Guys, is it worth to report your spouse to the Dept of Homeland Security , who marry you just to gain green card? do you think DHS will take any action or its just a hassle? ![]()
Re: reporting spouse to Dept of homeland security
you can report him to US dept of Citizenship and Immigration. Dont report the poor guy to homeland security. That will ruin his life forever ![]()
^what if thats what she wants?
both department are tightly integrated, report anywhere it will always go in DHS record.
Uscis will revoke his green card. You could report to homeland security just for fun
Won’t you get in trouble too though?
Report him if you can prove that you didn’t know his intentions and you thought he loved you. Like if you have pre-wedding letters, gifts, pictures together, phone call receipts etc.
And make sure you don’t have any emails where you mention him getting his GC when he marries you :halo:
Uscis is a subdivision of DHS isn’t it ?![]()
Well, is that person mean to you? Maybe he/she could be a good spouse? Well you know better I guess.
Yes, DHS is subdivision of every law enforcement department, and obviously it works with USCIS officially.
A minor traffic violation/warring also sits in DHS record.
BTW, if he got unconditional GC, you can not do anything if he proves legit relation. If you really have substantial evidences against his intention, then he may be deported. Check your PM, I have sent you link. That is more appropriate forum for your question.
That’s what i want to make sure that how its going to affect me… i mean any rough ideas how long it takes? and is it really worth the hassle ? of course its not afun thing when you realized that some one abused you for personal gain .. have no interest in you but just GC ![]()
acha hai na ruin hoo…yeh hee tu hona chahyeh. and i m sure thats what she wants.
Homeland security will refer it to INS anyway after listening to your "complain".
He tried to take advantage of you but by reporting to homeland, you will be taking advantage of him. Do what is right (i.e report to INS) and move on.
Yes, report him, if he ated deplorably towards you, teach him a lesson, these kind of people need to learn they cannot treat people like this, they need to learn some principles and values. Get him deported he doesnt deserve any benefits
A side note buut i heard of cases where wife claimed in the court during divorce hearing that hubby is suspected terrorist, just so she gets the kids custody
That's what i want to make sure that how its going to affect me... i mean any rough ideas how long it takes? and is it really worth the hassle ?
I'm assuming you're a U.S. citizen. If that's true then you really don't have anything to worry about (not unless you're planning on committing a major crime like mass murder, treason etc.).
The only thing you need to do is send USCIS a notarized letter. Write in the letter exactly why you believe your spouse married you ONLY for immigration purposes and never had any intention to build a life with you. If you have any documentation or other evidence that can serve as proof of this....then attach that too. Of course, make sure you include his full name, birth date, your current case # etc. That's all you need to do. Write a letter, get it noratized just to make it a bit more "official"....and mail it in. Of course, definitely send in proof that the marriage is over (ie. separation and/or divorce papers). Oh and send it by certified mail to make sure they received it.
The USCIS will not "go after him" just for this. However, if your spouse has conditional permanent residency....they will not renew it if he tries to get it renewed. If your spouse already has the permanent residency.....then this could be a big issue for him if/when he tries to apply for citizenship OR renew the residency after 10 years. And of course, if he marries someone else who puts in a application to sponsor him....this will definately cause a big headache.
Side note: Keep in mind that the USCIS recognizes residency/citizenship as a benefit of the marriage. Technically, they don't have a problem with someone marrying for green card/citizenship. What they do have a problem with is if that person intended to end the marriage as soon as they obtained the immigration benefit. While green card can be A reason to get married....USCIS has a problem when that's the ONLY reason. You must write in your letter why you believe that your spouse's intent was to end the marriage once he obtained the immigration papers.
Oh and btw, make sure you don't sound angry or vindictive in the letter. The letter should be written in a way so that it sounds like you're just trying to be a law abiding citizen who was fooled by someone trying evade U.S. immigration policies. Keep your emotions out of it. Because if the letter makes you sound like a jilted wife who is after revenge....then that makes your claims less credible.
^ but that what she is after ...revenge :)
I think they need to set up a new department of Home Security.
Make sure you are very 'ceative' in your complaint ;)
Dude I’m not taking any revenge … just sad that i trusted someone so blindly (d’oh he is my Cousin) so no need to recite my story about the **** Desi wedding :o why local relatives taking advantage of their overseas relatives ![]()