Rishta but is he just after a British passport?

My friend (british born) has been introduced to a guy from pakistan who is in the UK on a woek permit. He has a decent job and is well educated (unless he’s lying about all that). my question is how can she find out if he’s intentions are honourable or if his main reason for wanting to marry her is to get permanent stay?

I know no one comes with a life time guarantee but there are so many horror stories around of girls getting dumped after the guy gets his indefinate leave. What questions can you ask/background checks can you do to satisfy yourselves?

Guys from Pakistan: how offended would you be if you were questioned by a prospective brides family in this respect?

Re: Rishta but is he just after a British passport?

If they're so concerned about this possibility, they should just move on and require that the potential rishta should already be a citizen of England.

Do the research.. Find out where he works... Some people ask to look at degrees and some kind of evidence of employment. I don't think there is anything wrong with it. Beti day rahay hain so really, do your research.

Tell him she wants to move to Pakistan after marriage to see his reaction.. or agree to marry him after if/when he gets it on his own merit..

Personally I think that there is nothing wrong if ONE of the intentions is to get the british passport. The real question is whether that is the ONLY intention. I think her family should do as much research as is possible about the guy and ofcourse istakhara. best of luck !!

Sounds a bit stupid but check out his facebook if possible lol, gives a much better indication of what a person is really like than hearsay and gossip from aunties or elders which some foolish parents call 'investigating' (we know of a malicious auntie who told a guy's parents a girl had moved away to 'live with a boyfriend' when she had actually just gone away to live at uni)..

For once I agree with snowy.

If he's a good guy and he's concentrating his search here (as opposed to Pak) as he wants to stay here, it doesn't have to mean that he's not interested in the girl for who she is and her qualities.

But as I said, it depends if he's a good guy and his intentions are right. Such people aren't in a hurry to marry before their work visa's expire etc as they are still after the 'right' person.

As for any rishta, the research needs to be done thoroughly!

slap down a prenup in front of him that will essentially annhilate him if he were to leave within a 10 year period after marriage without agreement with his wife.

If he walks away from the rishtaa, you know what was important to him

Most decent way of checking is to ask him about his opinion of the possibility of girl moving to Pakistan with him and watch out for his reaction.

LOL that's cruel.

^^ Yeah but with this I think you can NEVER be too careful. I've seen too many instances of girls being used for their citizenship, so I would never trust anyone that didn't have citizenship already. Plus, my being both American and Canadian means I have to be doubly careful :)

that does not mean anything, as stoppit said, if one of the intentions is to find an easier way to become a resident, then there should not be an issue.

if someone wants to settle in the UK, he would say no, regardless of what his intentions are towards the girl.

plus how do you know that he is not getting his sponsorship via work anyways.

make up a story tell him that she is going to surrender her british nationality and shift to Pakistan permanently to serve it and see his reaction, simple.is mai kia farsi hai.ziada tension hai to detective bhi hire kia jasakta hai

I dono whats the problem if he has a decent job.Even if some one wants to be a citizen of a certain country, so what? every one has aspirations.Being citizen of a certain country does not makes any one superior.Besides if he wants to use some one for the citizenship, he WOULD definitely not go for a DESI GIRL......most of those people would prefer a GORI for that cause they are much more easier to handle!......

Why playing games, be straight, tell him that what is going on in UK.. what guys from Pakistan do to the girls in UK.. and tell him that you do not trust him and he have to gain the trust... whats wrong in doing that.. if he fails to win the trust, move on and try to find new rishta... why everyone is suggesting different games... be straight...

All Pakistani guys want the british passport. And we specifically look for unattractive and weak women to hit on, romance and then abuse after we get the passport. Oh yeah we are liable to cheat, before, during and after the marriage.

Did I miss anything?

if he accepts the proposition ............... wud the gal be ready to move to pakistan

galz born and raised in UK has to face real difficulties to be a gud wife , specially if she marries a Pakistani guy.

i guess he wants to get permanent residence/ Nationality ........... otherwise why he he wud be interested in a british born gal if he wants to live in Pakistan.............

Why to even consider him if you know he is a not a British citizen . A fault on your end not his . But if you want to take a chance , then don't complain .

not everyone dieing for UK here. as far as guys are concerned they generally wants to be there in younger age to get exposure otherwise for later age they dont prefer UK to live in that much. in the current decade UK economy has got very little to offer foreigners as the economy of uk is not doing that gud.

pakistani galz in UK is interested to marry a pakistani guy as they know how UK guys treat galz and how responsible they are about their family. everybody knows the single parents ratio is very high in UK.