^^^thanks spock!!!

*Originally posted by khekasha: *
^^^thanks spock!!!

No problem :)

Junoon and Ricky Martin Deut in talks

cheers matey

Thanks to wow, who works for Junoon, I have been able to upload a better version of the documentary, I think its 80Megs, so dialups, beware…

http://www.sohni-dharti.org/JunoonDoc/Mov21.ram

tell Salman ahmed to keep his mouth shut and stay in karachi. don't come back to peshawer ever again

Salman Ahmed is a hypocrite of the highest order. Maulana Bijli is an idiot for helping Salman conduct a very successful marketing campaign for Salman and Junoon.

I wonder how people like Salman who claim to be such patriots manipulate images and video as they wish to portray themselves as the only people in Pakistan who don't live in the stone ages. I'm sure I'm not the only person in Pakistan sensible enough to realize that Maulana Bijli is the scum of earth. But sellouts like Salman Ahmed do not deserve a lot more respect either.

I, in general, try my best to support Pakistani artists by buying their music (along with downloading) but as a matter of principle there will no more monetary support to Junoon from my pocket.

taliyaan taliyaan taliyaan
give da man a crown.
:jhanda: :bhangra:

To me the documentary was quite illusionary and highly biased. Picking any XYZ mullah from a street and getting him to say rubbish would have been OKAY if the documanry had tried to amass vareity of views. Rather they just stuck with some radical, extremist, and illitrate mullah trhoughout the documantary.

They should've talked to variety of people. For example MMA's MPs, who effectively passed the new shariat bill and the opposing group etc.

It all seemed like Salman Ahmed fighting the might of radical islam all by himself; which is quite untrue as Salman doesnt even live in Pak anymore.

I think overall the doc. provided only limited angles of the whole picture.

*Originally posted by sambrialian: *
Salman Ahmed is a hypocrite of the highest order. Maulana Bijli is an idiot for helping Salman conduct a very successful marketing campaign for Salman and Junoon.

I wonder how people like Salman who claim to be such patriots manipulate images and video as they wish to portray themselves as the only people in Pakistan who don't live in the stone ages. I'm sure I'm not the only person in Pakistan sensible enough to realize that Maulana Bijli is the scum of earth. But sellouts like Salman Ahmed do not deserve a lot more respect either.

I, in general, try my best to support Pakistani artists by buying their music (along with downloading) but as a matter of principle there will no more monetary support to Junoon from my pocket.

Sambz, thanks for replying...

Can you explain how Sal was being hypocritical? All he asked was a bunch of questions to Mualana Bijli, and he just gave out his answers... He didnt even express his opinion to Maulana Bijli. Oh, and if youre saying that the Maulana does not reflect the fundamentalists of Pakistan, then youre sadly mistaken. The MMA in the NWFP, who is now ruling the province are completely like him. They have banned music, they want women to remain indoors like the Maulana. This was not Salman's documentary my friend, this documentary was made by PBS, which only used Salman as an anchor. Salman believes in what he preaches, how is he a sell out? Is Pervez Musharraf a sellout too, because he said in the documentary that 'Go aheads, hundred blessings on you if you keep a beard, but do not ask me to keep a beard, I dont want one'. Why did he say that, if youre saying that Pakistan has no such fundamentalist problem? Salman has a love for Sufism, the harmonious and peaceful version of Islam that evolved in our own subcontinent, and is much better than the wahabism version, that is supported by Saudi Arabia, and promotes bloodshed and hatred in Pakistan. May I remind you that the responsibility of the recent killings of Shias in Pakistan has been accepted by a fundamentalist group in Pakistan? I await your reply Sambz.

As for Nussairee, you said they should have had MMA MPs in the documentary, well I dont think you saw the documentary, or you did not pay attention to the views of the MMA minister of minorities in the documentary, his views on everything were presented, so please view them again (he was the guy with the black turban), and oh yes, his views were pretty similar to that of Maulana Bijli. You said Salman living outside of Pakistan (which is not totally true) should void him the duty of fighting fundamentalism, well that means youre saying Pakistanis who go abroad to other countries arent Pakistanis anymore.

And oh yes, note to some other people who want to argue like children, please refrain, as we dont need your one line intellectual comments.

Thanks Spock yaar for the great real video cast. Unfortunately my VCR timer was screwed and I missed it.

Anyways, Salman was just an host for the viewers.

Nussairee, are you trying to say that the producers should have spoken to hundreds of people before? I think a Minister of a specific parliment represents the party's values very well. They all believe in the same nucleus values. About interviewing illitrate mullah's, unfortunately those are the gentlemen that pushed for the new laws to be implimentated. Those illitrate mullah's are the same Mullah's that are leading protests.

The Literate Mullah's don't seem to be in power. What's the point talking to the 'minority' of a region then?

[Quote]
Originally posted by sambrialian:
[/Quote]

Please elaborate on how Salman Ahmad is a hypocrite? The campaign is not in the favor of Junoon, but representing music as a whole for the Pakistani's. Like for instances, Salman was talking to those students, who said they were told not to be associated with anyone dealing with Music, but yet they prayed with Salman, a professional musician.
I don't see anywhere in the video how Salman is protrayed as a hypocrite.

Well said Sam Bhai :k: I couldn’t agree more.

Nice show thanks to spock.
I have to agree with Samb, only non majority of people in Pakistan are mullahs and the documentary forgot to show the real majority like regular modern age people.

*Originally posted by UMAIR316: *
Nice show thanks to spock.
I have to agree with Samb, only non majority of people in Pakistan are mullahs and the documentary forgot to show the real majority like regular modern age people.

You are right about the majority being tolerant Muslims, but you must realize that these mollahs have gained alot of power in Pakistan. They spread hatred, hate monging, and now since they are in power, they are in a better position to do so. Look whats happening in NWFP, they are doing whatever they want. A fundamentalist Islamic group claimed responsibility for the recent shia killings; so it becomes very necessary to highlight them.

P.S. alot of times the narrater did say 'mollah bijlis vision of Islam is not dominent in Pakistan', now this implies that the majority of Pakistan is not mollah supporters... They also showed tolerernt Muslims, like the sufis, and they also showed how girls and boys went to packed music concerts. hence a tolerent image of Pakistan was rightly portrayed as well...

for those of you who think this is a marketing campaign for Junoon, you're wrong....

firslty this only had Salman.. secondly, you must realize how bad the sitiation in NWFP is.. it's crazy and pathetic...unimaginable...I just had a friend go there who's told me stories....secondly, Salman already said beforehand that this documentary would offend many people...it's a courageous step he's taking.. no other Pakistani artist came up to take this step. someone has to take liberal steps in pakistan to make the society more open minded. I mean, look how crazy some people have gotten as a result of Salman playing his guitar to a verse in the Quraan.

MULLAHS SUCK and JUNOON ROCKS... watch the documentary if you haven't...

P.S. Plus, even if you have some problems with the content, go and contact the producers and directors.. that wasn't Salman's responsibility.. contact PBS...

www.sohni-dharti.org/JunoonDoc/Mov21.ram

www.sohni-dharti.org/JunoonDoc/Mov21.rm

The above link is for those who want to download the video in their computers.

Thanks SPOCK for all your efforts. I like yourself am I Junoon Fan, however, I thought the documentary could have been better... I would have prefered to hear the urdu version instead of the translations in english of Maulana Bijli.
Thanks. By the way, are you a US resident ?

While hearing an Urdu version would have been great I think as the programme was aired on PBS in the states they were better off sticking to English. I saw the documentry and I must say I never knew the situation was that bad in NWFP. It looks like a second Afghanistan. I couldnt believe they arrested a singers kids just becuase their father was a singer. I know things are fine in cities like Karachi, Lahore & Islamabad but its sad to see people from other cities can not enjoy the same freedom. As Musharaf said along the line of if you have a beard hundred blessings on you but dont ask me to have one cause I dont want one. Well everyone should have the right to practice what they feel like. If people in NWFP want to listen to music, let them. I mean just because a handful of people dont want to listen to something why penalize the entire population of the community??

*Originally posted by invu5: *
Thanks SPOCK for all your efforts. I like yourself am I Junoon Fan, however, I thought the documentary could have been better... I would have prefered to hear the urdu version instead of the translations in english of Maulana Bijli.
Thanks. By the way, are you a US resident ?

Well, Urdu version would have been good to hear, but then again, the documentary aired on an American channel called PBS so it had to be in English, or they could have put in sub titles. Also, the guy who put up the voice for translation did a pretty good job, in reflecting the tone of Maulana Bijli. We could still hear Maulana Sahib and some of his inflamatory words, reminded me of my molvi sahib in Pakistan ;)

Btw, im not a US resident.

*Originally posted by LahoriMunda: *
While hearing an Urdu version would have been great I think as the programme was aired on PBS in the states they were better off sticking to English. I saw the documentry and I must say I never knew the situation was that bad in NWFP. It looks like a second Afghanistan. I couldnt believe they arrested a singers kids just becuase their father was a singer. I know things are fine in cities like Karachi, Lahore & Islamabad but its sad to see people from other cities can not enjoy the same freedom. As Musharaf said along the line of if you have a beard hundred blessings on you but dont ask me to have one cause I dont want one. Well everyone should have the right to practice what they feel like. If people in NWFP want to listen to music, let them. I mean just because a handful of people dont want to listen to something why penalize the entire population of the community??

buddy NWFP is right now the best part of Pakistan. it chose the MMA they didn't come in by cheating like most of the goverments come in punjab and sindh. they have banned porn which is widely watched by boys and girls in panjab and sindh. they have made better skooling system. and they have done many other good things too. banning music is a very good thing the MMA did and the people of NWFP are very happy. we don't need a hippy (Salman AHmed) coming into NWFP and showing ppl the wrong way.