Reminder: Junoon Documentary on PBS on July 17 2003

*Originally posted by EntityParadigm: *

EP is way better than junoon :-)

maybe, maybe not. I suppose it is up to personal preferences. If i think beatles were better than rolling stones, it dunn mean that rolling stones suck :)

we will see where EP is in a decade :)

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
kher the point is junoon's music...and whether you personally like it or not. The band has earned its place.

Right on Fraudz bhai! Remember, in a small city like Kalamazoo in the US how many people turned out for the concert, and trust me, being part of the organizing team, we were surprised to find out how many americans showed up... Believe me bhai, over here where I am at, alot of people know Junoon now, and it has transformed the PSA here to one of the best student organizations here.

But you are right, Junoon earned their place, and this did not just happen all of a sudden, like you said, they worked hard for it.

*Originally posted by funguy: *
WHoever can sing Allama Iqbal's poetry and turn them into a hit among youths of Pakistan, my hats and pants off to them. Junoon rocks!

Excellent point... I am inspired by the works of Iqbal, but I remember my olevel Urdu teacher once joked saying 'I tried my best to create interest for the work of iqbal in your minds, but I guess a band like junoon beat me to it'... Maybe her method was not permeable to the young minds of today. Just like Iqbal said 'Zamaney ke andaz badley gaye'..

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *
hmmm still is the best band pakistan has ever produced

paaa jeee..who has said its the best band? dont u think mai BBC and CNN ko CHITTAR par likhta hoon! it can be one of the best bands..but NOT THE BEST BAND!! trust me..

Noori all the way.

*Originally posted by Spock: *

Excellent point... I am inspired by the works of Iqbal, but I remember my olevel Urdu teacher once joked saying 'I tried my best to create interest for the work of iqbal in your minds, but I guess a band like junoon beat me to it'... Maybe her method was not permeable to the young minds of today. Just like Iqbal said 'Zamaney ke andaz badley gaye'..

Alama Iqbal ka gaya nahi unki likhi hoyi shairi ka BAIRA-GHARAK kiya! and now GHALIB ka kiya hai in DEEWAR.

*Originally posted by Arnold Shalwaar Nicker: *

Alama Iqbal ka gaya nahi unki likhi hoyi shairi ka BAIRA-GHARAK kiya! and now GHALIB ka kiya hai in DEEWAR.

Immature replies arent needed in this thread... Go cry somewhere else...

** Junoon on Entertainment Weekly **

Its the new one with Angelina Jolie on the cover. Its a small piece written by a reporter called MONICA MEHTA. Its on Page 70 and it has that picture from when Junoon performed Sayonee at the Channel V Music Awards in New Delhi back in 1998. It talks about Salman's upcoming documentary on PBS "The Rock Star and the Mullahs".

** This was posted on BBC today **

Junoon Asia’s Best Band

[thumb=C]_39266831_junoon203.JPG[/thumb]

*Pakistani rock group Junoon - once banned by the government from appearing on television, and later even from entering the country - can now boast President Pervez Musharraf as a fan. *

But although General Musharraf attended their latest tour, the band have insisted they remain as committed to their often-controversial political message as ever and have not become part of the country’s establishment.

Junoon are famed for publicly raising views on issues that many in Pakistan would rather be kept quiet, such as HIV/Aids, the Kashmir dispute, and corruption. They dismissed General Musharraf’s attendance at their gig as little more than a stunt.

“The establishment has joined us,” guitarist Salman Ahmed told BBC World Service’s The Ticket programme.

“What it says is pop culture drives politics, so strongly, anywhere in the world right now,” vocalist Ali Azmat added.

Aids mission

Junoon are the biggest-selling group in all Asia and have a massive fan base among the young in the subcontinent.

Their high-profile status led, two years ago, to them becoming goodwill ambassadors for the UN on the issue of HIV/Aids.

Ahmed, who attended medical college before joining the band, said that Junoon’s high-profile status conferred special duties on the band.

“People don’t want to talk about safe sex - they don’t want to talk about sex to begin with,” he said.

Pop culture drives politics, so strongly, anywhere in the world right now

Ali Azmat
"It’s something uncool enough for me to do to be honest and say: ‘Look, you have to take responsibility. You can’t be in denial, you can’t be looking the other way.’

“Each day 25,000 people get infected by HIV/Aids in India alone. In Pakistan we don’t even know the figures.”

Ahmed added that he felt the youth of the region were being suppressed by the older generation, which he said lacked direction.

“It’s really interesting on the subcontinent as far as youth is concerned because 50% of the people are aged under 25. They’re really open to being in the mainstream of society, to be modern yet hold on to their traditions,” he said.

“But the generation to which Musharraf himself belongs to, I think let down this country. They didn’t know where to steer it.”

Mantle

Junoon have constantly been a thorn in the side of Pakistan’s ruling authorities.

In the early 1990s a law was passed - aimed directly at the band - banning “jeans and jackets” from appearing on television.

General Musharraf attended Junoon’s last tour
“A lot of it had to do with politics because we are very outspoken, and we criticised government corruption through a video for a song called Accountability,” Azmat explained.

“[Former prime minister] Nawaz Sharif found that too hard to swallow, so he banned us.”

Ahmed added that Junoon’s effect had scared the authorities into taking action against them - first establishing them as the voice of Pakistan’s suppressed youth, a mantle they have held ever since.

“The reason for it was that before it happened there wasn’t really a youth culture, and all of a sudden in the early 1990s there’s a platform appearing,” he said.

"It’s a youth platform and people say whatever the hell they want to say, and it shakes the status quo.

“They don’t like that, so they said ‘these guys are changing things around, let’s watch out for them’.”

another propoganda documentary against pakistan and islam and not surpisingly junoon is going to represent wht true [moderate, acceptable to their lords USA] islam and wht is fundamental islam is. junoon, where one guy is a christian, other is a drinker, a pot-smoker and girl-doer and last but not the least, salman ahmed, who is more concerned abt those 2500+ ppl who got killed in 911[only bcoz they got killed in USA] than palestinians, iraqis, kashmiris, kosovoans etc. if these are not doube-standards then i rest my case :~)

*Originally posted by Arnold Shalwaar Nicker: *
Noori all the way.

we will see where noori is in 10 years :)

Yeah, kill all the Christians in Pakistan, thats what your mollah mentality in Pakistan says!!

More lies and propoganda promoted by mollah lovers :hehe: You guys couldnt even spare a great person like Jinnah, let alone Salman or Brian. Sheesh. But then again, Salman has been successful similar to how Nazia was successful, when Mollahs hated her guts, as she dominated the music scene in Pakistan.

Do you remember how they organized peace concerts to raise money for Afghanistan? I guess you conveniently left that out. Have you seen what Salman was defending when he appeared in politically incorrect, Bill Maher? He was defending Islam, whereas he was surrounded by three westerners who were trying to prove that the word Muslim was associated with terrorism.

Please, if you cannot carry out a discussion based on proven facts, then dont.

EntityParadigm - You're dumb.

*Originally posted by EntityParadigm: *
another propoganda documentary against pakistan and islam and not surpisingly junoon is going to represent wht true [moderate, acceptable to their lords USA] islam and wht is fundamental islam is. junoon, where one guy is a christian, other is a drinker, a pot-smoker and girl-doer and last but not the least, salman ahmed, who is more concerned abt those 2500+ ppl who got killed in 911[only bcoz they got killed in USA] than palestinians, iraqis, kashmiris, kosovoans etc. if these are not doube-standards then i rest my case :~)

tru junoon is biggest sellout ever. coke par charay hain
they should be taken to india and beaten with cricket bats.

JUNOON ROCKS!!!!

MULLAHS SUCK!!!!!!!!!

period...

eP bhai! Well Said :k:

can you clarify what he said well? Most of it happens to be non-factual lies anywayz… For more info, read Fraudia’s post…

Anyways, all you hate mongers, cry all you want, the fact is that they are Asia’s biggest band with a long shot…

Oh Well, that was a waste of time. The first 5 mins were the highlights, solely because it reminded me of Karachi. The rest was mumbo jumbo.

*Originally posted by hskhan: *
Oh Well, that was a waste of time. The first 5 mins were the highlights, solely because it reminded me of Karachi. The rest was mumbo jumbo.

Btw, that was Peshawar yar, not KArachi!

Im watching it, as I recorded it.... So far its been excellent, the narrative about how the mulllahs live and grow is running. Everything has been based on facts, nothing has been criticized so far, just a solid presentation of facts. Im waiting for Salmans part.

Gulzar Alams part is also touching, he was a small local musician in the NWFP, he was beaten, tortured, his family abused (his kids handcuffed even though minors cant be handcuffed). I must admit, those posts in which I supported the MMA in Pakistan Affairs forum, I shouldnt have done so... They are clearly abusing their majority in the provincial assembly.

Salman really made a fool out of Mollah Electricity! I hated it when that mollah said 'Pakistan is the biggest pig of them all' and 'keep the women at home, dont let them out'

These freakin’ mullahs, how the hell do you impose your openions on people and then still justify yourself :disgust: Mullah Mohd. Aamir was totally beyond convincess. “yeah everyone is heathen, sinner they’re all goin’ to hell, Islam has no place for music” what bullcrap, makes me sick. Please refrain from curse words-PCG load these dharis on a truck and dump’em in Kekraplistan, Afghnistan whatever. Sulman was really banging his head on a wall with that mullah.
While on the buss a few people said that leader of MMA themselves listen to music but stop us us from listening. Hypocrites.

BTW, Indus Music totally blows. God damn man, I can’t belive we have MTV standard music channal in Pakistan. The small clip shown of it was enough to make me a believer. Good work. Clip of Junoon’s No More was also shown.