***IN December 1992 - January 1993, Mumbai set a record of sorts for itself in the matter of communal madness. In the riots that followed the destruction of the Babri Masjid in Ayodhya, more than a thousand people were killed. Unlike previous riots, violence was dispersed and it spread to relatively newly urbanised areas. Arson, killings and the destruction of property occurred in distinctively different kinds of areas. Violence affected not only slums but also apartment blocks and chawls. What was common to all the areas was the systematic targeting of Muslims, who comprised 17 per cent of the city’s population. ***
Actually I was very surprised. The Shiv Sena had knowledge of where all Muslim's resided in colonies. Where they didnot know, they would come a verify. I had a friend(a Hindu), whose surname was Malik(he was a Punjabi), it took some time for his family to clarify the Sainiks that they were not Muslims. Then the house of the the Mid-Day Urdu tabaloid's editor Harron Rashid was burned down. That was shocking, cause he lived in one of the Marine Drive apartments that were considered safe.
Bandra was a suburb that has a big Muslim population, also Bal Thakeray lives there. The Western side was peaceful. On the East next to the station was a jhuggi called Behrampada. The gullies inside stretch to Bandra Terminus(then newly built). Right across the highway lives Bal Thakeray. My hostel was next to his residence. For a full week we heard firing from across the higway. A Shiv Sena corporator wa arrested nearby by the Army for possesion of arms, but was later released. Food became a major problem, the hostel canteen was not stocked, so we ate in a cancer hospital. Bandra East has another colony called Bharatnagar. One could hear daily surmons from leaders with no intentions of setteling things down.
Hordes of Muslims were styranded on the railway plaforms of Victoria Terminus to go back to their homes in UP and Bihar. Those were very frietning times. The Parsi editor of The Afternoon Despatch and Courier wrote how he could'nt look the morning Baker(a Muslim) in the eye when he came to deliver the bread.
The character of Mumbai changed permanently after the riots. The Police became partisan and that has resulted in the current Telgi scam. The Shiv Sena too assisted in the downfall from a modern, westernised, secure and efficient city to what it is now, a jhuggi jhopri filled urban mess that is smelly and rotting at the roots.
I think that Muslims took equal part in riots in Bombay. First they organized Friday prarers on roads, Hindus followed them with road Artis or may be vice-versa.
India is actually proud of being the only country where the main religious minority the Muslims (only 14-15% of total population) take eqal part in riots.
**Violence affected not only slums but also apartment blocks and chawls. What was common to all the areas was the systematic targeting of Muslims, who comprised 17 per cent of the city's population. **
remember ----u cant clap with single hand.so just dont be prejudice against hindu as such based on ur generalisation of hindoos as thackary aur advani.if such the case then the main instigator of mumbai blast is ur state guests.pahale apne girebaan main jhaanko tab bolo
no im not defending anybody,i just want u not to generalise.for the matter of fact cases r going on thackery and advani for all the related destruction and mumbai roits and they willl sure escape the punishment coz they r powerful by money,they run govt.but this is the irony of the subcontinent that powerful always escapes punishments.only poor and hapless r punished.
Thakeray and Advani are politicians. They rae slimey, spineless people. They are the same anywhere in the world
They get any issue to survive they’ll latch on to it.
Thakery’s Shiv Sena is a reginal party, Mumbai for Maharashrians is their slogan.
In 1969 his Sainiks were attacking South Indian Hindus beacuse they were getting all the jobs in Mumbai.
Thakeray’s ilod is Hitler. He has many paltoo goondas on whose dum he threatens to burn Mumbai everytime they try to arrest him, they tried after the riots.
When Thakeray or Advani see the going getting tough, they will make any gadha their baap. What you saw with the Jinnah affair was precisely that, Advani had his nazar on the Muslim vote bank in the coming Bihar elections.
^exactly same thing im trying to say but reza ne to thackery ,modi advani ko hindoos ka rahnuma samjh kakha hai jaise ki osama ne khud ko islam ka rah numa samjha hai
u ask these questions to the south indian shaivites and vaishnavits(hindu brahmins in south india).tamilians,keraliets.thackery and his shiv sena was leeching upon south indians.they were against tamilians and keralites working in mumbai many suffered and died in 70 80 decade and they were all hindoos.after the regionalism diluted in early 90s then the found new topic to leech upon the ram temple and muslims, now again after a decade these 2 issues r losing gas so now both parties started placating muslims again for votes.
reza india is very big and diverse culturally,language wise ,eating clothing habit wise.u got to know india 1st.and at present ur knowledge of india is nil and remember little knowledge is very dangerous.u see india di verse only in religion.but main diversity in india is not religion but the culture and languages.
We are all aware of upper caste Hindu’s killing low caste untouchables, and treating them with contempt. Thanks for the lesson on regional feuding, but how many Hindu’s were intentionally killed because of their religion by Shiv Sen and BJP hoodlums because of their religion like Muslims? In Mumbai Muslims were killed because of their religion, not because of their ethnic backgrounds, otherwise Hindu’s and others would have been killed by the same thugs as well at the same time.