Reminder: Junoon Documentary on PBS on July 17 2003

Spock...ignore bro..let us continue to promote junoon , even though they don't need it ;). They will get bigger and bigger no matter what the critics say..

Ah I can't wait yaar...The album and the documentary..

*Originally posted by Spock: *

Then marry him & leave this thread alone...

Please refrain from using insults which you would not want small kids viewing -PCG

Yeah, that will work… Jalney do in ko…

Did you check out the preview?

http://www.pbs.org/wnet/wideangle/about/film_s2_f2.html#

P.S. Here are the comments of Salman, as to why he chose to appear on that video… Courtesy of Junoon site…

A few years back (around the time of sayonee/azadi ) I felt that we had struck a chord with the mainstream of pakistani society.Most everyone jived with the
blend of rock guitars,tabla and sufiana poetry and saw our music as modern pakistani cultural expression.Everyone that is except nawaz sharif and his
henchmen who banned us for “desecrating islam”,long hair,jeans and being “westernized”.(i could understand the bit about long hair because mian sahib was bald and probably got jealous!)
I protested against the ban by writing an article in the national press (“the pariah’s of pakistani culture”)
which basically said that pakistanis should decide on what is culturally acceptable to them, not
the government or the clergy.Pakistan is already an islamic state it will always be an islamic state so why is their such paranoia and neurosis to hyper-islamicize Pakistan?

Two years ago farhat hashmi (a woman cleric) sent a letter to me with a cd and a couple of cassettes (no it wasn’t nusrat fateh’s greatest hits!)the letter and the tapes were her sermons against music and musicians/artists.Farhat hashmi wrote to me saying I was a tool of satan.She warned me that i was condemning myself to hell and that I should follow the example of those who had returned to the right path.

Next thing I hear is that my old buddy junaid does an about face and publicly renounces music.He dragged me to a tableeghi jammat gathering where all I heard were frightening
sermons about the wrath of Allah and the punishment to all those who are guilty of sin.
I just got up and left…
I’m a human being not some sheep or cow that you can beat into submission.The reason I believe in God and Islam is because it’s a religion of knowlege,love and tolerance.

Most of these Mullah’s don’t have any tolerance or respect for us and they look at the rest of us in Pakistan with contempt,arrogance and disrespect.
The film looks at ordinary pakistanis (like you and me) and those who want to force pakistan into a taliban like state.

The other point I make is that Islam in the subcontinent was spread through poetry and music not thru the sword.The pakistani islamic identity is heavily influenced by Sufism.
I’m talking about the sufism which recognises God alone without any intercessor,saint or middleman/woman.That is true freedom and that is my personal belief.No one has the right to condemn or judge anyone.
check it out!

*Originally posted by Spock: *
Seher, I request you to please remove these stupid & senseless replies from ASNs other nick... Thank you...

not everyone's like u and makes different accounts to promote junoon. as every1 can see i am not ASN. nor are other ppl who know junoon sux. unlike u junoon supporters who are almost all 1 person.

I felt that we had struck a chord with the mainstream of pakistani society.

Ok I am a Junoon fan too, but I think this where Salman is wrong. The Pakistani mainstream are fans of Ataullah Esakhelvi and the likes. When he wrote that article "Pariah's of Pakistani culture", in english, he wasn't addressing the Pakistani mainstream. They have no shared experiences or any point of empathy with Junoon. If they want the sufi experience they would rather go and listen to Abida Parveen, Pathanay Khan, Mai Bhaagi etc. Junoon is a great band but they should stop dragging in the term "sufi". They doing great witout inventing a genre for themselves. Just my opinion. I listen to Junoon for the Rock music, when I want sufiana kalaam, I go to the real thing. Hope I didn't fray any nerves. If I did, I apologize.

*Originally posted by mufakkar: *

Ok I am a Junoon fan too, but I think this where Salman is wrong. The Pakistani mainstream are fans of Ataullah Esakhelvi and the likes. When he wrote that article "Pariah's of Pakistani culture", in english, he wasn't addressing the Pakistani mainstream. They have no shared experiences or any point of empathy with Junoon. If they want the sufi experience they would rather go and listen to Abida Parveen, Pathanay Khan, Mai Bhaagi etc. Junoon is a great band but they should stop dragging in the term "sufi". They doing great witout inventing a genre for themselves. Just my opinion. I listen to Junoon for the Rock music, when I want sufiana kalaam, I go to the real thing. Hope I didn't fray any nerves. If I did, I apologize.

Well, honestly speaking, Atuallah Esakhelvi is now a thing of the past. I agree he was popular with mostly the uneducated music fans, but that not where our country's future lies. They draw huge crowds in Pakistan, alot bigger than any other band/singer. Alot of music Junoon plays encompasses Abida Parveen, for instance you must have surely heard the famous 'doom charakhra' phrase in their songs? Alot of their songs, such as 'lal meri pat' , 'bulleya' are direct sufi songs by the greatest sufi of all times, Baba Bulleh Shah, now if thats not sufism, what is?

Is this PBS am american channel ????

Is this documentary on Junoon being shown in the UK ?
Anyone ?

invu, yes PBS is an American channel. Stands for Public Broadcasting Service. It's a commercial-free not-for-profit channel and televises excellent documentaries/films/news and children's programming. Visit their web site at pbs.org

PBS rules! Thank God to all the American tax money and viewers who contribute, like myself! :D

*Originally posted by ahmadjee: *
PBS rules! Thank God to all the American tax money and viewers who contribute, like myself! :D

Did you see the pakistan india nuclear rivalry documentary made by Hoodhboy on this channel? Pretty good stuff!

*Originally posted by PakCanada: *
It's gonna suck what does salman ahmed think he is

I dont know what does he think he is, he seems to be a very confident yet a very humble person, you may wantto ask him yourself what does he think he is.

Now..I have liked some of junoon's work, I have not liked some of their work, but the same can be said for any group..gasp even hazrat pink floyd, hazrat beatles and hazrat led zep.. you cant expect a band to make all good songs, or all songs that you will like. I like the fact that junoon have experimented, tried to do different things, some work for a set of listerners and some dont, but they chart new musical territories and they get new listeners as well. Had they stuck with a formula where each album is the exact same as the last one it would get too boring, and it was headed that way kinda.

But, as far as Salman goes, its not his fans who are putting him as a UN figure, its these agencies who also notice his passion and his influence.

Pakistani pop/rock music would not be anywhere had it not been for junoon, vital signs and nazia/zohaib.

They have more than earned their place.

Peace..

:k: :k: :k:

Also, Salman working for the UN campaign against AIDS is also admirable…

nah. junoon still sux despite making some good muziq :~)
abt them abt AIDS Compaign etc, thatz all show-shaw. nothing good will come out with junoon involved :~)

hmmm still is the best band pakistan has ever produced..with bands like Vital signs and strings close behind.

if it were not for these pioneers, the band whose name you have as a nick, would probably be singing like hasan jehangir :D

hawa hawa ay hawaaa... :P

WHoever can sing Allama Iqbal's poetry and turn them into a hit among youths of Pakistan, my hats and pants off to them. Junoon rocks!

*Originally posted by Fraudz: *

I dont know what does he think he is, he seems to be a very confident yet a very humble person, you may wantto ask him yourself what does he think he is.

Now..I have liked some of junoon's work, I have not liked some of their work, but the same can be said for any group..gasp even hazrat pink floyd, hazrat beatles and hazrat led zep.. you cant expect a band to make all good songs, or all songs that you will like. I like the fact that junoon have experimented, tried to do different things, some work for a set of listerners and some dont, but they chart new musical territories and they get new listeners as well. Had they stuck with a formula where each album is the exact same as the last one it would get too boring, and it was headed that way kinda.

But, as far as Salman goes, its not his fans who are putting him as a UN figure, its these agencies who also notice his passion and his influence.

Pakistani pop/rock music would not be anywhere had it not been for junoon, vital signs and nazia/zohaib.

They have more than earned their place.

Peace..

well that is all fine it jsut says to me he is a whitewahsed rocker. laikin why is he thinking he knows more than the scholars and leaders of our country and relegion.?

Originally posted by PakCanada: *
**well that is all fine it jsut says to me he is a whitewahsed rocker. *

versus brown washed rocker? what are you trying to say here because I really dont understand what you mean. is being a rocker hard..no. Is being a good rocker hard..you betcha..

*laikin why is he thinking he knows more than the scholars and leaders of our country and relegion.? *

When has he said that he knows more than the people you mentioned, and how do you know that these people know more than him? and how do you know that is what he thinks.

I have not met Salman in 9 years, but I remember him to be a very humble person and did nto sense any ego issues.

Consequently can we ask why would one think that the political and religious leaders have a real handle on the pulse of the nation? their failure just indicates that mayeb they dont..wouldn't you agree?

*laikin why is he thinking he knows more than the scholars and leaders of our country and relegion.? *

When has he said that he knows more than the people you mentioned, and how do you know that these people know more than him? and how do you know that is what he thinks.

I have not met Salman in 9 years, but I remember him to be a very humble person and did nto sense any ego issues.

Consequently can we ask why would one think that the political and religious leaders have a real handle on the pulse of the nation? their failure just indicates that mayeb they dont..wouldn't you agree?

oki he might be humble and all laikin if u watch da preview of this he talks about how the people of the frontier as he puts it fundamentalists are doing this and that about music. to start of with music is haram so why wouldn't they ban it. and also how can a person who has studied Islam for a majour part of his life not no more than him and he shows that he knows more by making such coments on radio and tv.

Da faliure of da nation can be put in many ways. like whjy we follow american and indian society so much? and coroption is another it has nothing to do with religous leaders.

hmmm still is the best band pakistan has ever produced..with bands like Vital signs and strings close behind.

if it were not for these pioneers, the band whose name you have as a nick, would probably be singing like hasan jehangir :D

hawa hawa ay hawaaa... :P

EP is way better than junoon :-)

Originally posted by PakCanada: *
**oki he might be humble and all laikin if u watch da preview of this he talks about how the people of the frontier as he puts it fundamentalists are doing this and that about music. *

so he is expressing his opinion, just because you do not like what he has to say does not mean he thinks he is a know it all. He is doing something positive for what he is passionate about.

*to start of with music is haram so why wouldn't they ban it. *

so, if it is haram how do you know junoon is not good :) cuz u did something haram. so now please get off the "holier than thou" platform.

and they can ban it base don their beliefs, he can speak his mind if he does not like it.

and then music being banned is a bit iffy anyways but thats a religion section discussion.

*and also how can a person who has studied Islam for a majour part of his life not no more than him and he shows that he knows more by making such coments on radio and tv. *

it depends what this person in question has stdied for the most part of his life. There are plenty of ppl coming out of madrassas who dunno jack, or are xerox copies of one another. btw if these leaders are so holy, why do they use the title "maulana" for themselves?

*Da faliure of da nation can be put in many ways. like whjy we follow american and indian society so much? and coroption is another it has nothing to do with religous leaders. *

So religious leaders are not corrupt and crooked? :) challo ji...

kher the point is junoon's music...and whether you personally like it or not. The band has earned its place.