Rituals (rasumat)

Re: Rituals (rasumat)

Hi!!!!!!!!!!!!
THanx 4 ur reply.................But Adhrastia can u please tell us more about Shuaag Poora.......Ask ur family memebers if anyone knows abt dis..................do tell us..............It z so interesting...................I haven't heared abt dis before but yes I know d (rasm in which Devar sits on the lap of his newly wed bhabi)But some people don't do dis actualy most of d people put hands on the lap ( it so wierd na! dat growns man put hand on d lap of hi bhabhi) so...... knee and then bhabi give money to him dis z called..."Godh Bithai" inLahore it named as........But I don't know the name of dis name in other cities. And dis z quite nice rasm............. So.......................................And Girls do u know the rasm of (horse)Gorha charhaiyee in which sisters of dulhas got money from his brother(dulha bhai)...............When dulha bhai get into d car or got onto d horse sisters of dulha ask for d gift or money........
Girls share more n more rituals wid us so we also can make our weddings beautiful n enjoyable.

oh yes..!!..i know that rasam...i was a kid when i attended one wedding in my extended family where the groom was the only brother of 7 sisters....(a very ladla bhai and his wedding was an extra extravagant affair...)
anyways,they got a real horse for this rasam only,made the groom climb onto it and then he called the names of his sisters and handed them gold jewelery sets....

WOW...............great.................we are four sis and have only one bro aldla bro.............lols and he has promissed us to give diamond jewelery.......InshAllah.............lols

can anyone tell me is der any rasams dat are dun on engagementt??? or is it just at shaadi.. im gettin engagaged in june so few months tym so i wana be prepared if there are any!!!

lol, scared from the rasms or looking fwd????

well i don't think there are any rasam's on the engagement.its just the ring ceremony...

We have that one in my family although its not the groom’s brother who sits in her lap. It normally the youngest boy in the family e.g. nephew. Its something to do with hoping the bride has lots of sons in the future.

they also do the rasam where they put two rings in a bowl filled with milk and rose petals. then both the bride and groom look for those rings..who ever finds them first is said to have control over the other for the rest of their married life. lol

hey does anyone have pics of the mirror rasm? where they both look into the mirror..etc? it sounds cute =)

The main custom in our weddings is singing…there are special Kashmir folk songs called vanvun that women sing at all the various ceremonies:

They also did it in the movie Zubeidaa…if you forward to 5:20, you’ll see them do it…but its slightly inaccurate, the Quran is put underneath the mirror, not over the couple’s heads…

LOL my devars also did a modified version of sitting on my lap. They just asked for money. And i strung them around for like an hour before i gave them anything :D But in our case the rasam happened months after i was married and when we finally went to Pak (we got married in the US). I guess if i was the new bride i would be totally quite and just let them have what they asked for. This way it was fun for all of us, actually the whole family gathered around us and it was quite fun.

haha yea.. v did that rasam on my mamu’s wedding.. but my mamu doesnt have any brother… so my khala’s son did it instead.. n he was like just 8 or 9… n he sat on my maami’s lap n he’s really naughty too.. so he kept asking for more money n refused to get off!! lol it was actually really cute.. but that was cuz he was a kid..

but yea if u have a devar who is old.. it’d b really weird n awkward!!! :S

n its called ‘goda bithai’ in punjabi! (goda = knee)

There's another rasm where the MIL gives the bride gold bangles when she enters the house...

^ my MIL got me a ring.

oohh there is this another one i had forgotten about but remembered when it happened to me. When i cooked the first time after the wedding, my inlaws gave me money.

Wow seems like different families within pakistan too have different rasms…i think it might have to do with their cultural background too. Like some people are from amristar, some are from punjab, etc. But i think all these rasms are nice but only if they dont go to the point of having arguments that usually happen on baraat with the dodh pilai :halo:.

One hindu rasm i really like is when the newly wed brides wear those choras :smiley: i really like those and plan 2 ask whoever goes 2 india to get me those.

oh ya....and than on the first eid, birthday after their marriage they usually get something really nice and expensive ilke golds or diamonds...arghh lucky brides :D.

What about the one where, on the wedding night, the younger family members kinda hold the bride 'hostage' by locking the groom out of the bedrom with themselves inside and won't let the groom in until he gives them money?

^ oh ya that too....thats called darwazi something i guess hehehe...but honestly i beileve people at both ends shud know where and how to draw the line cuz things can get pretty ugly at times.

I have seen a rasm of pouring oil or something on the doorstep before the bride or groom enter the house together for the first time. What does that signify?