all I know She won my heart. Not many women can pull that off :). She is so classy and beautiful. ..
that does’nt mean anything ..
That’s the spirit sherry, hausla rakho, no guy can stand in your way if you’re determined enough :k:
Catch that plane to DC…
What the heck??????
n e ways................ the documentry got kinda boring half way on. I thought that it was going to be about junoon but junoon had little to do in that program.
If you were expecting that kind of show than it was nice.
but i was kinda dissappointed.
sherrybaba and Mr Xtreme:
Just as an FYI… the documentary was on Junoon and Mullahs not on Mishal’s looks and her boyfriend in DC ![]()
On the same note…if you liked her, you will also appreciate the similarly beautiful and friendly Sumi Das of Tech TV. Not only she is all that but got a brain too. Nothing beats a synergical combo of beauty and brains.
Three words:
Mashallah and Inshallah!
now can someone tell me something..
this mullah bijli whatever the hell he is....why was he cursing while talking, words like haraami, haramzaday, su-war etc etc.
Now one one hand these clowns go about saying that one should follow the example of the prophet, on the other hand they are potty mouthed.
If i ever run into this mullah electricity, I will buy the oldest, heaviest, largest peshwarai chappal I can find and slap him around a bit.
Amazing how a thread on Junoon transformed into one on Mishal Husain.
Loneliness and boredom are a potent mix ![]()
Since I am not lonely, just bored :)..I’ll throw in Daljit Dhaliwal, super fine lady. Got a chance to speak with her after a SAJA meeting, seemed to be quite a conversationalist and drew much attention.
*Originally posted by hskhan: *
Go to the very beginning when they show people playing cricket on the beach with apartment buildings in the BG. Its Karachi.
Yep, I saw that, but they didnt show much of it...
xtreme, and those that did not watch it, I have recorded it and am converting it into Real Player format and will upload it shortly...
Also, fraudia is right, that maulana should not have used those words, again thats hypocrisy. I am glad that Salman never lost his cool and won his arguments without raising his voice. His approach was nice, he wants to co-exists with these people, not wage a war against them. Even in the end Maulana Bijli himself couldnt help it but start singing, though it was a religious song, but it was in Punjabi and came straight out of the Maulanas heart, even though Salman never asked him to sing. This does prove something about music being haraam right?
Salman has been phenominal. Having met him so many times and worked with him I have had a chance to work with him I am becoming a stronger fan day by day. I have also witnessed thier success in places such as the US, where they pull massive crowds even in small cities. I personally am a big fan of their revolutionary songs such as 'meri awaz sunno', 'ehtesaab' (there are so many more).
P.S. Oh, and all of you are talking about that girl mishaal, did you guys check out the DJs that Salman was talking to?? The one who Salman says is a role model for so many Pakistani girls. Sherrybaba knows what I talking about right??
arughhhh i forgot all about it..and i missed it ![]()
Dont worry, I will upload it pretty soon…
May the Junoon be with you
P.S. This is quite funny, its from the official Junoon forum, and its Salman ahmeds post, hes quite funny isnt he?
These are the lessons he learnt from doing the documentary, with humour! hehe
btw…
P.s. the new york times link is about the Junoon documentary…
Documentary to examine Pakistan's conflicts
THE JOURNAL NEWS
(Original publication: July 15, 2003)
Salman Ahmad grew up in Tappan but became a celebrity in Pakistan by following the most American of paths: rock 'n' roll.
That vantage point affords Ahmad, 38, unique insight into the tug of war between moderate and radical Muslims in Pakistan, a key U.S. ally in the war on terror.
"In a country that is predominantly Muslim, there's a lot of fear of the West right now," Ahmad said yesterday in a telephone interview from his family's home in Tappan. "There's fear there's a war against Islam going on, and that's what hard-liners have played on."
Ahmad, a 1981 Tappan Zee High School graduate, is the lead guitarist and songwriter of Junoon, an immensely popular Pakistani rock band that has called through its Western music and Urdu-language lyrics for the South Asian nation to modernize and finally make peace with India.
He is also the focus of "Junoon: The Rock Star and the Mullahs," a documentary airing 9 p.m. Thursday on PBS (Channel 13 locally) that examines the state of the political and religious conflict.
Within the last year, religious parties have been elected to power in two of Pakistan's provinces, both bordering Afghanistan. Some have speculated Osama bin Laden and members of his al-Qaida network have been hiding in Pakistan's northern mountains.
Government leaders there have begun to implement sharia law, or Islamic law. So far, that's meant the total ban of music and movies and the return to traditional dress for men and women. Some see disturbing similarities to the rule of the Taliban in Afghanistan.
In the documentary, Ahmad interviews religious leaders, students in hard-line religious seminaries, a fellow musician and ordinary citizens to understand the clash within Islam and Pakistan.
Ahmad concluded Pakistanis aren't seeking a stricter interpretation of Islam, but what they perceive as security. In fact, they have derisive nicknames for the religious men, known as mullahs, calling them Mullah Electricity or Mullah Irrigation, referring to progress the mullahs want to halt.
However, Ahmad said the mullahs have been successful in convincing ordinary, mostly uneducated people that America is on a crusade against Islam and they alone can protect them. The invasion of Iraq, and the images of dead Iraqi women and children broadcast back to Pakistan, only helped their cause, he said.
"The more the war on terror looks like a war on Islam, the more the mullahs will be strengthened," said Ahmad, who moved to Pakistan after graduating from high school to study medicine before becoming a musician.
The fundamentalist Islamic parties are opposed by those who take a moderate view of Islam, people such as Ahmad or Pakistani President Pervez Musharraf, who seized control in a bloodless coup in 1999. In a contradiction that typifies Pakistan, Ahmad said the majority of citizens support Musharraf's vision of a liberal interpretation of Islam, yet the leader of the state has become increasingly unpopular for his decision to assist the United States in the war against terror. Many Pakistanis now refer to him as "Busharraf."
To date, nearly 500 people suspected of having ties to al-Qaida have been arrested in Pakistan and most have been handed over to U.S. authorities. In return for Pakistan's support, President Bush recently pledged $5 billion in aid to the country over the next five years.
Stephen Segaller, the executive producer for Wide Angle, which produced the documentary, said Americans should be keenly interested in how Pakistan's internal struggle turns out. For one, he said, Pakistan is the world's only nuclear-armed Muslim nation.
Also, Pakistan, home to 120 million people, is one of the few countries in the Islamic world that practices some semblance of democracy with its many political parties. The irony is that people winning those elections belong to the most hard-line of the religious groups.
Spock,
yara doing a great job keeping us updated. Be sure to thank Salman for doing such a great documentary. There is nothing wrong with music..If you listen to Parvaaz..the sufi inspired songs put you in a different mental state altogether. Junoon has been the most versatile, innovative music group of Asia..For people like Salman to tread on these difficult waters of Pakistan's mullahcrats, is a remarkable and courageous decision. Let's face facts, if they outlawed all music in Pakistan, Junoons music would still exist not only outside of Pakistan but also in the black markets of Pakistan..So for a member of that group to speak up against the rising tide of conservativism is quite an achievement.
*Originally posted by RajputFury: *
Spock,
yara doing a great job keeping us updated. Be sure to thank Salman for doing such a great documentary. There is nothing wrong with music..If you listen to Parvaaz..the sufi inspired songs put you in a different mental state altogether. Junoon has been the most versatile, innovative music group of Asia..For people like Salman to tread on these difficult waters of Pakistan's mullahcrats, is a remarkable and courageous decision. Let's face facts, if they outlawed all music in Pakistan, Junoons music would still exist not only outside of Pakistan but also in the black markets of Pakistan..So for a member of that group to speak up against the rising tide of conservativism is quite an achievement.
No Problem RF, and oh yes, Junoon was banned before simply because of the 'ehtesaab' video, but they came back a stronger band.
I have converted the documentary into mpg format, and have also compressed it into Real player format, if anyone wants it, please PM me, its about 16MB I think in real audio, and on tuesdays and thursdays Im on a T3, so I can send the mpg version, which is 500MB. The manager of Junoon.com is not letting me upload the documentary as its PBS copyrighted.
Those that missed the documentary, I have uploaded it… I dont have alot of space so I had to make it 8MB