Roza kushai.

Share your memories of your first roza/fast.
In Pakistan I remember many families used to celebrate first roza of their kids with lot lf fan fare. Iftar Party , presents etc etc . Oh yes the photo in the newspaper too.
Mine was not this eventful. My daughter fasted on first of Ramazan this year. I told her all that but she did not think it was a big deal , so no celebration . The only things special, I did for her was to give her some money as gift after Iftar and BBQed some baby back ribs specially for her which she loves. Her mama made lots and lots of iftari stuff of her liking.

Re: Roza kushai.

:naak: and noone celebrated my first roza
:hinna:

I was just going to ask about this.
I don't remember mine being very eventful but I intend to make a big deal for Noor.
She is 6 this year but I don't think that she can make it through a full day.

How old is your daughter Mirch?

I was 5 or 6 when I had mine .. mom made lots of iftaari .. that was about it ... no celebration

She turned 9 a few days ago. It was still hard for her to fast for 15 hours.

Your daughter is 9, and she’s fasting?! MashaAllah!

Embarassingly enough, my parents never used to wake me up for sehri … they thought that we were “too young” to be fasting :o… so us kids would wake each other up and go downstairs, united… they only got used to the idea of us fasting when i was 18 years old :vivo:

My daughters get all happy and excited, and when they hear me and Mr Maroush go downstairs for sehri, they creep down the stairs behind us…we’ll feed them something light and put them to bed after… they inevitably forget about their fast around afternoon time… they’re just too young.

i think i was 9 when i had my first big people roza. not the chirri one. i remember my mom waking me up for sehri, and making me eat that paratha (with a side of the chappal :clown:) and i’m half asleep, and the azaan is just about to happen. then tehre was a big feast, for which i had to stay in the room the whole day while ammi and our maid prepared for it in the kitchen. everytime i ventured into the kitchen i was sent back. quiet boring if you ask me. then it was raat, and my entire dad’s side of the family came. i dont remember if i got any gifts :hmmm: i think i did.

i dont remember mine,but mawiz is 7 and as its is our 3rd roza ,so is his:D well on his first roza i made everything which he named and wanted to eat ,then i gave him cash and his dad bought him PSP.when i asked him HOW WAS UR DAY ,he was like EVERYONE TREATED ME SOO NICELY :omg: so far we didnt make a big event like normally people do in pakistan.aaahhh i miss pakistan:bummer:

i can’t remmeber if we did something big for my bro. aww poor kid! his must have been here in TO, and not pakistan. maybe we should have his roza kushai now :hmmm: i mean, it’s ok even if you’ve been fasting for years, right?

I think I never had the big roza kushaii :hmmm: just a normal roza with some little gift and iftari of my choice.

I had a roza kushai when I was around 9. It was huge and I got lots of presents, money and my house was packed with people. My grandmother held it and for sehri she had me eat khajla and pheni. For Iftari, she sat next to me, made me say the dua, fed me the khajoor and kissed me on my forehead.

Man, I miss her...:)

I was 7 when I had my first Roza. I asked my parents that i want to fast but they thougt that i was too young for that so unho nain mujhay sehri k liay nahin uthaya and i was so angry that i declared roza on that day without Sehri (Aath Pehra). We were living in Multan and it was summer. and on top of that i played hockey on that day so i was almost fainted near aftaari but some how i survived the whole day :@:

Well uss k baad ammi abu sudhar ga’aiy aur mujhay sehri k liay uthanain lagay :hehe:

Main nain kissi ko gift shift ka moqa he nahin dia :hmmm:

I think I am decided now.....

I will try to let her do a few "chiri kay rozay" this year and do a proper roza kushai next year insha-Allah.

Maine pehla roza tab rakha jab main 8 saal ki thi,
mere liye koi gift shift nai the :frowning:

Aur tau aur, maine jab iftari hone tak aik ghanta reh gaya, apna roza torh diya, :teary2:

I dont remember my age when I had my roza kushai but it must be young cause from 8 I started keeping all the roza's.
I dont know how it happens in pakistan never seen one in pakistan
In mines we had a big party . poorey khandaan ke daawat thee.
naanijaan had brought a dress for me aur mujhey choti khala ney pehnaya tha & they brought flowers too & all the khaals & chacha's & dada etc gave gifts .
itney sub ke baad I dont remember ki aftaar mai kya kya thaa uss din :D

When I was 8 & kept all the roza's in that ramadhan then naanijaan ney sooney ki ring pehnaye thee.

No one celebrated mine either :crying: Let us cry together :naak:

Thats adorable :cheegum:

May Allah SWT grant your grandmother Jannat, Ameen. Its so sweet the way you have so many lovely memories of her :hugz:

My parents threw a bit a small party (close friends and family) for me on my first roza, we had family and friends over and I got presents.

It was at my taiyas house. i got 80 bucks.

Mashallah many people and their kids fasting from young ages. i thought though that fasting is farzz around the time a child hits puberty?

^ It is. But people usually think its good if a kid gets a taste of what fasting is like when they are slightly younger, that way it'll be easier for them to get into the habit when it is actually farz on them. Plus, kids just love the whole experience so its hard to keep them away, they find it so exciting :D