Revealing Clothes+Hidden Purpose

Re: Revealing Clothes+Hidden Purpose

Exactly.

Another point - modesty means different things in different time periods and cultural settings. For example, in old European culture when women wore puffy dresses - dressing in pants would have been the most vulgar thing to do. Even more vulgar would be to hitch up your dress so people could see your ankles. Now, in Europe, wearing a skirt to the knees or wearing slacks is considered conservative and proper.

If you are dressed in a way that others are perceiving you as conservative and not attracting sexual attention, even if this means not wearing a scarf on your head but maybe just wearing a pant/suit, then why is this considered morally wrong? Isn't the point of wearing modest dress to keep nasty eyes off you? And so if the culture dictates people to see a woman dressed vulgarly by a certain dress, then you avoid that dress. It could mean avoiding a string bikini on South Beach or avoiding anything less than a burqa in Saudia Arabia.

To be really blunt, I seriously doubt that a man is going to get turned off just by looking at a girl’s arms:halo: If a girl is wearing a sleeveless or half-sleeved shalwar kameez suit or shirt, and as long as the rest of her body parts are not showing, then what’s wrong with that?
Aisha said that it’s for attention, but helloooo I seriously doubt that the aunties I see walking around with halfsleeves are thirsting for the attention of ghair men or women. It’s all about comfort and convenience. Just imagine how hard it would be to wear fullsleeves in the sweltering heat..

it's only "hard" for those that arent used to wearing it. I know for one...i have nvr wore shorts in the summer like most westerners do as soon as it hits 65+ degrees.....i sure dont feel hot in my jeans, pants, long sleeve shirts or long skirt.

btw.....new research suggests that you wear long sleeves and cover as much of ur body as possible in the summer due to UV rays and the damage it causes to ur skin. In fact scientists have found that covering yourself in the heat keeps you cooler then exposing your skin.....stupid scientists took this long to figure that out!!!

for those interested in finding links on this research...do google it and you'll find many credible articles on it.

I dunno about all that, but I remember being in pakistan about 7 years ago in the summer months, and it was crazily hot. I was in an area called Kalaam and boy was it hot! In that area, we were expected to be covered in public, therefore I had to stay home the whole cuz I couldn't do the whole covered thing and the few times i went out without covering, was NOT fun experience :(

But I think its really pathetic how women feel the need to restrict themselves from comfort simply cuz they're afraid what others are gonna think about them. Anyone who is easily influenced and reads this thread might re-evaluate their morals the way everyone is making a mountain of a molehill in regards to something as innocent as half-sleeves goodness sakes! We're not nearly close to being baysharam or naked with that!

once again you were not used to being covered so it felt hot....for those that are used to being covered...wont have issues about it.

what makes u think women cover themselves simply cuz they are afraid of what others will think bout them? u know....there are some women out there who cover cuz they want to...not cuz they are told 2.

yea i agree with u.....A muslim wearing short sleeves or even sleeveless for that matter does not makes one besharam. It's one's character and lack of Islamic morals and values that makes one besharam.

^ although it is circular argument, but one who has sharam will never wear such clothings to begin with... Sharam should be apparent from one's outside appearance as well IMHO... otherwise sharam is incomplete.... :P

but what about those that do cover yet...backbite and lie, cause hurt and pain to their parents and dont pray?

then there are those....that may not dress completely what we would call "according to the shariah'....yet pray 5 times daily....and do everything else?

which one would u call besharam?

outside apperance isnt everything......inside counts 2.

both!

btw....we are just talking bout sleeves here AQ!!

so i guess ud call me besharam for wearing short sleeves?

consider that u do know me somewhat and my Islamic character

then you should not wear short sleeves :naraz:

answer the question AQ …

ur on trial here…

am i besharam for wearing short sleeves?

i rest my case even before u answer :hoonh:

I never saw u in short sleeve so I can not comment..

I rest my case :smilestar:

just say that u have… knowing my character…am i?

i already know ur answer…kaho ya na kaho so take ur post back :hoonh:

My reply was in response to this:

It’s one’s character and lack of Islamic morals and values that makes one besharam.

read it again… :smilestar: i thought you would have figured that out by now :hoonh:

Read it again in context :mad:

Anwar stop arguing u lost and angel eyes won.. admit it .. :snooty:

yes u r :snooty: …everything sleeveless haraam:nono: ..ab jao aur apnai liye neye kaprai silao darzi sai.:barbie:

mashallah nice post..unkel aq mullah sahib:D....sharem jin main ho woh sleeveless dresses nahi pehnti:) ..

I agree with ^^^^^^^^^^

besharam larkian

ajj kal ke log

tauba tauba tauba tauba

aik hamara zamana tha log sharam se paani paani ho jaate thay

tauba tauba

thoo thooo thooo

tauba tauba tauba

:lahol: thoo thoo karni hai kaheen aur chali jao please:hoonh: yahaan par pehlai hi bahoot gandgi hai :blush:

sleeveless means shameless …not good muslimah and very bad in eyes of allah :swt: and a believer:p(well certainly in ma eyes). …dusn,t matter if some ppl dun like being defined in that way:halo:…