Isn't it like a fact that the Prophet married someone so much younger than him (whether she was 6 or 12 or 16, who knows), but she was much younger than him in age.
He asked for traditional families. I gave him the age that Pakistani tradition dictates.
he also married a 40 yr old when he was 25
what do u think of that?
"develop according to your nature""hard to mold her"
Lalas, your mom seems to really want some tight control over her bahu, ey? And lemme guess. Like a typical Pakistani guy, you're going to go haan haan along with your mom and then make some girl's life miserable by not allowing to, oh GOD FORBID, develop her own personality, so GOD FORBID, when your mom is wrong, she GOD FORBID, put your mom in place.
Oh typical Pakistani family matters.
thank u pyari--- i was just like ... am i reading this right??!!
oh my god that is the most absurd thing i have EVER read
its like some brainwashing project not a marriage!!!
now that i have actually read the whole thread , things are still bothering me
lalas- i’m sorry but ur definition/clarification of molding does not help in the least, only confirms worst fears, whats wrong w/ ur wife having goals and dreams, so what if u and she have some differences in taste, marriage is a PARTNERSHIP, that means that if u want to take so much, u have to give a lot back too, shes a human with needs, other than molding herself to urs
and whats this about living separately after marriage, whats the point then!!! sorry to be blunt but is ur mom just looking for someone to do the housework for free??
please clarify
Lets just have 2 : Under walli , bahir walli.
Problem solved :)
[Serious note:Anybody taken any feminist course? There is an actual term and a whole discussion on this - but I don't think its appropriate to use those words here :) ]
^ If not the sex slave / slave, then where is all the fun in the marriage?
Chalo chalo kuch arse me khudi dimaag theek hoga jab tail bharre kisi beer-belly desi ke saath shaadi or das bachche honge jab koi gora ghans nahin dale ga!
I think it might be easier for you to get an "imported" wife from Pak because she just might be easier to "mould" than someone brought up in the US. If my husband ever said he was going to mould me according to his wishes, I would have run millions of miles away from him :D A girl born in Pakistan with a high school education at most should be your best bet me thinks
I am so on the same page with you there. His wanting to mold his future wife is way too scary of a statement. Sad thing is, that sort of thinking is so common.
I would try to marry a girl of or around my own age....i don't like much age difference between me & someone whom i have to live with my entire life.....
asimaan: lol you need to read what i have written again.. my mom does not want me to live with my parents after marriage, cause my parents think my wife should have her privacy and space, so she can live the way she she wants…now everyone here is taking a wrong meaning just because i used the wrong word “molding”
i don’t understand then why you are claiming my mother wants the housework for free when she doesn’t want us to live as a joint family at the first place…
my simple question was what is the right age gap… and many elders told me to marry the young girl instead of someone close to your age.
^Still your ""thinking of molding(correct word or not)"" is quite erratic...whether you are going to live in your moms nest or ........are going to live seperately with your.........so well perseved (naive 'young' wifey).......
Doesn’t even really make a difference. The guy thinks he can actually find someone who will make so much of an unnecessary and unfair saccrifice. He’ll get one of those girls who pretends at the chai parade that she’s so masoom, and then out comes the after marriage. Then lalas will be like any other haan-jee type husbands, who will be more worried about molding himself to his wife’s whims than the other way around.