reporting a frikkin stupid article.

this one:

http://www.gupistan.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=152885#post2537883

Its highly bilious, even by today’s standards, against Islam, and no, not the jihadist version of it. Not surprising, considering that it comes from a freeper-ite rag.

Specifically it opines that the ugly reality of Islamic attitudes towards jews is rooted in Prophet Muhammad. It craftily portrays an event as ethnic cleansing authorised by the Prophet, by omitting vital details. It churns out oddities from Muslim past, selectively focusing on the bloody events and paints Muslims as a culture that dabbles exclusively in gore traced back essentially to having a prophet who sets the trend for hijacking and killing innocent people and amassing skulls.

I have already replied in the thread, an hour and a half ago. The poster has not removed the article or replied to my post. It is yet to be addressed by a moderator.

While bending over backwards to accomodate guest ethnicities/religions, we should not have to take this bull crap while there is more than enough of it to go around on non muslim forums/media.

Kindly address it.

Vah ji Vah…if such attention was given to establshing truth and quality in articles or post all around, it would be greatly appreaciated. You can start by removing 90% of posts in WA and half religion posts.

Jazakallah thanks for shaing. :flower1:

Thanks for your feedback. The posts have been removed for a review.

Well, for what its worth, I reviewed the article and (IMO, its a crappy opinion, bunch of wrong conjectures and clearly misguided, but) it was on topic and these things need to be answered. And answered in the right way to make it clear to the readers why the original opinion is misguided. I understand where you are coming from (disinformation etc), but I believe these misconceptions can be cleared only when we debate them and not when we delete them. My (quite valuable) $0.02. :-)

i swear, i would put my hand on the Quran and state this, that i read this thread subsequent to having posted in the thread in the Religion Forum (where i said i would reply on Monday/Tuesday and thanked everyone for their responses). But since someone opened this thread in Feedback and it sounds serious enough, i will respond here and now and reply in the Religion Forum thread on Monday/Tuesday.

That article that you took offence against, Ravage, was posted by none other than Andrew G. Bostom. The source it was located in, is none other than FrontPage magazine. These two facts, alone, should tell you a great deal about the inherent biases that the author is coming from. This author would be laughed out of any serious academic discussion; to post an article by Andrew G. Bostom and pass it off as an article worthy of serious discussion, would be like me posting an article on Jews by Osama bin Laden.

A.G. Bostom is an author whose writings reveal him as a racist. No one should take my word for it - all you have to do is google his name and read some of his writings. Read the website of the magazine in question. You will find out what sort of background the two come from. It is laughable to even talk about this pathetic excuse of a man, an avowed out-and-out racist and Muslim-hater in every sense of each syllable.

He brings nothing constructive to say. All he does, is feed on anti-Muslim paranoia and thrives on it. He is not worth the paper he writes his opinions on because he can never substantiate his hatred and racist opinions with concrete facts. Ignore it and pity this sorry excuse of a "writer" for his ignorance.

Originally posted by Faisal: *
Well, for what its worth, I reviewed the article and (IMO, its a crappy opinion, bunch of wrong conjectures and clearly misguided, but) it was on topic and these things need to be answered. And answered in the right way to make it clear to the readers why the original opinion is misguided. **I understand where you are coming from (disinformation etc), but I believe these misconceptions can be cleared only when we debate them and not when we delete them. My (quite valuable) $0.02. :-)

do not ever close any thread then apply this law.
my share $0.02

The guys is at Brown University and is often published in NationaL Review. A doctor by trade, he is much more respected for his writings then anyone here.

What qualifications do you all have for saying he is a racist? Any literary review background? Do you guys review articles for the New Yorker?

All this castigation is just the simple inability to debate his assertions which are probably better researched and respected, and dismissing it as racist etc..

Someday, I am going to write a book about GUpshup and call it the Ostrich Syndrome. :hehe:

Someday, I am going to write a book about GUpshup and call it the Ostrich Syndrome.

No one is stopping you. Send me a copy of the book when you finish it.

You will have to pay for it like everyone else. :snooty:

i should get some discount for being your favourite tree-hugging, bandana-wearing, Che-wannabe hippy :snooty:

Faisal

there is no end to the misconceptions that can be brought in to be debated, some of them immensely annoying, others betraying a shocking degree of contempt for the religion.

hit and run attacks like the one initiated in this case, where a poster finds it fun to post an offending piece for the heck of it, and not for the sake of 'debate' might end up getting more leevay than they should.

the reason I asked for the removal of the article was that
- it had been answered
- nobody turned up to offer counter arguments for about two hours
- while follow ups to it remained unanswered, it was an ugly reminder of the absolute crap people can write and recommend to others. i dont think that it deserved your web space, when it wasnt even serving the purpose of 'debate', and was merely one man's venting of vitriol against us.

The guys is at Brown University and is often published in NationaL Review. A doctor by trade, he is much more respected for his writings then anyone here.

What qualifications do you all have for saying he is a racist? Any literary review background? Do you guys review articles for the New Yorker?

All this castigation is just the simple inability to debate his assertions which are probably better researched and respected, and dismissing it as racist etc..

Someday, I am going to write a book about GUpshup and call it the Ostrich Syndrome.

My post remained on the thread for two hours, during which time you were active on the forum. Neither you, nor anyone else came up with anything to counter my post. Im open to debate now too, should you wish to seek it.

But I dont think you do. You are the type that revels in anything that mortifys Muslims in general, and simply resent that it was taken off when it should have been.

As for the guy being an intellectual at Brown Uni, funny that you remember academia credentials only when talking about those who's opinions concur with your own. Edward Said, Noam Chomsky et al, somehow I dont think you'd agree with their messages, inspite of their being ever so much more respected than this jerk.

nadia

i completely agree. sad state of affairs when frontpagemag and free republic garbage starts sprouting from seemingly more intelligent posters.

Matty, come on man. Lets not defend the racist. I have read most of his articles, he is a racist-through and through. He should stick to his professin ( I am assuming he practices medicine). He is no authority on History much less Islamic History. He quotes a lot of other authors mostly Jews and right wing neocons who twist history to their liking.
Lets take him for what he is, a hatemongering reacist.

Matsui Fukyama and Huntington are racists, yet academic scholars. If one is respect that doesnt mean is not a bloody racist. Louis Farakhan is a bloody racist but very well respected.

In my books, if anyone is a racist, then i don't pay attention to their written garbage. i don't care if the person is a Muslim racist or a non-Muslim racist. Bull$ht is bull$ht, whoever writes it.

So he is a racist and muslim-hater and this article has been published. Is it better to leave it off forums or point the facts out for those of us who have no idea who he is or what he usually writes? I read some of the offending article and saw that that the guy was trying to equate 7th century events with what is going on today. I'm of the same view as Faisal on this one, at the end of the day this is a discussion board and it's probably better just to point out the fallacies. Like it or not there are people out there claiming to be muslims who are beheading victims. It's international news we can't run away from it.

Is it better to leave it off forums or point the facts out for those of us who have no idea who he is or what he usually writes?

I think it's better to leave it off the forums because it may cause a ripple or two which can disrupt the comfort one is feeling by burrying his head in the sand.

The thing is that very fact you have to even argue this point is quite pathetic. MiaN ravage here should doob marna in chullu bhar paani. But what really flushes this whole thing down the drain is Baba G. I change my stance on him. I think he is a che just like the others. Otherwise who else could in his right mind would come out and move it to review folder instead of telling miaN ravage kay jee, you find it racist, prove it. Debate it. That's what this place is for. Ullu.

Well Babag is PA right. And PA has been nown for his conspiracy theories for a while. Just changing a nick doesn't make an ostrich into a swan. :Pretty:

Not that Swans are objective. But atleast they look good.

This conception that we are "bending over backwards to accomodate guest ethnicities/religions" is misguided. No one goes out of their way to accomodate anyone.

Xtreme, I wish the bending over backwards part was true. Would make them more receptive. :(

*Originally posted by Mr Xtreme: *
This conception that we are "bending over backwards to accomodate guest ethnicities/religions" is misguided. No one goes out of their way to accomodate anyone.

I think trying to accomodate anyone going out of your way actually is a character flaw. It leads unprincipled treatment and hurts fairness. People should be grown up enough to not to be needing accomodations. You come here to talk. You talk.

This whole "trying to accomodate" is only a hoax. Any administration who tries to direct course of discussion by intervention is not there because they want to serve anyone but rather either to impose their own standards on others or get high on power trips. First one is idiotic and latter one is childish.