You're telling me to fast according to the prayer timings in let's say Pakistan?

Yes, that makes so much more sense than what we currently do i.e. follow our local timings.

i know you are talking about Ijtihaad in Islam...Ijtihaad has to be in light of Qur'aan N aHaadees...Ijtihaad does NOT equate to COMPROMISES!...

according to Qur'aan....fasting has to be observed between DAWN and SUNSET!...PERIOD!
If there is no distinction between day and night then there is an Ijmaa among ulemaa~ that you can follow saum timings to the nearest place where there is this distinction evident.**

i never said that....read my first post...all i said was a 12 hr window. you brought zuhar and what not into it.

anyway...no need to discuss further as it has been made clear to me that Quran has clear instructions about sehri and iftar. I was not aware of it.

and oh by the way.....allah karay aap hamesha hatti katti hee rahain!

thx

Shukran! Off for sehri now which we’ll always end at fajr! :hehe:

There are some clan of Jains (Hindu) who fast for ten days straight, and only drink warm water. I know at least one such person. If they can do it, why can't Muslims?

Because Muslims have other muslims always dragging them down from adhering to the faith, sometimes in the guise of "not practical in today's times". Tragic.

it is written very clearly in the Quran

وَكُلُوا وَاشْرَبُوا حَتَّى يَتَبَيَّنَ لَكُمُ الْخَيْطُ الأَبْيَضُ مِنَ الْخَيْطِ الأَسْوَدِ مِنَ الْفَجْرِ ثُمَّ أَتِمُّوا الصِّيَامَ إِلَى اللَّيْل

"Eat and drink until the white thread of dawn becomes distinct from the black. Then fast to the night." (Qur'an 2:187)

so if there is a sun rise and sun set you are supposed to observe fast till then. there is no room for interpretation

there are many other verses i am sure you can search them out on your own.another one for you PD

“If you obeyed most of those on earth, they would lead you away from the path of Allah. They follow nothing but speculation – they are only guessing.” (Qur’an 6:115-116)

There may be certain special cases but 12+ hours of fasting is not such a big deal. In fact those are some of the shortest ones in my part of the world, the shortest being around 10 hours. The longest ones I know are about 18 hours. There's nothing wrong with getting some sleep in that time if one needs. Besides, I've found that when you're not fasting, you go few hours without food, it gets tough. During fasting, you hardly feel it.

Peace pheonixdesi

1) Did you know it is Sunnah to sleep after dzhur and that the sleep of a fasting person earns them reward too?

2) Did you know the original fast of the Muslims was to eat once in a day, but was reduced to between eating anytime between dusk to dawn, by the Holy Prophet (SAW)?

3) The purpose of the fast is that it is devotion to Allah (SWT) ... It is not to teach us what it feels like to be hungry, although it can have that affect. Other affects it has is that it genuinely increases our spiritual focus when done properly.

Yes hungry people are more cranky but the whole point of this is to exercise more patience when we are least equipped for it. It is easy for a person to be patient when he is well fed, well slept, but the idea of the fast is ACTIVE resistance to the urge of anger and to remember Allah (SWT) whenever we feel hungry, knowing He is the source of our nourishment not the food.

It is only through the extreme conditions that you cite that true spiritual uplifting can occur ... But your suggestions about taking those favourable conditions away?

*parai shadi main abdulah dewana.