Richards concerned by Ajmal's doosra

Now Richards in Action :smack:

Saeed Ajmal, the Pakistan offspinner, has had his bowling action called into question by Viv Richards. Ajmal was the Man of the Series for his 17 wickets in two Tests against West Indies, but concerns have been raised over the legality of his action.

“Let me put it as mildly and as diplomatically as it can be put,” Richards told ESPNcricinfo. “When you look at bowling actions for offspinners in the world at present, the [15 degree] rule made by the ICC has bred what we’ve seen this series. I wouldn’t be blatant as some others, but the rules have helped the freaky stuff we have at present. It accommodates doosras and things we see like that.”

The decision to allow a bend in the arm up to 15 degrees was introduced after biomechanical experts found the majority of bowlers had a minor flex in their actions. It is felt, however, that some offspinners struggle to deliver the doosra within those limits. Richards is the latest to voice concern over Ajmal’s action, with former fast-bowler Michael Holding and veteran West Indian journalist Tony Cozier having spoken out on the doosra during the course of the series.

Though West Indies may feel uneasy about Ajmal, they also batted woefully against Pakistan’s other spinners. During the 196-run defeat at St Kitts, 15 of the 20 wickets fell to spin, with Ajmal taking three in each innings. The batsmen were not much better in the first Test in Guyana, which West Indies won, losing all but three wickets to Pakistan’s trio of spinners.

“The problem is that whenever they [West Indies] are confronted by top-class spinners they freeze,” Richards said. “It’s creating a paranoia and someone needs to ask the batsmen what’s needed. I think they need to prepare for the bowlers they are going to face better and watch them more regularly. [At the moment] they just go out and rely on guesswork.”

Despite the lost opportunity to win the series, Richards backed the management of the captain Darren Sammy and coach Ottis Gibson. Both had been under intense scrutiny after a poor World Cup and the shambles over Chris Gayle’s exclusion and his decision to play in the IPL.

Sammy answered many of his critics with a match haul of seven wickets to deliver victory in Guyana, and Richards felt that performance was crucial to his survival as captain. “What’s been on peoples’ minds is his contribution to the team as a player,” Richards said. "The match in Guyana helped to eradicate some of that stuff. When he was first touted as captain I backed him because I thought he would bring a bit more thought to the role.

“He said the right things about moving the team forward and I backed him to bring camaraderie and togetherness as a leader. Recently his lack of form was concerning people but he silenced that.”

His support of Gibson was more reserved but he was happy with the appointment of former opener Desmond Haynes as batting consultant for the series. “I don’t doubt [Gibson’s] ability as a coach but Ottis needed some help when he started. I felt he needed assistance, as they have done with Desmond Haynes leading on the batting side of things. Ottis can add something to the bowlers, who are in need of help.”

http://www.espncricinfo.com/west-indies-v-pakistan-2011/content/current/story/516512.html

Re: Richards concerned by Ajmal’s doosra

Gorray tou khilaaf thay he aur aab yah bhi :smack2:

Re: Richards concerned by Ajmal's doosra

till they get someone who can bowl dosra, they are going to question it.. just like earlier reverse swing was cheating done by Pakistani bowlers, now because Australian and others can do it, it is art

Most ppl respect Viv Richards, but he is just being a cry baby on this issue right now...

Exactly :k:

Speaking of Doosra Saqlain bowled it with the most Cleaniest action ever

Oh i miss saqlain

Geoff Boycott saying he didn't see something like that in his 30+ years of cricket..

Saqlain the "LIVING" Genius....

only Pakistan Cricket treats such geniuses like trash - May hell rain on PCB and such officials who ruin talent...

Indeed :hbk:

aahhhh good old days when cricket had a home in Pakistan ....... stadia full of crowds and on the field the Bowling Genius tormenting opposition batsmen ....

Janab itna Ghussa though i second ur wish :D

I see a well deserved ban coming for ajmal in near future...he goes wayyyyyy beyond 15 degree and has been pushing ICC for it for a quite a while now.

What he needed (other than not going beyond 15 degree) is a board like BCCI, which is soo strong that NO ONE will mention harbhajan's bend in his arm....But since that is not going to happen, a ban, at this point is pretty much Imminent.

His arm is in quite a weird bowling doosra. But then again its not Holding's or Richards' job to comment on that. They have umpires and referrees for that.

ditto....ajmal shd be banned...or at least considered by bio-medical experts one more time....he has a real weird bent...and no it is not an art...what saqlain did was an art....and harbhajan singh...he is also not clean by any means...

kaya howa muna jee…headache? want some aspirin?

The world is blind...Shahid Afridi has 'teesra' too...which he introduced in the last world cup...nobody knows that except me...hmmmmmmmmm :D

PS: And upcoming is Junaid Khan with his choutha... :)

Pehley Shahid Khan Phir Junaid Khan....aaap Khaaanou Ki Andaaar ki baatian kaafi jaaantey hain....

Khaaanoun main Itni popularaity achi nahi hotiii..... :D "Ehsan Bhai Walai 'X'perience vaaali Smily" :D

they deserve worse duas...

ur such a nut job.

i have a better solution...if you have a problem with my post, just don't read it instead of calling people names...learn how to conduct civilized discussion.....it is my prerogative to express an opinion about a certain player's bowling action... bhajan pa jee and ajmal both shd be re-evaluated by ICC....I really admire ajmal's fighting spirit but i always felt that he is taking advantage of current laws...he has a really weird bent....and i simply dont agree with this whole 15 degree rule...how do we know that a certain bowler is indeed within the "15 degree bent" in the actual match?...it is unfair to those spinners who have legitimate bowing actions....saqlain did it with a perfect action...so that is an art....

I have always had a soft corner for Viv Richards and regard him as the greatest batsman of our time.

If he is concerned about Ajmal's doosra then we ought to take his comments seriously