theway
February 4, 2010, 3:25pm
OMG Sehrysh… i luved reading your rishtaa stories!
I only have one semi-rishtaa story… its a semi because I never had to go through with the whole “meet greet and serve chai” bit. It never came to that.
Some auntie that lives on the other side of the country randomly hears about my family and somehow gets our number. She and my mom have multiple conversations first getting to know each other (since they were strangers) … it all started out with a simple “we both know yadda yadda… they mentioned u guys and i thought to ask her for your number since we have sooo much in common”. The lady then one day finally has the guts to ask my mom about me. My mom gives her info and inquires about her son… the usual blah blah blah. Pictures are exchanged via mail … excitement ensues and the auntie is talking about booking airline tickets and hotels so that they could come visit an meet with us. The boys a doctor… born and raised in the u.s… comes from a good family… etc. My mom tells me to start looking into tickets (since I lived in another state completely for my educational process). The Auntie calls to tell us tickets are booked and they are coming on xyz date. I book my ticket so that I could also be there for this humble event.
A week after all these bookings have been paid for… during one of many convos btw this auntie and my mom, she randomly asks how tall I am. When my mom said 5’1’’ … conversation came to an abrupt halt. The Auntie awkwardly ends the convo and says she will call my mom back because something has come up. My mom is naturally wierded out.
Fast forward 2 days and Auntie jaan calls up… “we are not interested in your daughter because she is too short for our son. He is 5’10’’ mashAllah” … she then continues on by asking how tall my younger sister is. Because if she is of a suitable height… then they are still interested. But if my sister is not tall enough… then they were just going to cancel their tickets. Needless to say .. this time my Mom was the one that ended the conversation.
We were all so turned off by the fact that they had a change of heart so quickly based SIMPLY on my height (they liked my pic and everything else about me). It was all so rude… they KNEW my parents paid for my airline ticket to come home… they KNEW i was taking a few days off from school for this… even more so appalling was when they added the comment about my sister. My mom was like wth … its not like we are selling off our daughters and anyone can come and pick which one they like based on physical appearance alone… and that is exactly what these people made it seem like.
My parents gave me their blessing to find someone on my own… 2 yrs later I did… and he is 5’11’’
.mashALLAH.
that auntie was not interested in you because her son is 5’10" and you are 5’1"but the guy Allah has chosen for you is 5’11"… …just tell her and ask what do you say know?
huh…
yeh AUNTIES…why dont they think…in ki bhi betian hyn…
i am,too,not tall.i pray to ALLAH PAK is parade aur hight waghaira kay chakron mein paray baghair hi mujhy apna prince charming:@: mil jaye aur shadi ho jaye. Aameen.