Representing Pakistan

Reminds me of a former Russian Foreign Minister Gurmeko. The dude spoke fluent English, but in his memoirs he says that he’d get a translator anytime he is in a meeting with Americans, cz it gave him additional time to think about his response.

If you can get over your ego by coming across as dumb in English, this is a mighty fine approach :k:

One thing Inzi can do.. is after toss, when Ian Chappal brings the mike, something like this happens

Ian Chappal: "So, Inzimam, once again you won the toss today. Why did you choose to bat?
Inzimam: “Bismillah-e-Rehman-e-Rahim. Sabb say pehlay tau Allah ka shukr. Aaj hamm ne pitch dekh ke faisla kiya hai ke…”

It will be fun to see Ian’s face. :hehe:

^woh apne bholpan se dil jeet le ga. aap dekh lay na!

:Pretty: inzi

Inzamam should learn from the former India captain Azharuddin.
Azharuddin was a babbler....his angrezi repertoire consisted of a few lines which he would repeat over and over again..."Boys played well"..."Boys need to play better"..."Boys are going to give their best"...
He would not go into details on anything....lest his limited vocabulary got exposed....

now u dont get an imran khan or a wasim akram every day....

but if u wont someone who'd talk good on the mic u have a good option in shoaib akhtar.... :p

oh man..that would be historic event!! :rotfl: :rotfl: :rotfl:

I believe it was Saeed Anwar who started using :bism: to start all his interviews. He was followed by Waqar Younis, who too did the same all through the last world cup interviews. And now, Inzimam. Could be something they caught on from Saeed Anwar, or perhaps something thats ‘coached’ by the PCB.

But frankly, all indian players seemed to be quite confident in their interviews, and gave answers that stirred a conversation…even Kartik the other day. Whereas Pakistani players usually give bland answers that dont give the interviewer much of a chance for a follow up question. I heard they had hired a speech therapist (english coach) for Shoaib Akhtar. They should hold public speaking classes for the entire team, because frankly, anyone can be pulled up for an interview at any time.

I agree with Faisal bhai :k:

They’re there to represent Pakistan’s cricket talent, anything else doesn’t matter, unless they have bad characters or are doing something unethical which they are not.

Plus, I think they communicate fine. That’s their natural way of communication so let it be. Why force them to communicate in a different way, more ‘fluently’ will just add artificiality and assumed airs and take away the naturalness, spontaneity and intrinsic humility that most of our players have :mash:

Indian players seem too chalaak and too polished with their fluent English and too much confidence. I like the paindoo touch in our players :jhanda: :mash: