road trip but with issues

We are going on a family holiday to another state, after so long. its about 12 hours drive. so relative, who was also planning to go, we decided to go together; as we are close to wife and always enjoy going out with here.

my aunty( we are staying at her BIL-hubby’s brother house) also planned to go at the same time. we have no issue as we enjoy going a group rather than alone.
we have purchased tickets to few theme parks. they were on special so got great deal.

issue is that the aunty has not purchased her tickets nor her kids. her BIL has purchased his family’s too.
now wat to do. tickets are not cheap so we can not offer to buy for her kids. if every one is going to theme parks how can her kids stay at home with her hubby and herelf???

we fear this will reuin whole trip. as my dad will get upset if she doesnt go. i am planning to tell her to arrange another time for her trip not withus. But her without offending her.
she wanted to buy but her husband wouldnt. we dont know wat to do. we never asked them to come with us.

Re: road trip but with issues

**call them preemptively...play innocent and tell her that since you have already purchased the tickets and wondering if she has? that would give her the hint that you want her to buy tickets for herself and for her family if they want to go alongwith you guys. give them ample time to buy tickets for themselves...if they don't, they will have themselves to blame rather than ruin your holidays.

how is that?**

Ummm, continue with your plans? Why cancel your own plans just cz one poacher family doesn't want to do something?

Let them do what they want and you do what you want..

^ I agree with Sara, although there is no denying that it will be a bit awkward if they end up going with no tickets

^True but then again they are silly to think they are entitled to tickets if they didn't pay for them. Maybe you should nudge to them that you and your family are going to the theme park and tickets need to be purchased before going in. Maybe she'll get the hint? If not, it is def. not worth canceling your plans over.

I hate when people are so unthoughtful. This happened once with us and my dad's cousin and her husband. They refused to pay for anything, my parents didn't know how to exactly nudge the idea so my dad ended up paying for everything. People can be so besharam.

Yeh koi masla hai? :smack:

1. Her husband refused to buy the tickets. End of story!

2. You never even asked them to come with you. They were not invited in the first place. So, why get so worried?

3. Yes, her and husband and bachay can stay at home. They are adults…and they’ll be fine. They’ll be together as a family…and will find a way to pass their time.

See, this is the problem. We tend to get so worried about what others think…that we go over board in trying to fix things (example: thinking of paying for this family). Considering how expensive theme part tickets are…how many people would be willing to do that? Moreover…it’s often funny how the people we go to such lengths for…won’t show the same consideration in the future. I wouldn’t be surprised…if…had you been in their position…this aunti and her husband may not have paid for your tickets, let alone think about it. No, I’m not saying that you should do good deeds to expect something in return…but just saying…that stuff like this often happens. :hehe:

1. Kya pata…if you and the other members of your traveling group…were to pay for this family’s tickets…maybe they might feel a bit “sharminda” or awkward during the tip. Some people can feel that way…and so it’s better to just respect their plans/decision of staying home.

2. If you feel THAT worried…then you can even buy rinky-dink souvenirs from the theme-park as small gifts for the kids. That’s a kind (although not required) gesture. It can alleviate your tension.

Maybe all they want to do is accompany you guys for the road trip - and then spend time as a family unit away from the theme park.

^ If so, then they're more than welcome to do that.....I just hope they don't expect them to pay for their tickets or turn around and say "dekho, they didn't pay for our tickets, and left us here alone, kitnay buray laug hain" as these kind of ppl tend to do!!

She is my dad's sis. Than wat she will do is get angry at everone especially her kids, make faces in front of dad(sad faces) etc.
Than dad will be upset too as his sis will be staying back. Tickts are cheaper online and now theres deals going on.
Even the host's family be going with us. I dont know wat they plan to do at home alone.

Sound like shameless moochers

This always happens with us. Wen we plan, we share expenses she never does. Once asked her to get somasa’s and drinks while we and others are taking different food items she got the least xpensive items. She took banana’s and biscuits and water bottles for her kids only:mad: we being the whemi family took drinks as precaution.

Where on earth kids eat biscuits or fruit when others are eating somasas.

Since she is your dad's sister, maybe not a bad idea to bite the bullet and buy the tickets for them while they are still available cheap online. Traditionally, a brother always does stuff for his sister no matter how many years she has been married.

Especially since your aunt does not appear to have financial clout - her husband refused to buy the ticket.

This by itself is a bit humiliating for your aunt. I would just buy the tickets for them and have a good time.

Y. Its $600. We paid our tickets, didnt let dad to pay as the other costs dad will be paying. And its nt cheap trip.

Now how can we save ourself from paying $600 for their trips:(

^ Sorry - I am hopelessly out of touch! I did not realize the tickets are that expensive.

I don't think you should pay...at all.

I think you should gently remind her that tickets are on sale and affordable so if she wants to buy them...this is the time otherwise there is no way YOU could possibly afford them. This way, she might also get the idea that you are not paying for her.

Then just stick to your plans. You did your job.

^ Agreed 180% with post 15. Ang ignore that clueless post 12. Have a good time - once you follow above post, be done with it, and do not let this eat away at you (looks like that is what is happening right now!)

Maybe so, but why would you expect your brothers' KIDS to foot your bill and do you any favors? I don't know, I would be pretty ashamed of myself. (unless they really wanted to pay and/or it was a small amount of $$...that's a different story and doesnt' seem to apply here)

Her kids and their needs are her and her husbnads problem. You are not responsible for them. Why are you so worried ? you are already ruining your fun by bieng so peeved up with the things which have not happened as yet.
If it was a homeless family and needed some help then you will have moral obligation to help since you can , but for holiday programs everybody is on their own.
At the most since your dad is worried about her sister and her family's well being then let him worry or take care of it all if he wants to.

May be she and her hustand have to watch their money because they have limited resources and limited income ? It does not mean that they are stingy. Eveybody is not equally blessed with the bounties of Allah , Some of us have to watch every penny we spend.

You guys couldnt take a few more samosas for your phupo and your cousins?

Anyway you shouldnt pay for the tickets. Its too much money! and i dont think she should expect you or your dad to pay just because she’s his sister. At the end of the day its a luxury to go out like that. She asked her husband and he said no. End of the matter! I dont think you should be guilt tripped into paying just because they will be there too.