I would like guppies to share their experiences..expert advice/frustrations whatever they feel like
I have problems with roti making and it seems that i will never be able to make a perfect roti like my mum..it discourages me at times
I can never make round rotis..i have tried rolling them and then cutting the edges to make them round..but that’s not the solution. Sometimes they just stuck to slabs..so i have tried putting extra raw flour..and i have tried putting roller in the freezer before rolling so that it doesn’t stick..but still it does. Another thing, sometimes they are not done or over done..so i have even experimented with the burner levels..but still..
*Originally posted by Qrius: *
I can never make round rotis..i have tried rolling them and then cutting the edges to make them round..but that's not the solution. Sometimes they just stuck to slabs..so i have tried putting extra raw flour..and i have tried putting roller in the freezer before rolling so that it doesn't stick..but still it does. Another thing, sometimes they are not done or over done..so i have even experimented with the burner levels..but still.. :(
-Hopeless Roti Maker Qrius-
I have that problem also. I just say to myself that it doesn't need to be round, just has to be edible :)
could it be a natural gift, this round roti making? .... if yes then i think im being lucky, not that im very regular at roti making magr gol ban jati hain aram se... and what i have observed is that *practice * is the key to success in this regard, thats what i've heard from ammy and my aunties :)
To prevent them sticking on th slab u can add more flour and the medium to high flame is good for them , low flames tend to make rotis stiffer as it takes longer to cook...
keep up with ur practice, itna mushkil kaam nahin hai :)
practice makes a woman perfect. I started making rotis when I was in the primary school :) I am serious. My father wanted me to learn and I learned and he wanted me to make chapatis for him and I made and don't ask what i made then but yes he never said anything and I guess that was the source of encouragement for me.
My ppl would say I make very good rotis because they were round and very light unlike those thick and heavy ones. But apas ki baat hai, try to make thick and big ones. Eisi nazook rotiyaan warna bohat jaldi hazam ho jati hain or zulm to ap par hota hai na kay banatay raho or loogon ko maza aa ta rahay.
Like everyone else, I had a tough time getting the rotis round in the beginning but practice makes perfect. My mom literally made me make rotis continuously to get the hang of it, and she is against the use of bailna so it was all done by hand. Concentrate on your paiRhas, start out with small paiRha's and gradually increase the size as you get the hang of it. PaiRha's should be made well, meaning you should 'round' it really well by your hands. Then flatten it out in raw atta with your hand, turn it over and flatten it again. Hold the flattened paiRha with your fingers, and using your fingertips stretch it lightly by going around and around. Make sure you evenly distribute the atta so the middle part of the roti isn't too thick and the edges should be pretty thin compared to the rest of it. Then use the bailna to evenly flatten it out, i use my hands to do it. When it's pretty flattened out, then lightly coat your hands with raw atta and transfer the roti to one of your hands, then using the 'clap' motion stretch the roti out to the desired size. Then put it on the tava, lower the bottom part first and then the whole roti.
A lot of other factors play a role in good roti making. The tava temperature should be hot enough that the roti shouldn't stick to the tava, but it shouldn't be so hot that the roti burns. I usually set the stove to medium when i put the roti on the tava, and i usually butter the tava lightly. Then i increase the temp when i 'seenk' the roti. We have gas stoves, so thats how it works for me. Another thing to keep in mind is the atta temperature. At my house we usually make atta for a couple of days and put it in the fridge. I find it difficult to make roti with taza atta cuz it's so loose, and stretches too quickly and cannot be controlled well. With the chilled atta, i usualy take it out of the fridge 5-10 minutes before i start making the rotis. This way it's not too stiff, neither naram to work with.
Oh and when 'ghondhing' the atta, a good tip is that once you mix the water with it and its pretty thick but there is no raw atta left, give it a round or two of ghondhing and punching, and then put it aside for about 10 minutes. Come back to it and it'll be much easier to work with, and much softer to handle. And you know how that dry layer forms on top of the atta when you leave it in the fridge? Well after you ghondh the atta and put it in it's container, cover the atta with a VERY thin layer of water. Then cover the atta with a well water saturated papertowel and cover the container with a lid.
haha. Sehar, you’d make an awesome teacher. Nice novel
My mom makes awesome rottis and of course, she never uses the bailna… (what’s up with moms and no bailnas? ) anyways, so of course, when she kneads the dough, it’s really soft, and when I do it, I keep it hard to make the rolling easier. Oh and I don’t know why, but I like adding milk to the dough, also a tiny bit of oil kneaded into it helps keep it non-sticky.
My dad insists on eating rottis made by me when I’m home, I think that, and a few visits from my nani ammi a few yrs ago, helped me get better at it. Like everyone says, practice makes perfect.
And a good pairra is the secret to a good rotti.
It’s not really about how perfect your rotti is, it’s about how its appreciated my dad makes the most cutest ones in the whole wide world.. shapes you never imagined existed! but hey, they’re wonderful in their own way.
Babe, we should get together and have a slumber party with roti making
Dads are the best My dad has eaten the most moti, jali hui, and odd shaped rotis by me, even the ones i refused to eat. Even when my mom almost gave up on me making rotis, abbu didn’t
you took the words right out of my mouth, that's exactly the method I use to make rotis too. No bailnas, nice paiRhas etc. It's especially important to get the flip-flopping of the roti right prior to slapping it on the tava.
Sehar great tips. I'm afraid my roti's never gets the round shape. I think I have given up, one reason is that we don't have gas stove but electric stoves here, the rotis made from them are never like the rotis made from gas flames.
How many use the dough making machine ? Personally, I don't like making Atta. Long live Ammi. :)
cheegum, Pita in TO was lovely. I wish we had those here.
My rotis never turn out perfectly round like my mum's. When I roll it out it's fine. It's when I lift it and put it on the tawa that it gets all messed up.
sigh
However, I'm quite a pro when it comes to making atta.
Qrius ji, jub roti theek na banay toh bola karein ke aata sahi goondha hua naheen tha :biggrin: aur agar ata khud hi goondha hua ho toh bola karein aata theek naheen tha :biggrin:
At least you all CARE to spend time trying to make roti and other food stuff in the kitchen. I try to avoid the kitchen like the plague. It is strictly my mom's domain since she's the food guru in our house. I help with the house cleaning though so it's not like I'm TOTALLY useless! :D Hmmm...guess I'll have to find myself a guy who is master in the kitchen, among other things. Otherwise mom will have to send me away with a thick recipe book in hand. Urgh! . ;)