Ridiculous: Sunny Gavaskar on Shoaib's action

Re: Ridiculous: Sunny Gavaskar on Shoaib's action

Some1, welcome back. I thought we had lost you forever after that 3rd test ;)

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

As a matter of fact fkhan2, Holding did point out that there is something not right about shoaib's action. He said that, hyperextension or not, while bowling the wrist-elbow-shoulder all have to be in one straight line. Shoaib's wrist-elbow-shoulder do not make a straight line. And he left it at that.. he didnt want to actually say that the action is questionable in fear of being politically incorrect.

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

Hei guys I have a question, why do u pakistanies read Indian news papers. :p
We Indians hardly read pakistani papers.

Lotay I have to watch the video again to hear what holding said at that point, which I cannot since I am at work and cant open the media file.
Anyway I remember he said something while comparing his action with RP's however I dont think he said that there is something not right. He gave an explanation for the difference in RP's action and Shoaib's. I think he said that Shoaib's action not making a straight line is due to the problem in his joint which is not there in RP's joint. However I could be wrong. Correct me anyone if they can watch the video now, otherwise I will reply after watching the video later.

vinesh bhai. Why do you watch cricket matches being played in Pakistan? Because your team is playing there right? We read indian newspapers because theyre talking about our team. :)

Sincerely,
Captain Lota

ok fair enough.. but its for indian consumption..just ignore it if u feel like.:)

ab mein kuch bolonga tou bologay ke bolta hai!!

Both sides are correct. India should have filed an official complaint before or during drawn tests. This is not a professional attitude to whine like kids when losing badly.

On the other hand Holding analysis and live naked eye examination show that Akhtar does chuck on some of his deliveries. His arm doesn't go backward but is tilted side ways as a perfect watta bowler will do.

OK, unleash the fire on me, but this is true in my eyes.

Re: Ridiculous: Sunny Gavaskar on Shoaib’s action

and if the “tired old question” is still perfectly valid?

tell me honestly…do you think Shoaib does NOT chuck? we both know that you will be lying through your teeth of you say “yes.” Same goes for everyone else on this thread…none of you are angry because you actually believe Shoaib doesn’t chuck, you are just angry that it is still being brought up.

as for timing…yes, Indians should have raised it during 2004. but for the sake of the game, better late than never, don’t you agree?

I dont know why you asked this question.
Isn't it obvious that India media whine alot just like Some 1 and we know that, so we read them in order to paste such rootu articles here.
Indians hardly read Pakistani papers because they know that Pakistan papers don't whine like Indian papers. Why would they read it after losing to Pakistan. It would be like rubbing salt in your wounds:p

^u could think like that..
I wasnt here last time around when India won in pakistan. Did pakistani didnt make any excuse about the pitch. Had any indian guppy posted here to say that pakistanies are whining.

Then so is the tired old answer. the fact that Indians raise questions about the opposition when they lose and are unsporting losers is a perfectly valid commentary on the question.

no, we’re angry that its being brought up now. I dont mind admitting there could be problems with his action, however to bring it up now is in very poor spirit, and demonstrates once again that a lot of indians cant take it on the chin without offering a diversion that looks lame at this level.

i think its better even later. eventually there will be a time when raising this question will not be tied to tendulkar’s flattening against shoaib, and that will probably be a good time for assessing this fairly without raising justifiable questions about timing and poor sportsmanship.

i’m not understanding this logic

what is wrong in admitting that shoaib is a chucker while simultaneously acknowleding the fact that indians are being poor sports by bringing it up now?

if both are true, then both are true. timing doesn’t change anything.

:slight_smile: timing does change something, because that is the reason why the second part of your statement is true, which as a whole I dont disagree with. I said nothing about whether or not shoaib actually chucks, i dont know the rules or his action well enough, being a leg spinner of considerable chucking fame myself. my conversation with some1 was about the bad sportsmanship issue, which he was dismissing as tired, and faulty logic. so I guess you and I dont disagree by much since you acknowledge it as poor sportsmanship.

while the first part is getting representation enough from the indians, we pakistanis are merely doing our role in ensuring that the second gets its deserved spotlight :slight_smile:

Taaza taaza… fresh off the press

ICC takes note of Chappel`s comments on Shoaib](Zee News: Latest News, Live Breaking News, Today News, India Political News Updates)

Peshawar, Feb 07: The International Cricket Council has apparently warned India coach Greg Chappell to refrain from making any comment on the bowling action of Pakistani paceman Shoaib Akhtar or face disciplinary action.

“The ICC, through the channels concerned, has conveyed to Chappell that he had no business making such remarks about Shoaib on any media platform and in future should refrain from such remarks or face disciplinary action under the ICC code of conduct,” a Pakistan Cricket Board source was quoted as saying.

According to the source, match referee Ranjan Madugalle had spoken to Chappell after receiving a letter from the Pakistan team management before putting it to ICC, which had got in touch with the Australian.

In the letter, The pakistan team management had asked Madugalle to find out from Chappell if he had indeed made the remarks attributed to him.

The former Australian captain is believed to have told a TV channel that there was “something seriously different” about Shoaib`s action while challenging the biomechanic findings and calling for fresh tests.

Thanks for admitting that India are being poor sports.
I will reciprocate and will admit that it does appear Shoiab chucks sometimes, not deliberately, but because of a natural defect in his joints. ICC, the governing body of International cricket and not of Gulli Muhala cricket understood that there is nothing which shoaib can do about this defect and therefore cleared him on Medical grounds and allowed him to continue bowling.
Happy??????:)

wow! that does change things..

:omg: :omg: :omg:
Serves him right.
Why cant ICC send Chappel to Uni. of Western Australia, Institute of Mental Health, for a check up, where he would be monitored from 10 different cameras, shooting at 50 frames/second and get the reports from guys over there about Chappel Mental health. ICC can than ban him from coaching, following extensive tests, by stating that alot of crap comes out of his mouth (well he is good in showing middle finger as well) , more than the degree allowed by ICC, and therefore he is not good for the game of cricket as a coach.

http://www.htcricket.com/htcricket/7912_1619844,00160115.htm

hm.. a denial almost immediately..

I’d like to know what kind of journalism this is, ya to The News walay beyhad bongay hain, ya PCB walay.

Arrange a duel between zeenews and htcricket.

sadly i have more confidence in the second report. the first was quoted in a number of papers (aside from zee news) with The News as the source which in turn had an anonymous PCB source as its source, which usually is a The News term for we're pulling stuff out of our journalistic asses. although it really isnt past PCB officials to be goofily saying stuff about ICC to the press without thinking about how bad official rejections of such claims look.

they do this way too often, and someone should get fired for this.