I have never heard any christian refering to their wedding ceremony as Nikkah before.
I know majority of christian community in Pakistan is catholic but are there many mormons there too?
Re: Rishta got broken one week before the wedding.
that's a tough one meethishona. i never recommend it b4 but do u think u can marry him on ur own? his family looks really decent otherwise who comes back after so much drama? i'll say go marry him without parent's will let them know they are being stubborn to no issue but u both like each other n r adult enuf to decide on ur own.
u n him can always return n try to win ur family over after marriage. is it only ur mom n dad against this marriage? do u hav siblings or anybody from ur side that can suppot u in this?
Thanks guys for all your help and support.
I had tears in my eyes when I was posting my issue.
Mabrook, u r right. Who comes back after this whole drama? but they did and they still want it. My sister is supporting me. I'm the oldest child. one brother is 15 and I have no expectations from the older one. He used to be my friend but after visiting Pakistan, my cousins had brainwashed him, so no expectations, support from him at all.
Relatives are big issue. My tai never wanted any one in the family to have more than hers. She's a witch.
that's a tough one meethishona. i never recommend it b4 but do u think u can marry him on ur own? his family looks really decent otherwise who comes back after so much drama? i'll say go marry him without parent's will let them know they are being stubborn to no issue but u both like each other n r adult enuf to decide on ur own. u n him can always return n try to win ur family over after marriage. is it only ur mom n dad against this marriage? do u hav siblings or anybody from ur side that can suppot u in this?
yaar I really don't wanna marry him without my parents but I can't forget him either. I need some kind of suggestion/plan that I can convince them. There's nothing wrong with the guy and the family. Thanks for the reply yaar.
^ where are you from in Pakistan? Are there LDS temples in pakistan?
I'm from Islamabad. There aren't any LDS Temples but there are churches. In my situation, this LDS/Catholicism is not the issue as far as I can think. I just can't figure out any plan that's going to convince my parents.
cus of where the nikkah should be or other issues? hmmm
just hang in there mate... are there any conditions ur parents have?
Nikaah's location was the only issue at that time. After that relatives made a huge mess. My tai never liked him. and my dad never liked my tai because of her behavior with my dadi and his siblings. i don't know why he listened to her. My tai said that he never salaam her but before she compalined to my mom, he already had told me that tai gee didn't answer his salaam. My fiance' is right because she doesn't like her in-laws that much. Hopefully u know what I mean. It's not that I'm favoring my fiance'. All my other chachoos and phophoos loved him because of his behavior, manners. Mari tai nay iss situation ka faida uthaya aur mamlaa sambhalnay kee bajaye bigar gaya. Yaar suggest something. Kabhi kabhi toh dil karta hai I should suicide.
Agree with TLK
also, try minimising contact with interfering relatives.. i know when you go back to pakistan, regardless of how much u have organised before hand, there will be one person at least who will ruin everything.
I dunno what it is with relatives... seriously
khair, thats an issue dear to my heart so i will not bring that into this..
Id talk to ur dad without getting too emotional and understand him. And then ask him how he would like things done if he'd like to go ahead at all. Tell him how much this means to you... and see how it goes from there.
U know, for you it was which church to have the nikkah... other marriages break due to what khana should be served!
Oh God, khana bhi issue ho sakta hai. Can't believe this, but it had happened with someone, so...........
hey. i dont share my persoanl life here often but after reading ur thread i feel i shud.
I went thru almost the same thing. Had everything planned, everything but thankfully we hadnt gone to pakistan yet. exactly 2 months (urs is 2 weeks) before the wedding it got all messed up. i was heartbroken just like u r n i still feel to this day tat if we had kept our situation jsut to ourselves it may not have been as bad. But i dont blame my relatives. I just hope that it doesnt stay painful for anyone nymroe (neither for me, or him or our families).
I wish u all the best. feel free to pm me if u need a friend who would udnerstand.
Carpool, how to pm? I don't use this site that often. It was just exactly one week from the baraat so 4 days before the wedding ceremonies were going to begin. U don't blame the relatives but I do as they are the ones who have or who knows will forever leave me and my fiance' in pain for the rest of our lives. I'm sorry to hear ur story too. I don't know if urs was arranged or not? But mine was both and we both have invested 10 years in our relationship. Please let me know how to pm.
Talk to u later.
Carpool, how to pm? I don't use this site that often. It was just exactly one week from the baraat so 4 days before the wedding ceremonies were going to begin. U don't blame the relatives but I do as they are the ones who have or who knows will forever leave me and my fiance' in pain for the rest of our lives. I'm sorry to hear ur story too. I don't know if urs was arranged or not? But mine was both and we both have invested 10 years in our relationship. Please let me know how to pm.
Talk to u later.
since there is nothing u can do to change ur situation . u sud be mindfull that whatvea hapend it was God Will. and there isnt much u can do to change that.
OR is there??
^ i agree with Cocoo. may b u guys were not destined to marry at this particular point, dunno abt future but if its destined bigri baat bhi bun jati hai n if its not God-willed banee hoi baat bhi biger jati hai
Coudn't have said it better myself.
Your folks should really understand and not listen to your relatives -
they should care about how u feel after all your ther daughter n your the one who's feelin the pain and stress, if i was u i would keep on harassing them until they give up n listen to u. Inshallah i pray all goes well.
t.c
mancunian, awesome one. After reading ur post, I'm feeling like the situation is under my control,Amen! Yes, I really need prayers. I'm going to harass my parents now jab tak wo tang aa kar maan nay jaey.
Good luck - i hope ur folks give in, n realise they are spoling ther daughters happiness. i hope n pray u succeed. Amen.
Thanks for the support girl.
LOL, I was reading my thread after so many months. I kept harassing my family for the whole one year and then I stopped coz both of us realized(at that time) that maybe that's how God ki marzi hai. We almost lost each other. But but but, pata nahi kya hua mere ghar walon ko, I gueess Khuda ne maujaza kar diya k on 10/10/2010. I came back from work and everybody pretended that they're sleeping but they were not. On by one gathered in the dining room and apologised for traeting me badly. First I thought again shadi ki baat karaein ge kahin aur but NO.
Things have come back to normal now and I'm getting married at the end of this month.
Thankyou guys, it was such a nightmare but I have survived, good part-
Wait so you're marrying the same guy??
oh thats really good to hear.. dekho nearly 2 saalon ke baad sab theek ho jae ga! best wishes 4 ur shadi!