Renaming cities and other places

Why old names of cities, buildings, roads are changed considering the new era. In Pakistan, we found many cities (Sahiwal, Hyderabad, Faisalabad) which were renamed by the new rulers. There is also a trend to rename a building by the ruling party on the names of their leaders.

Why can’t we keep old names intact to keep the historical record straight?

Re: Renaming cities and other places

Cities were mostly renamed by political necessity of the political parties:)

What is the story of Mumbai and Bombay?

Nobody can come up with a single name for simple things like "Peace" or "goodwill" hell we cant even think of a single name for this world ion which we live or whatever created it... how on earth can we assume that place names will stay the same forever?

ven the earth does not last forever, one has to learn to cope with change.

right, but how do you see the intentional changes of names of cities (like Nawabshah) to Benazirabad and airports on the name ruling party's leader. Moreover, I disapprove the idea of changing names on the name of religion (like Raam Bagh to Araam Bagh)

ham log hamesha se bambai kahte the…Bombay to kam hii kahte the…Bambai is UP version of Mumbai…vo gaanaa thaa shaayad na k aamchi mumbai

…btw, Bambai = Bam + bai [bam=bomb + bai = bay] …is it because they used to dispose off/store bombs there lol? :cb:

Eee hai bambai nagariya
Tho dekh babuwa

babwa bambai nagriya, mumbai kahe ko bani

Mumbai I believe was the original name - after Mumba Devi (goddess)

Mumba was godess of what? sea?

Which other Indian cities went through the name changes especially after 1947 partition?

cities ke naam to nisbatan kam badle haiN…alphabetically to mushkil hai bas jitnaa yaad hai likh rahaa huN:

i notice that most names have been changed are in the South [restoring to their regional language names] while Muslim sounding names have been spared due to sensitivity.

banaras = varanasi
Trivandrum = Thiruvananthapuram
cochin = Kochi
Bombay = Mumbai
Calcutta = Kolkatta
Madras = Chennai
Bangalore = Bangaluru

oh, i found this list on Wiki…here it is:

Following city name changes have been proposed but i know in one instance [Allahabad] there is an immense opposition due to the word Allah in it’s name and also because there is a part of the city which is already named Prayag…Prayag is also a Railway Statio.

^^

most of the changed names were actually it's original from british or how they pronounced

madras original name was chennapatanam
bangalore is always called as bengulur atleast by locals and other south indian states
even though it's varanasi/banaras most of the people still call it as kasi

coming to new names proposed hyderabad is always reffered as baghyanagaram in local telugu media because of it's original name
for delhi media refer it as hastinapur

^^ Delhi was indraprastha, hastinapur is near meerut, UP

Locals of hyderabad always call it Hyderabad...........:D

agree! :) thanx...yeah, i have a pic of the Varanasi Railway station which i will post later and that is strange indeed...you'll look at it and tell me what is strange about it...ok? :)

exactly! :) Hastinapur near Meerut and i didn't know it! :(

:omg: Hydereabad to baingan nagar

Is Banaras and Kashi (Kasi) same? As in the Bhajan of Jodha Akbar Man Mohna (Kashi, Mathra) are mentioned?

:emmy: its Bhagya Nagar

oops :sid:

How about Nagpur? Was that always Nagpur? is there any mandir for Nag Pooja in the area?

No nagpur is named after Nag river.