Renaming cities and other places

Re: Renaming cities and other places

Why the river got name nag? due to its snake like shape?

BTW name of Leningrad was changed to St.Petersburg

And Stalingrad to Volgograd

Ninja are you a Surkha?

I think so…:konfused:

Ab laal topi wale ke saath laal parcham walon ka bhi mureed bataa rahe hain aap mujhe?

surkha=communist/leftist right?

Confirm and report. There might be a Nag pooja mandir somewhere on the banks of river.

Right. Lenin ke naam se mujhe shak huwa.

thats how our local media use it when some minister visits smrit sonia gandhi to complaint on party members :P

upcoure everyone calls it hyderabad or hyderabadu.bhagyanagaram is a very old name which generally media uses unlike other cities which were changed during british time

and what do u mean by locals ,almost 50 percent of population come from defferent parts of andhra state.....
hyderabad expanded almost 10 times. all those banjara/jubliee were some hilly terrain before film industry crush it to make one of the richest area in the country
places like hitech city/madhapur were seperate villages before turing into Huge IT market which is again brain child of mr chandra babu naidu who is not local

Residents of old city................:D

forget old city almost everyone calls it hyderabad

more like hyderabadu

ps:btw i find people of old city more friendly/helpful then other cities where i did stay
also when ru coming to hyderabad for ramzan

Inshallah i will be there during last ten days of ramzan…i want haleem and harees…:yummy:

Your favorite restaurant in old city?

i don’t like paradise in secunderabad or masab tank i dunno why it’s so crowded,just for brand name

fav one is bawarchi rtc cross roads
bahar in himayath nagar (hyderguda)

then there are few here st jubliee hills

lol…NO..it’s Bgayaa Nagar where Bagiya means GARDEN as far as i understand it…isn’t it? :slight_smile:

YES, Kashi and Varanasi are the same city.

baghyam means luck or blessing similar to sowbhagyam sanskrit word

,bhagyanagaram means city of luck or blessed since it was ancient capital of Kakatiya dynasty

ohhhhh...to, it's BHAAGYA [luck, Qismat]...someone wrote as BAGYA...the poster forgot to add an 'H' after B to make the BHA sound...now, i know it's Bhagya Nagar...

...it has been proposed and the name hasn't been officially changed yet...i think there will be a lot of opposition to it...right?

I remember reading that hyderabad was initially named Bhagnagar in honour of a nauch girl whom Muhammad Quli Qutb Shah was in love with. After they got married, her name became hyder mahal and the city’s name too changed to Hyderabad .:confused:

I kinda remember similar story… :hmmm:

Raam Bagh literally translates to pleasant garden. Ram = pleasing

Not always. In Pakistan, only the names given by British empire were change to more paksitani-ish names. Faislabad from Lyallpur, Sahiwal from Montgomery.

PS: I just read that Nawabshah is now Benazirabad? Please tell me that its not true :smack: