Role of moderators (continued from that other thread)

Re: Role of moderators (continued from that other thread)

thank for informing. otherwise i wont aware of ur evolution :)

Inhi crap ki defination change kerni pary gi ab:hehe:

u, unaware?
why doesn;t it surprise me

kuch zayda he soochnay lagay app.

kher i will tell ya if ya accept my request of banning me :)

why should i ban u, if u dont want t be here, dont log in. self control bhi kissi cheez ka naam hota hai

i am writing too much crap these days :frowning:
but ironically people fail to seek it :hehe:

zobia yar, can you stop with the irrelevancy?

i would like thoughtful opinions.

i guess i'll have to wait till morning when the others wake up.

X2, has given the role of an ideal mod from the rules book, mod should follow it within their own capability and time they have for GS! This is not a paid job, its a volunteer job neither posters have to pay any penny!

But what X2 is trying to convince you is, Poster do have a responsibility, they should read the rules book before posting! they should nit cry for mod to come and clean their goods, however posters should act decent and keep the environments clean, if not then we have mods to do it, they first close the thread, and then does clean and move it back only if necessary for further discussion! ...

I am not saying mods are angel... and they are NOT as well, and if they are not then it makes them human not a robot! ...

Try to build a character in oneself, thus you will not need any ruler on your head all the time! period!!!

abay soya naheen abhi tak.

now mods will have to clean this thread of tangent posts :D

well self control jahan logoon ko kerna chi hai wahan nahi kertay otherwise lecture denay bhet jatay hain.

kher its not about GS...it about i only wana read it and wana give others to fix your typos (or atleast i should have give you time to fix it yourself, but i didnt :()

i feel like i am constantly running for something. i wana stop that secondary stuff and wana focus on implementation :)

Anil Khan khush ho jaao kissi ny tu seriously liya tumhin:hehe:

:no:

lagay rahoo bhai…in ke jowain nahi hain jo reegain :hehe:

hum apna sir already phoor chukain hian :hehe:

perhaps. :teary2:

The question of posters having responsibility is separate question. For this thread the question is what is a definition of a mod. I find it hard to believe that a university/college going or an otherwise young adult will promote a site when it is a 100% voluntary effort. The only reason people take on the job of a mod is because they get a feeling of empowerment. It is a position of authority. Simple psychology. So don't think that Imran x or Azmina y becomes a mod to facilitate or promote or to make his/her thread more interesting; lets not be so naive.
The only people who have in interest in promotion and increasing the membership are the admins because they are ones running this site and the more hits they get the better off they'll be (either financially or from a creative stand point; that is they'd feel happy their personally built site is popular).

2 Likes

No... Admins can not run this site! period! They can only provide facility, it has to be posters who run this site! ... But the idea is to run it cleanly and give an opportunity to posters and readers to learn and enhance their knowledges in a positive manner!
While doing so, every poster need to follow the rules! They need to respect other's ethnicity, religion, sect, language, dress and geographical background as well! Every one need to respect every post and reply in a civilized manner!

If posters don't agree or don't follow the rules, then this place is not for them! ... In USA we don't see all the time the bhangee or choora on the roads picking the garbages... because people are themselves so responsible and they use trash bin! ... but since we are Pakistani, so we show this mentality here at GS because its a desi site, but while living in the west, we are forced to follow the rules and there we don't say anything against it!

About mods, well one can not read what they have in their heart, but I agree being Pakistani, they get flattered to use the power! This is how human nature is, and no one can deny this facts, many mods are here to use the power only and they are not doing what they are suppose to do! ... This is why I say to admins of GS to change or revise the code of postings!

I agree with X2's defination of what Mod's role should be .. and I am sure that this what most of the Mods do anyway ...

unfortunately, the only act of theirs that gets visibilty is the last one ...

Like we have general posting rules and code of conduct for normal users here , is there any code of conduct for Moderators and if there is …

Is there a chance in hell we , the stakeholders , can have a look ...

First two paragraphs were/are for a different thread.

So you agree that mods here feel a sense of empowerment and they don't feel its their job to the other things listed by X2. Now, as they are in a position of authority there job is to govern threads in their section to the best of their ability and NOT take the easy way out by closing theads. They realize that if something offensive is written it'll be there ass who gets the blame so what they end up doing is putting a lock on the thread instead of editing the offensive post. I say those who just plainly lock threads should just resign as mods rather than being corrupt.

abhi to brother anil nay GS per apni doseri saal girah bhi nahi maneyee thee :hehe:

Listen, if you wish mods to follow the rules and go by book, then all those poster would have been banned from this site for using foul languages against members or so! but mods here only give them warnings in a hope that they will learn something from it! but if you want these mods to act as robots who take advices from rules book, then its also possible but chances are rare that we will get the other part of 'mod's responsibility' that is to encourage the posters and bring more readers here!

My all the paragraphs are in response to this thread! ... but you have a right to main na mnoon or ignore

You asked the definition of a mod, X2 has given you in very first post, then you asked the role... I try to describe, now asked for an ideal mod, well it is possible when we are living in an ideal world where posters are also posting by the rules!