My rotis are usually oval … but it’s pretty good for a guy, I suppose ![]()
p.s: ![]()
My rotis are usually oval … but it’s pretty good for a guy, I suppose ![]()
p.s: ![]()
As you know I am chara chaant person I tried once and made a mape of pakistan instead of goal roti so I gave up. Now using egyptian style khubs
That's funny, Salman!!! :D
Thanks everyone for sharing your experiences..
After reading all the experiences here..i think that i shouldn't feel frustrated ..all i need is practise basically and after a while i'll be fine..what i am thinking is kay i should atleast make one roti everyday ..and hopefully i'll improve..
thanks everyone once again :)
Use elephant atta ...secret to make perfecet chapati :D dam de dam
kuch logoun ne keh diya haye...
par let me add my opinion... :)
base is well kneeded aata,
good round pairaa's...
try to kneed the aata not too dheela, that can avoid the chipakna off the aata....
Jab aap paire ko beelne Jaati haye na, to use either aata, or maida on it, it makes it easier if you use maida, par zjaada na lagaana.. warna khaane waqt mehsoos hoota haye ke zjaada mada lagh ghaya haye...
I am making roties since I was 11 either 12,
to ab tak seekh ghayi hoon, round roties banaana... par if the aata is dheela, I make teeri roties... I just cant help it then... :)
paraathaa's with dheela makhan wo bhi mushkil se banti haye,. I use frozen makhan, and then slice with a knife pieces of them off and then put it on the pairaa's....
I think ghar waale's like my paraatha's . atleast they say so... :)
hanie me impressed yar
Yes, the only ‘trick’ is practice. My mom was gone to Pakistan for 3 months…and guess who had to make the roti?? ![]()
I guess it’s just the thought of making roti which makes me run away from it, but once I actually start making them, it’s quite fun.
My dad’s always been a great support, as well. No matter what country the map was of, he had to compliment by saying “beta maza agaya!” I slowly got to making them round. It’s weird 'cuz sometimes they turn out all nice and sometimes they just refuse to be round. What’s up with that? ![]()
That reminds me of an incident while mom was in Pakistan. I was getting late for college and dad decided that he felt like having aloo ka paratha. I was like
… He assured he’d help out. He did. It took me an hour to clean the kitchen afterwards. Both of us were covered with aata! The “parathas” didn’t look anything like parathas. We couldn’t get the darn thing to stick together with the layer of aloo. ![]()
Well, whatever it was, it didn’t taste so bad. Dad was so proud of us both.
Now I can at least say I’ve made aloo ka paratha!!
Oye zaalimo kiyoon bila wajah bachchi ko preshan kertey ho!!!!
Hey Qrius...sweet chap!! That is no big deal .... making a round roti IS NOT genetic .... I'lll tell you how!!
Like hanie . knead the aata a bit hard, not too loose specially when it has added bran or it goes lousy too soon.... leave it for fifteen minutes.
Now the secret of round roti is in the paira ..... if you randomly pick a handfull and make it into a ball .. there goes your wish of making a round roti in the bin!!!
So ....
when you pick a handfull to make a paira.... you flatten it a bit and then press all sides individually into the centre ( if you know what i mean) and then make a ball.
now flatten it and put a generous amount of dry flour all around .... use the rolling pin on one side and again rub some dry flour on it before turning it and yet again put dry flour on top again.... !!!
Do that completely in four or five turns ... never press too hard with the rolling pin.(and try making small rotis first)
When your tawa is hot ( always use non stick) put the roti on it. As it changes colour slighty ... turn once....... let it cook completely on the other side and then only once turn again to cook it from the second side.NO MORE THAN THREE TURNS.... :) yesss!! and press with a clean cloth ( carefully) if you suspect it isn't done well!!! If your roti doen't turn into a ball of hot air... you could shoot me on the spot...!! :D
I was given a lot of this crap about how it is a gift to be able to make round rotis .. but since the day i learned to make a good paira , i didn't have trouble making a round roti.
thanks once again sweeties :)
i'll keep all the views when i try to make roti next time :)
i cant make them.. I end up making australia’s or pakistan’s map *crying… sometimes USA *crying
roti halke haath se bailo.. infactthe roti should be turning clockwise as u are bailing the roti.. an that can only happen... (atleast with me) when ur haath is reallly halka on the roti
one more thing if no one has mentioned it if u have made the ata fresh then leave it in the fridge for like 15 mins to settle down it makes it abit firm :p
hmmm.. reminded me of this…
http://www.gupistan.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=18740&highlight=making+roti
qrius, hunny, i would love to help, however, i am in the same boat as you, so… i actually started learning how to cook this past summer-fun stuff, but rotis i have been trying to do since i was little-but i don’t do it often. Now that I am at college, mom sent me with salans and rotis to keep in the fridge-its just not the same
i miss my mama’s fresh cooking-esp since ramadan is coming! I realized how spoiled I am-most ppl eat naan b/c its easier-i prefer roti:snooty:
thanks everyone for your help.. i thought to update you folks on my progress..your tips really helped me
Not only i can make better rotis now..but i can make parathas too..and parathas are much better than rotis..and i can make different types of atta stuff now. Today i made methi wali roti and i am so happy ![]()
Thanks once again ![]()
I love home-made chappatis (rotis) and I tried making 'em a couple of times too. The only thing I don't like about the whole thing is the "flying flour". I use flour to keep it from sticking to my hands while doing the "clapping" and the flour would disperse all over the darn counter and kitchen. I am a clean-freak and I almost got a heart attack when I saw aaTTaa all over the kitchen floor.
Are there any solutions to my problem?.
I HATE making rotis. Try to get out of it more often than not. The heat from the 'tavva', the dough and flour sticking to the nails and hands is enough to gross me out. Once in a blue moon I will manage a to make a couple of edible pretty rotis but thats all! Parathas r always good though.
same here , i am not good in Roti making :o
those afghani serventes in pakistan makes perfecet rotis :k: i wish i could leran how to make good roti from them .maybe next time ![]()
assa bhi hai ke roti bannaNay se hee zeada bether hoti hai ,our agar aap meri tarah kabhi kabhi roti banatay haiN to ofcourse sahi nahiN banaye gee but people who makes roties everyday wo sahi bana saktay haiN .
Aur agar aata bhi khud he laein ho to kia bola karein ke dukandaar theek nahin tha? ![]()
interesting answers…aap loug rotian khud banate hain? mashallah
main to idhar order deta hoon..udhar roti tayyar… Ah :love: