Rooh Afza: Pakistani Red Bull !

… I have known the story for a long time, but only confirmed it as I sat to write this post. And the story is that for many Pakistanis - many Soth Asians, really; because Rooh Afza predates Pakistan - Rooh Afza is the original energy drink (as the name suggests - ‘invigorator of the soul’). But let it not be forgotten that Rooh Afza is not just the “invigorater of the soul” it is also Rahat e Jaan (”hapiness for the body”).

Well before there was Red Bull or even Gatorade, there was Rooh Afza. For most Pakistanis there is still no Red Bull or Gatorade … because Rooh Afza is so much better! I certainly will take Rooh Afza over either Red Bull or Gatorade. And if you want to replenish even more energy (which is the logic behind Rooh Afza at Iftari) just add nature’s energy drink of choice (milk) to Rooh Afza - doodh Rooh Afza. It is this ‘milk shake version’ of doodh Rooh Afza that, I think, is the real Pakistani Red Bull; certainly so in Ramzan.

By the way, I know that the Rooh Afza syrup as a topping over ice cream is a Lahore favorite. There are many many other interested culinary uses it is put to. If you know any, please do share.

A product of Hamdard (Waqf) Laboratories in both India and Pakistan, Rooh Afza is the product that defines Hamdard (By the way, the other great and ubiquitous product from Hamdard is Safi. More about that some other time! ). According to Hamdard’s (India) Rooh Afza page:

The site also quotes poet Sail Dehalvi as saying:

The idiom on Hamdard’s (Pakistan) Rooh Afza page is equally colorful:

… Rooh Afza activates a sensation of satisfaction and tranquility that cannot be gainsaid. It makes a delicious milk shake and its other intake, whether added to water, dessert like custard, ice cream, Falooda, Feerni, always offers a pleasant, soulful experience. During rainy seasons, few drops of fresh lemon added to a glass of Rooh Afza not only satisfies the taste but also keeps you fresh despite the moist season. To those who love tangy taste they may add fresh lemon juice in every glass of Rooh Afza they drink.
Poetry and marketting aside, Rooh Afza is quite a drink and its century old story quite a story. It is a story of ingenuity, product endurance and entrepreneurship. There are few products that have a pedigree to match or which have remained on top of their game in the face of local as well as global competition like Rooh Afza has. I do not know how it does in India but in Pakistan it is an iconic brand.

I would love to hear from our Indian readers about whether and what level of popularity it has there (India, of course, has other iconic drink brands like Limka and Thumbs Up!). But I did find this picture on Flickr interesting. The caption says:

Doing seva (community service) in our colony on Guru Arjan Dev Ji’s Martyrdom Day. Some people making sweet water, made from water, milk, sugar, and Roohafza. Pink Turban man is my hubby

source

Re: Rooh Afza: Pakistani Red Bull !

Wow! A very good thread indeed. It reminds me of my very first rozas during early 70's!

I was surprised to see Rooh Afzah at UK's TESCO near Greenwich.

Quetta ka mashoor tarbooz aur roohafzah ka juice!

It is indeed refereshing on a hot day. Replaces body's water loss. Nice taste and khushbu. I like mine in plain water. With milk, it makes you sleepy and also not a good idea for weight watchers as the milk adds fats to the drink.

Still it should not be compared with red bull as it does not contain any caffein. It is a healthy energy drink without caffein (correct me if Im wrong).

I have also tried Safi. It makes you feel happier. Good for depression, purifies blood and regulates circulation, flashes the system. Its bitter taste also cures high levels of blood sugar. But it is very 'dry/heaty' in nature. Can kill your sleep. So alot of juices must be taken if you're taking Safi.

WOw...lol i didnt know that rooh-afza was used as a topping too. Rooh Afza is indeed very popular in Pakistan but somehow it doesnt suit me :(. Though it really takes care of the thirst especially in Summer but it often gives me stomach ache somehow.

^ Eat your regular meals also instead of relying completely on rooh afza for energy, then it wont give you any stomach ache.

I remember when i had acne problem people said Safi would help but isnt it too karvi? :( lol i hvnt tried it but people who have had it said its really hard 2 drink cuz of the taste.

lol duh! ofcourse i would never be able to survive on this drink only even if i wanted...duh duh duh! it just gives me stomach ache when i drink it.

Dont know about acne, I dont know as I took it to cure too much sweetness in my blood. Although, I checked my blood sugar which was all normal so I couldnt think of anything else.

Haha.... regarding the taste, people did scare me but I had to do that . You can put some candy with strong smell and taste in your mouth immediately after taking Safi. That's what I used to do.

Some uniqueness of stomach maybe because for the first time I see someone complaining of a 'stomach ache' for taking rooh afza.

Yaar tarboz tu already itna meetha hota hia ?

btw, tarbooz itself is very refreshing fruit in summers, when chilled. Lots of water and fiber and vitamin and minerals :k:

:cb:

Rooh Afza has very unique fragrance and taste, no doubt. But i used to drink Sandal ka sharbat when returning from school in hot summer days. It used to freshen up mind and soul :sleep:

Rooh afza, we used to pour on ice (snow) crushed from freezer and make sort of barf ka gola :yummy:

thats funnie :CareBear: but no i remember telling this to someone and they said ya it does do that to some people lol so ya i am not the only one :LB:.

:halo:

:halo:

Contrary to the claims by Hamdard , Rooh Afza has nothing but sugar, food color, gulab and kewra essence. It does not have any fruit or vegetable extracts. From fruits and vegetables you can extract two things , Juice and oils. Clearly if Rooh Afza had any fruit juice or oil it will not taste and smell the way it does. Next time you buy Rooh Afza from a desi store look at the nutritional facts label which is mandatory for food products to be sold in US.

^ It contains honey and rose petals. These two ingredients are healthy enough. I dont care what else it includes.

:hoonh:

i lub roohafza even though i dont like desi stuff

but roohafza is yummy

and MAHAM

squeeze sum lemon juice in roohafza

it wont give u stomache ache!