Results and their consequences

Re: Results and their consequences

^Haan Its pretty the same if you change there, here, and some figures there too. But all in all a great observation :k:

Hahaha… so Saleem bhai predicted “combined” PML :hehe: Thats a good one, man. Next time, say “I predict that political parties will get 272 seats”. Then you will be 100% correct, 100% of the time. :rotfl:

One point to note is that PPP almost swept Sind in National and will likely form the provincial government there. Likewise, Punjab's provincial government will be dominated by PML-N. ANP will likely form government in NWFP.

C-O-A-L-I-T-I-O-N is name of the game in all these provinces. All these parties will likely have to coordinate with each other at some level in all of these provinces. PML-Q can be effectively be sidelined in Baluchistan.

It's also true that these parties effectively remain the same at provincial levels as they are at the National. Only this point alone is sufficient enough to force all these three parties to form a broad National government. The 38 or so independent NA members will most likely join the government and give sweeping powers to start mending the constitution.

I think the verdict against Musharraf's destructive policies has been unequivocally unanimous and the bigger parties PPP and PML -N understands this very well.

Well, here is my post. I cannot change the post after 24 hours so it is as it was :slight_smile: … no rigging. … Read yourself :slight_smile:

Figures are for 342 seats, that includes 60 seats for women and 10 seats for minorities, that would come in proportion to seat won in direct election and would go only to parties (not independents). That means what parties got in election plus what they would get, would be approximately (final result)

**PPP = ****112 seats **
MQM (A) = 25 seats
ANP = 12 seats

PML(Q + F + J + Z) + NA + PPP(Patriots) = 64 + (?) seats
PML(N) = 83 seats
MMA =** 3 seats**
****Ind ****= 27 seats

good idea :slight_smile:

Aitzaz Ahsan live on GEO!!!

Aitezaz: I’m a proud member of my party"…Mashallah :jhanda: Hats off to this awesome personality.

These are very interesting results. If PML and PPP don't unite, Musharaf will continue to enjoy supremacy. It would be another 2.5 years of democracy and army will flourish.Political parties ko chahiay kay mulk ko mil kur khaiN like they have done in the past.We have given them a chance again to suck our blood. We are a smart nation after all.

Imran Khan boycotted the elections. Now what? I am sure he proved his point to somebody somewhere.

^ lol. to be fair I dont think anyone expected unmanipulated polls, so on principles he didnt make such a wrong decision. as it turned out, he probably squandered the one chance he'll get to make a difference to the Pakistani political scene.

however, I believe he and JI et al are even bigger losers than PML(Q), since while PML(Q) folks will eventually go whence they came from, PTI and JI are absolutely in the cold for the next four-five years.

As I have stated several times, personally I am skeptical about PPP and PML (N) joining together. In my mind, its a lot like asking Republicans and Democrats to put together a coalition government in the US. If the two parties unite then what the heck were they fighting about for all these years. Having said that, they have one big common enemy right now, and both parties have to battle for the survival of these newly elected assemblies.

Here is a really interesting artcile in Newsweek that is posted today.

Just an excerpt:

What’s more, Musharraf, although badly wounded politically, retains the constitutional power to dismiss summarily any government the two parties may cobble together. The danger to Zardari’s and Sharif’s nascent victory is clear. Neither could survive as long as Musharraf remained a powerful president. As a result they have a common goal that will keep them together: to drastically curb Musharraf’s presidential powers, or even remove him from office.

That’s why most Pakistanis expect, and indeed want, the new national assembly to make its first order of business to cut the once powerful Musharraf down to size. Already he has lost two legs of the tripod that has kept him in power. He is now bereft of any political support in the national assembly. Having resigned as chief of army staff last November under heavy domestic and international pressure, he can no longer rely on the army to back him. The army’s new chief, Gen. Ashfaq Pervez Kiyani, has clearly stated that he is removing the military from Pakistani politics, which it has dominated for at least half of the country’s 60 years of independence. “The army will be very happy with this result,” says Gen. Masood of the election. “They no longer have any stake in Musharraf. He is a liability to them.” Nevertheless, Musharraf remains powerful as a result of sweeping constitutional powers that he gave himself through a series of controversial amendments that he rammed through the previous rubber-stamp national assembly.

The new parliamentary body therefore is expected to take direct aim at his legal authority. The first target may be the constitutional amendment that gives the president the power to dismiss the prime minister, the elected government, and to dissolve the assembly. That law can be overturned by a two-thirds national assembly vote. The national assembly can also strike a crippling blow against Musharraf by not validating the state of emergency order he issued as army chief last November. That draconian act removed the most independent judges from the Supreme Court, including Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry, knocking out constitutional challenges to Musharraf’s re-election as president for a new five-year term. If the assembly votes against “indemnifying” Musharraf for the imposition of the emergency, which he has admitted was an illegal act (he got away with it because he was head of the army), the cashiered judges could be restored quickly to their former positions. Most Pakistanis favor the restoration of the judges—which was Sharif’s and his party’s sole political platform. And a restored judiciary headed by Chaudhry would most likely revisit the constitutionality of Musharraf’s disputed presidential victory, thus threatening his presidency. The new assembly will also try to alter the 17th amendment, which gives the army a constitutional role in government as a key player in the National Security Council.

To be sure, Musharraf will fight any attempt to strip him of his powers. An authoritarian figure whom Bush and other world leaders have fawned over, Musharraf won’t happily shrink away to become a figurehead president. But if he fights back too eeee

Where do you make this stuff up from? I clearly remember you syaing PPP would get 60 seats at the most.

Too late to back track now

By the way, personally I don't think PPP is in any hurry to restore CJ Ifti Chaudhry. They have no vested interest in the guy being back. Principles take a back seat to personal interest in Pakistan politics. If it seems that CJ Ifti will help cut down powers of Mushi (and ensure a long rule by the winning party), then yes, PPP will support bringing him back. Otherwise, no.

i think chief justice will come back by the new gov't coz people are counting on them and if they don't restore him people are gonna turn against them

and i love that pml(q) got out i was sick lookin at their faces
and who will be the prime minister from ppp is it bilawal

2 Likes

^ :rotfl:

The most important thing the results show that PPP is the only federal party that has roots in the entire country.. the damage to federation by the last 9 years can be lessened by bringing Balauchistan and NWFP in the main stream.. people of Pakistan have outrightly rejected that artificial democracy that was forced to suit few cartels and land grabbers.. Two main stram political forces are back and peopel are loving it :k:

Actually independents have no parties. so Saleem will have say “I predict human beings will get 272 seats” :hehe: But given that the list includes the Chaudhry clan as well as lotals with questionable behaviours, I’d say the best statement for Saleem would be to say “I predict that mammals will win all seats” :hehe: :hehe:

:rotfl: :rotfl: