Representing Pakistan

To be candid about it, I am somewhat disconcerted with the fact that most of our players in the Pakistan Cricket team do not do a good job of public speaking when it comes to representing the nation. I mean when I look at the team captains that have succeeded Imran Khan, I find that everyone has barely a humdrum capacity to communicate effectively and confidently in a poised manner in front of the media. When someone represents a country at an international level, I think public speaking should be given more serious thought. This is not to undermine someone’s ability to play or lead or coach, and I know that the commonplace education system in Pakistan lags behind in the area of teaching these skills, but perhaps the PCB should administer some sort of a leadership & communication program for its young players who will be representing Pakistan for the years to come.

Public speaking skills are good, though not necessary to lead our national team. Most captains gain it thru experience. When Inzi was appointed captain he'd really struggle, now he is much better. One reason may be that he uses Urdu more often while giving TV interviews. Urdu is our national language and as much as possible, the captain should be permitted to speak in the national language. Making many of them (Inzi, Yoyo, Razzak, Yasir etc) speak in English is an undue torture on them.

Faisal, English or Urdu is not the issue at hand... I have absolutely no problems with players not knowing English albeit it'll improve the team's image greatly if at least the captain could speak it fluently. All I'm saying is even when players communicate in Urdu, there's a need to have them express themselves more proficiently!and somehow make this a professional development initiative rather than criticism of their language skills.

I was pleasantly surprised to see how Razzaq has improved his speaking in just under three years. This guy is one confident bloke.

Inzi may not be good at English but he has a very likable personality and people love to hear him talk. He somehow makes them feel at ease. I must confess that I did not like Inzi when he was first made captain. But the more I hear him the more I like him. He is very honest and doesn';t mince words. Admits his mistakes unlike some other captains who give a politicised answer.

I remember he joked about his decision to bat the next day on the 4th evening in New Zealand. And after the match he said he was worried looking out the hotel window that he did make a mistake.

Ganguly on the other hand comes as too 'defensive'. He is always defending his decision no matter how wrong. He also tries to belittle opposition which is not so smart after the fact.

yes - i remember him saying that he did not have a breakfast that morning when it was supposed to rain(which never happened) :hehe:

Well these guys are known as cricketter, not as English professor.So it is fine if they cant speal english. Problem comes when they try to speak english. Why there is this inferiority complex that one has to speak english.If you dont know just speak in your mother tongue. Shabbir and Inzi looked funny trying to speak english.
Just plain ...start speaking in Urdu.If commentator doesnt know Urdu he will bring translator or someone who knows Urdu will interview you.

i totally agree qith faisal…ya man…theyre there to play cricket and not to talk english…we dont giv a damn asto weheter or not they can talk in english or not…as long as they play at 110%…were happy :jhanda: — a few of my indian and gora and also arab mates teez me bout this but thats wat i tell em…and sum gurls say "look at the indians…they r so good lookin n hot while the pakistanis r ugly " and i say the same thing…bloody hell…they r cricketers not models or government spokesmen…cricketing skills r the one and only selection criteria

I've never been one to be too bothered about how our players speak english as long as they do the business on the pitch. I like the idea also of having them speak in their own language rather than watch them struggling to comprehend what the guy is asking in front of the cameras.

I have to admit though I do miss the days of listening to Wasim Akram and Waqar giving interviews as captain. Inzi's a good bat but his interviews are usually hopeless and he just comes across as plain dumb. Which is fine as a batsman but as captain is unimpressive.

I disagree about Ganguly as well. He's a fine ambassador for India and I like the Indian team he has moulded. They used to be a bunch of chokers but these days they have some backbone. He seems like an intelligent guy to me.

Guys I’m NOT advocating that our players speak English… read the post…
all I’m saying is that the team needs to get better at public speaking – whatever the case, they represent the country at a professional level, and I regard these skills if not as the most important, but still vital!

^^ I too think that Inzimam has a very modest and unassuming attitude and its pleasing to the players and public but he can still express himself better in front of the media - accepting mistakes is a commendable quality but there's also nothing wrong with being a little assertive in your beliefs and decisions !

I agree 100 percent umar talib... I think i,ve brought this up in the past as well. We definitely need some public speaking training for our lads. And yes funguy,, i,m quite impressed with razaq too :D

we were all sitting there going oh no,, ab razaqay ko angraizee bolni parray gee,, but he actually impressed us all. Hes getting better. Confident guy.

Captain in particular,, and everyone else too,,, they need to be trained a bit on the side, just a few tips on how to carry themselves and how to speak in front of the cameras. Also, if a guy cant speak english, he should just tell em hay i cant speak english, get a translator if u want my comments. Instead of blabbering on in whats supposed to be english.

Don’t mind me saying but I loved the way Yasir said “There was a lot of moisturizer in the pitch” when he was interviewed after his 98. Also I like the way Inzi starts off all interviews by saying “Bismillah-e-Rehman-e-Rahim - Allah ka shukr” whether we win or lose. Its very nice. :k:

That was Shabbir. :rotfl:

Oh come on Faisal bhai! Immediately after moisturizer, he went on to say moisture, which means he realized his mistake. :stuck_out_tongue:

Oh as for Razzaq :k: He’s da man. After Peshawar he said “First thanks to my Allah” I thought that was sooo cute.

Yeah.. sorry, it was Shabbir. My mistake.

Also, Who was it (Yasir ?) with whom Rameez started the interview in English than after the first question switched to Urdu, the cricketer relaxed visibly and then went on for quite a fluent interview. Turned out he had good things to say, just that English was not his favorite language.

*Originally posted by Faisal: *

Also, Who was it (Yasir ?) with whom Rameez started the interview in English than after the first question switched to Urdu, the cricketer relaxed visibly and then went on for quite a fluent interview. Turned out he had good things to say, just that English was not his favorite language.

It was Inzi after first match.

this moisturizer bit brings a smile, however as sehar just informed us, he corrected himself so no :smiley: :nono:

Yes, the way inzi starts all his interviews with “:bism: Sab se pehle Allah taala ka shukar” is very nice :k:

I believe more or less all of us are in agreement on the idea that we perhaps need effective public speaking skills (languages don’t matter) for our players…or at least the frontline players like captain and others that are most likely to be called upon as man of the match. The issue though really is that any of our players are capable of being ‘the man’ on the day to poori team ko aik he dafa acha sa course kara dein thori public speaking ka. Of course, it will get down to their personal capacity to absort whatever they can of the course contents, but they will definately get better.

If Reema and Saima can improve with their public speaking (and that too in English) to phir yeh to laiq faiq bachay hain :Pretty:

I think in the current series, Rameez protects our urdu-medium cricketers by talking in Urdu, which is very good… but the only remaining problem for now is that after toss, its Ian Chappal and Inzi one to one. Will it be a good idea for Inzi to take Shoaib (with his weird Aussie+Brit accent) as a translator? It will be fun :hehe:

Faisal.,

It is not question of protecting. I think it is the problem of TV channel.Why player bother about it? If our player is good cricketer it should be fine with us. Let them pay for translator. Look at flipside ..Now these TV channels will have to keep one Desi cricket in their team.

Unless Inzi suddently starts pretending he does not understand a word of what Ian Chappal is saying... how do you suggest he gets out of this?

*Originally posted by Faisal: *
Unless Inzi suddently starts pretending he does not understand a word of what Ian Chappal is saying... how do you suggest he gets out of this?

Well use it as a weapon when you wana dodge those tricky questions. :D